Book Notification

Poldark Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Poldark Saga Books

Ross Poldark (1945)Description / Buy at Amazon
Demelza (1946)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jeremy Poldark (1950)Description / Buy at Amazon
Warleggan (1953)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Black Moon (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Four Swans (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Angry Tide (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Stranger from The Sea (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Miller's Dance (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon
Poldark's Cornwall (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Loving Cup (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Twisted Sword (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bella Poldark (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon

Poldark is an interesting historical novel book series written by Winston Mawadsley Graham, who was an English novelist, but later passed away in the year 2003. The series consists of 12 book titles which have been published up to date. Novels in the Poldark series were grouped into two major categories with the first seven books being set in the 18th century while the remaining five being concerned with the early years of the 19th century and the interesting lives of the descendants of the previous main characters.

The BBC has adapted the book series into a television program twice. The first seven book titles in the series were adapted as a television series that was broadcasted in the UK between the years 1975 and 1977. Poldark series, which had over 14 million viewers, was quite popular that it is rumored that a number of vicars had to cancel or reschedule church services so as not to be in the Poldark series’ way. Another ongoing adaptation was made and aired in the year 2015.

A description on some of the book characters found in Poldark

Ross Poldark

Ross Poldark who also happens to be the main protagonist in the book series is a retired British army officer who decides to return home from the grim American Revolutionary War. The main character is depicted as a strong and determined individual who is willing to fight hard and rebuild his pride along with his family’s lost fortune. Ross is also occasionally portrayed as a self-righteous person who is never interested in the necessities of class and society. Although he left for the war a young person with a dubious reputation, Ross returns two years later a changed man. The handsome character is also characterized by his rebellious, broody and adaptability behavior. Ross gets to marry Demelza with whom they sire a baby called Julia and four more other children.


The funny, feisty, loyal and adorable Demelza is a former street urchin rescued by Ross Poldark from an abusive home. Transforming from the once unpleasant life, Demelza develops into an amusing, charming and lovely young woman eventually winning Ross Poldark’s affection. Although she is somewhat impulsive, Demelza shows fierce courage and loyalty to Ross occasionally causing serious trouble for both of them.


The beautiful and genteel female character was Ross Poldark’s former girlfriend and first love. Assuming him dead, she decided to marry Francis, who was a cousin to Ross. Tries her best to be a good wife to Francis but is forced to watch her marriage fail due to her husband’s insecurity, unfaithfulness, and alcoholism. Struggling with loneliness and poverty after Francis dies; Elizabeth agrees to marry George Warleggan.

George Warleggan

Warlegann who is Ross’ sworn archenemy is one of the new emerging class of bankers and industrialists. The ruthless and cunning aristocrat is always elegantly behaved and impeccably dressed. George constantly hatches schemes to increase his own wealth at the expense of others especially the Poldarks. Warleggan marries Elizabeth after she is widowed.

Novels in the Poldark book series

“Ross Poldark”

Ross Poldark is an introduction to the Poldark book series. It is a story centered on Ross Poldark who is the main hero and antagonist. Tired from fighting the grim American Revolutionary War, Ross returns to his home a scarred and wary soldier only to receive a disheartening homecoming. All his dreams become shattered when he realizes that Elizabeth the love of his life is currently engaged to Francis, who is his cousin, his treasured estate is in ruins and his father is dead.

This is a great historical fiction novel that uses amazing historical research to paint a highly believable story of the 19th century. The thought of losing the love of his life is quite unbearable for Poldark that he decides to direct all his efforts in restoring his property and the Poldark’s mining business in a bid to distract himself from the heartbreaking loss. Family gatherings that force him to dine and converse with his cousin and Elizabeth become increasingly torturous and awkward. Being the strong man he his, Ross discovers a new purpose in rebuilding his family’s small empire.

Poldark soon gets to meet Demelza and saves her from an abusive home. He later asks her to abandon the life as a street urchin and come to work for him as a kitchen maid which she gladly agrees. They later get to know each other better and Ross and Delmeza decide to get married. The Ross Poldark is an interesting about money, the shifting fortunes and social standings of the ruling class and the emotional forces that drive men to achieve great heights of success and the women they desire.

“The Angry Tide”

The Angry Tide is a continuation of the Ross Poldark story. In this novel, old rivalries are rekindled and a lot of unfortunate events take place bringing together former sworn enemies. Ross Poldark who now sits as a member of parliament for the borough of Truro has his time evenly divided between Cornwall and London. He is still undecided on whether he really still loves his wife as he believes nothing feels the same anymore.

Morwenna is widowed when her brother in law sees Ossie and his wife having sexual relations in bed. Drake, who is in love with Morwenna follows his sister’s advice and proposes to Rosina Hoblyn on a condition that she understands that his undying love for Morwenna shall never fade. News reaches drake that about Ossie’s death and he visits Rosina to break off the engagement just a day to the wedding.

After breaking Rosina’s heart and publicly shaming her. He goes to find Morwenna multiple times without success and in the end he chooses to return home. He arrives at home only to find his house has been burned down to the ground. Forced to spend a few months living with his brother, Drake is made to reconsider and return to his home to build his business on Ross Poldark’s request. Meanwhile, Cary Warleggan actively causes the deliberate collapse of Pascoe’s bank by spreading rumors and dropping malicious letters.

Morwenna finally decides to visit Drake only to bring with her the unfortunate news that she was raped repeatedly and can’t stand to be touched by any other man. He convinces her to be married to him in name for the mean time until she can trust him again. Elizabeth gets seriously ill and she finally dies. Ross on hearing about Elizabeth’s illness asks his wife to let him go see her former lover. He arrives to find her dead and her husband blaming him for his loss.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Poldark

Leave a Reply