Book Notification

Paula McLain Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Ticket to Ride (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Paris Wife (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Circling the Sun (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love and Ruin (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
When the Stars Go Dark (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

A Mind of Her Own (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Poetry Collections

Less of Her (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stumble, Gorgeous (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Point In Time Collection Books

Alison's Conviction (By: Thomas Keneally) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ash Wednesday (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
We Are Bone and Earth (By: Esi Edugyan) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Naomi's Gift (By: Martha Hall Kelly) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Wild Rose (By: Fiona Davis) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Landing (By: Olivia Hawker) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mother Swamp (By: Jesmyn Ward) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Paris All Your Own(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stories from Suffragette City(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Paula McLain is an American published author of fiction. She is known for her best selling novels such as Circling the Sun and The Paris Wife. They have each been international best sellers.

She was born in Fresno, California. She attended the University of Michigan and studied poetry, graduating with her M.F.A. in 1996. She has also received fellowships from the Ucross Foundation, MacDowell Colony, Corporation of Yaddo, Cleveland Arts Prize and more. She resides in the city of Cleveland in Ohio along with her children and family.

She has had a variety of her essays be published that have appeared in publications like Good Housekeeping, The Guardian, Town & Country, Real Simply, and more. Paula has written different poetry collections as well as an interesting memoir of her life titled Like Family. Her first ever fictional full length novel to come out was published in 2008.

A Ticket to Ride is the first novel from talented author Paula McLain. If you are looking for a great book to pick up, check this one out!

You remember the girl from high school. She was the one who took being cool to an entirely new level. She taught you a few things, like how to cut class and get out of school for the day or how to blow rings of smoke. She was the one that got you to sneak out of your house without waking anyone up.

You would try to be like she was exactly because there seemed like there was nothing better than being the level of cool that she exuded. But girls like these like to roam, and it was never too long before she broke your heart.

This story takes place in the year 1973 during a summer that is hot as it is long. This lyrical debut takes the reader through what can happen when a teenager without foundations meets a girl that is going to show her all of the things that she has no idea about.

This young girl is without a mother and is admittedly insecure. In this case, the cool girl that starts to hang out with her is Fawn, an older girl that is also her cousin. Falling under her spell seems so fun because she knows what she is all about, but it can also come with its own share of risks.

Jamie is the main character in this story and once she starts spending time with Fawn, she can’t help but be mesmerized by the way that she seems to know everything about the world. Even the way that she moves and speaks can send you into a trance. Jamie willingly undergoes a makeover on the outside and even alters her personality, all in a bid to get the approval of Fawn.

Jamie starts to find that over the course of a hot summer, tragedy as well as loss still come her way. She also discovers that apparently her cousin will do anything to pursue her own gain and motives, even if that means using people or things to get her way.

But Jamie never realizes just how far Fawn might go until some strange local news pops up. A girl in their local area has disappeared and is now missing. Jamie has suspicions that her cousin might be behind it. If that is true, then Fawn is not just the cool girl that everyone wants to be. She is a threat to everyone around her.

Worse than that, Jamie is starting to realize that she may have been unintentionally complicit in the girl’s disappearance. As the tension begins to build, can she figure out what is going on in the chaos that is going on all around them?

Loyalty, love, and fitting in are about to go out the window as Jamie finds herself involved in a dramatic and dark tale that could end up in resolution or absolute tragedy. Be careful who you get involved with– especially if she’s a cool girl! Pick up a copy of this debut novel from Paula McLain to find out what happens in the end!

The Paris Wife is the second novel to come out from this author. If you liked the first book, be sure to check out yet another compelling fiction story from McLain!

This story is an evocative tale of betrayal and ambition during a time period that has since passed. It also focuses on the passionate love between two people that stand out in history– Ernest Hemingway as well as Hadley, his wife.

The setting is Chicago and the year is 1920. At this time, Hadley Richarson’s just 28 years old and this young woman is quiet but also sad. She has given her dreams of happiness and love up for the most part. But all of that is about to change for good when she comes across Ernest Hemingway.

The two fall for each other after an intense courtship and get married. After the wedding, the two of them go to Paris and there they find that they are a celebrated couple in their group in the city of love. The group of people that they make friends with are all artistic and lively types. They quickly become the Lost Generation with pals like Zelda and F. Scott Fitzgerald and Ezra Pound.

Even though Hadley and Ernest are in love, they are also not prepare for the lifestyle and times of Paris in the jazz age. The fast pace of living, the hard drinking, the partying and more mean that temptation is around them constantly.

Ernest has gorgeous women all around, and with egos competing, he is trying to find his literary voice. In the en, he pours all of the intensity of his life with his friends and wife into what will become his famous novel.

At the same time, Hadley is trying to do whatever she can to hold onto herself as well as deal with life demands that come with her husband and their lifestyle. The two of them are trying to preserve their marriage, but one deception and betrayal of loyalty may mean the end. Find out how it all ends by picking up The Paris Wife!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Paula McLain

Leave a Reply