Book Notification

Ravenscroft Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ravenscroft Books

The Malvern Murders (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Worcester Whisperers (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ledbury Lamplighters (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tewkesbury Tomb (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Droitwich Deceivers (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Pershore Poisoners (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Upton Undertakers (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Herefordshire Hangmen (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bromsgrove Bookseller (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ravenscroft's Last Case (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Kerry Tombs is one of the best known authors who has done marvelous work in his books. He has written a number of books that have greatly been loved by his readers. He was born in 1945 in Smethwick near Birmingham city. He never attended a specific school because before doing his eleven plus examination, he had gone to five various primary schools. He began his real education in a school known as Glenhyng, which was a small private school in Droitwich. This came after failing to pass his eleven plus examinations that never made him give up. He attended the Worcester College of Education where he did a teaching course. This therefore implies that he became a teacher after his graduation and worked in Australia and England.

After teaching for quite some times in the two countries, he decided to move to a different place and get a new life. He moved to Malvern where he became a lecturer, bookseller and also a local genealogist. He returned back to the United Kingdom in 2010, this is five years later, just after retiring from the Central Brittany in 2005. Once he was back in the UK, he decided to settle with his family. He is married and now a son who is known as Samuel Tombs. The son is an award winning economist with the Capital Economics. He now lives in Ludlow in Shropshire with the family.

In his writing career, he has written several books that have really been loved by his readers. He is the author of the Victorian Ravenscroft Crime with about six novels and many more. In most of his books, the settings are based on the three counties that neighbors the Malvern Hills. The Ravenscroft (Series by Kerry Tombs) has six different novels with the genesis book being published in 2006 while the latest book was published in 2014. The pioneer and the last novels are known as the “Malvern Murders” and “The Pershore Poisoners” respectively. The second book is known as “The Worcester Whisperers” that was published in 2008.

The Malvern Murders

This is the pioneer book of the Ravenscroft (Series by Kerry Tombs). It is one of the favorite books that has been written by Kerry Tombs in his career. The novel has 268 pages with the first publication being done on 25th August 2006. The setting of the book is based in London back in 1887. The protagonist character is known as inspector Samuel Ravenscroft, who works at the Whitechapel Constabulary. There is an infamous Ripper assassination that takes place in London just before 1887. This is an incident where a young girl is murdered in a very brutal way and the inspector is expected to give his report about the assassination. Samuel Ravenscroft, who is the inspector of the Whitechapel Constabulary is unable to comprehend for the murder of the girl and this makes the situation even worse. He is therefore forced to take a holiday break in the fashionable Malvern after being reprimanded by his superiors. The inspector is again faced with another task where he is supposed to carry out the investigation of the assassination of a prominent local businessman. This comes after he has experienced the meticulous of the Water Cure treatment at the Hydropathic Tudor. During this time of investigation, it is when he discovers about the uncovered world danger and deceit under the surface of the genteel Malvern. The situation becomes very tough as the inspector is faced with a very terrifying situation. This is because before he can be able to solve the critical situation, he has to face the mysterious woman in black. Besides this, he doesn’t want to be cursed by the ancient of the Raggedstone Hill. The condition therefore becomes very tough for the inspector.

To get more about the difficult situation the inspector is facing, you just need to get a copy of the novel and you will get to an entire story. It is a smart, thrilling story that you will definitely enjoy reading. With only six novels in the series, you can therefore read the entire series just in a couple of days. The books are available both locally and when you go on-line. Visit your local library or go on-line today for more about the fantastic thriller story.

The Worcester Whisperers

This is the second book of the Ravenscroft (Series by Kerry Tombs). It was published about two years after the publication of the first novel and it has about 225 pages and was published on 15th April 2009. Inspector Samuel Ravenscroft is also the main character in this book. Just some weeks before the outbreak of the disreputable ripper murders that occur in 1888, it is the duty of the Inspector to carry out the investigation and give the report. Samuel Ravenscroft, who is the inspector of the Whitechapel Constabulary is therefore sent to county of Worcester which is a very peaceful county town. He is required to investigate about Cathedral librarian and the priceless medieval manuscript Whisperie, who have gone missing. The inspector is given Constable Tom Crabb, who was a former colleague to help him in the investigation. During this time, he is faced with a very tough situation as he gets lies, deceit and a dark world of murder about the missing Cathedral. It is at this time that he uncovers the unsolved mystery that occurred about 40 years ago. On the other hand, the woman in black is also very determined to take her revenge in the darkened alleyways of the Whitechapel. All these incidences come not so long before the Whitechapel and the peaceful Worcester are intertwined in the frightening and unsettling ways.

This is just but a small summary of the novel and you will always find it very enjoyable. The book is also available locally at the nearest library. To continue reading on how the inspector handled the situation, you just need to get the book today. You can also get a copy of the novel online where you will find both used and new books. This is one of the best thriller series that you don’t want to miss.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Ravenscroft

Leave a Reply