Book Notification

Port Danby Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Port Danby Books

Marigolds and Murder (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Carnations and Chaos (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mistletoe and Mayhem (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Roses and Revenge (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tulips and Trouble (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dahlias and Death (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Peonies and Poison (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hyacinths and Homicide (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crocuses and Crime (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sunflowers and Sabotage (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lavender and Lies (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Freesias and Foul Play (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cornflowers and Corpses (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jasmine and Jealousy (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shamrocks and Shenanigans (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Thistles and the Unthinkable (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Holly and Horror (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Violets and Vengeance (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Daisies and Destruction (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lilacs and Liability (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Poinsettias and Peril (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Port Danby Cozy” mystery series is a set of novels by bestselling author London Lovett. The author made her fiction writing debut when she published “Marigolds and Murder” in 2017. Once she published the novel and it achieved much success, she went on to become a prolific author. Lovett now has more than thirty titles spread across the “Firefly Junction,” “Port Danby Cozy Mystery” and the “Starfire Cozy Mystery” series. Lovett decided to become an author about twenty years ago when she asked her sister to work with her to pen a historical romance. The sisters loved reading Regency romances and had from time to time pretended to be authors. They found the endeavor more difficult than they had envisioned given the fact that they sometimes had conflicting ideas. However, the Lovetts persevered and it was not long before they had several self published titles to their name. Soon after, her sister got interested in other things and London had to continue the work of writing alone. She got her huge break when she took on a pseudonym and published a young adult title that was very successful.

London Lovett was inspired to write the “Port Danby Cozy” mysteries since she wanted to write something with a smart and fun loving heroine. Stories with a coastal setting have always been among her favorites and it was from this that she created the fictional port city of Port Danby. Similar to many other authors, she loved reading mystery novels that had an element of romance and hence it was not surprising that she would go that direction with her series. She was a huge fan of the likes of Barbara Michaels and Elizabeth Peters her pseudonym who were some of the pioneers in the genre. Ever since she started writing mysteries London Lovett has said that the best thing about it is that she gets the chance to create fun and interesting characters. Nonetheless, coming up with plots is still something that she does not like doing. When she is not writing her novels, she has several hobbies that she takes part in now that she no longer works a teaching job. Since she loves the outdoors she can often be found on hikes oru out riding her bike. She also loves to cook and bake for her husband.

The “Port Danby” series of novels follow the life and times of Lacey Pinkerton who is often referred to as just Pink. She had a reputation for a very sensitive million dollar nose that earned her lucrative jobs with perfume companies. But she gave up her six figure job in the city and took Nevermore, her Tabby cat and Kingston, her pet crow, headed to Port Danby, a small coastal town. She thinks she can finally find peace and happiness only to be caught up in a murder mystery soon after arriving in town. In “Carnations and Chaos” the second of the series, Lacey has established herself as the owner of the local flower shop in Port Danby. Since the Port Danby Third Annual Fair is coming up, she has been contracted to supply the floral arrangements for the event and is happy to oblige. But then a hated blogger is found dead in her motel room and Lacey is roped into the investigation. In the third of the Port Danby series the annual Harbor Holiday Lights is expected in town and Lacey cannot wait for it to arrive. But the festive atmosphere is dampened when someone finds one of the boat owners strangled to death. Once again Lacey invites herself into the complex investigation alongside Detective Briggs.

“Marigolds and Murder,” the first novel of the “Port Danby” series of novels is set in the coastal city of Port Danby. The novel introduces Lacey Pinkerton, a woman who just left a very lucrative career and a reputation for a million dollar nose to go back home. She takes with her her two faithful companions in Nevermore the cat and her pet crow Kingston. Her new home in the coastal city is filled with quirky neighbors and friends and she thinks this is just what she needs. Away from the organized chaos of the city she thinks she can finally settle down and find some peace and happiness. Soon enough she has to put her million dollar nose to work and discovers her neighbor is dead. She gets deep into the investigation of the mysterious murder working with a handsome local detective named James Briggs. If they cannot find the deranged killer many more people are going to die.

The second novel of the Port Danby series of novels is “Carnations and Chaos.” Lacey is now working as a volunteer for the Annual Food Festival in her hometown of Port Danby. The event is expected to bring a lot of traffic and profits to the town’s merchants. Hundreds of people that include cooks, food bloggers and chefs have arrived in town followed by foodies, revenge, rivalry, fans and secrets. But then an author who is hated and loved in equal measure is killed and Lacey puts her million dollar nose to work. Detective Briggs thinks her skills will be of particular importance in this case though this could be because he has lately been developing a fondness for her. The biggest complication is that her charming neighbor Dash is around a lot and Briggs does not like it.

“Mistletoe and Mayhem,” the third novel of the series, is set just before the annual Harbor Holiday Lights eventy. Given that it is the first time for Lacey she is looking forward to what has been dubbed a great holiday experience. Over the past few months, she has made many friends including Detective Inspector Briggs. Her million dollar nose has helped Briggs time and again but things get even more interesting once the flotilla finally lands in town. There are now all manner of activities in town but it seems some evil people had also moved in as the owner of one of the ships in the flotilla is found killed. It promises to be quite a difficult case to crack given that there are far too many people in town that the suspect list would be tens of names long. But the tenacity of Briggs and Lacey’s keen nose could come in handy.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Port Danby

Leave a Reply