Book Notification

Redwall Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Redwall Books

Chronological Order of Redwall Books

Publication Order of Redwall Graphic Novel Books

Publication Order of Redwall Picture Books

The Great Redwall Feast (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Redwall Winter's Tale (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Redwall Non-Fiction Books

Redwall Map & Riddler (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Redwall Abbey (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Redwall Friend and Foe (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Redwall Cookbook (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Tribes of Redwall Books

Redwall is a fantasy book series by Brian Jacques. Redwall is also the first book in the Redwall book series, which was published in the year 1986. It is also the name of Abbey who was featured in the series as well as the name of the animated television series that were based on three novels, Martin the Warrior, Mattimeo and Redwall, which were first aired in the year 1999. The Redwall book series has a total of 22 novels and 2 picture books as well. The final book in the series and the 22 novels as well, The Rogue Crew, was released on May 3, 2011. With that said, the Redwall book series does not chronicle any specific timeframe. Instead, the book series covers several periods of the history of Redwall, the world which is made up of Mossflower Woods, a land that is referred to as Southsward and surrounding islands as well.

Some of the books in the Redwall book series focus on characters who in some other installments are historical figures. Despite the fact that there is a timeline in the Redwall book series, the book has been placed in absolutely different order from the manner in which they were written. However, there are two phases when the Redwall book series was published chronologically. Some of the elements present in the book include the practice and use of magic; paranormal elements appear in the book as well. The Ghost of Martin the Warrior or another dead hero would often appear in dreams, visions or hallucinations to one of the woodlands creatures. The information given is rather accurate and is of nature such that the information must come from Martin the Warrior and may not be the outcome of a creature solving the mystery during its sleep and in the process dreaming about Martin the Warrior.

Some of the creatures in the Redwall book series are referred to as Seers, mythical creatures that have the ability to see the feature. As expected some of the seers eventually turn out to be frauds, the others like the seers of Loamhedge, Outcast of the Redwall, Lord Brocktree and the Taggerung are exceedingly real and play a key role in the turn of events in the some of the books in the Redwall book series. Virtually, all the seers both fraudulent and real are vermin and are considered to be superstitious and primitive than the woodlanders or any other godly creatures. However, in the installment, Tribes of the Redwall Mice, both Abbess Germaine and Martin the Warrior have the ability to look into the feature. Present in these books is the sword that belonged to Martin the Warrior.

Redwall Series

Redwall is the first installment in the Redwall book series by renowned author, Brian Jacques. In this installment, mice inhabit the abbey of Redwall. These docile creatures had sworn that they would never harm any human being or any other animal for that case. However, one day, Cluny the Scourge and his horde of rats decide to find a way into the abbey. Scourge and his troop are more than determined to ensure that they take over the land. Nonetheless, the inhabitants are not willing to give up the piece of land without a fight. Will the Mice be able to defeat Cluny and his horde of rats? Will they be able to maintain the peace that they have always had in the Abbey?

An evil enemy who does not have any remorse, mercy or conscience is among the inhabitants of the abbey. Cluny’s mission is to seek, destroy and kill. Cluny does not let anything or anyone in his way. Despite being a fearless warrior, there is only one thing that Cluny fears, and that is the legendary warrior who had previously protected the Abbey from being invaded. The same story that makes Cluny quiver makes Mathias the protagonist more courageous. Despite being brought up in the Abbey, Mathias not only lacks the experience but also lacks what it takes to be a ruthless warrior. However, when evil threatens to take over the Abbey, Mathias courage and bravery grows and eventually becomes a true leader of the animals in the woodlands.

Irrespective of the fact that the Abbey is a peaceful place, the ruler of the Abbey, Abbott rules that war is inevitable and eventually decides to trust Mathias with the defense of the woodland. The exceedingly young Mathias displays bravery and is successful in defending the Abbey. However, victory does not come without loss from both sides.

From the very first page, the author, Brian Jacques throws the reader into action. In the first chapter, the author introduces the readers to the mice inhabiting the Abbey, and in the second chapter, the author introduces the readers to Cluny. Despite the fact that this is a book that is targeted to the young readers, there is plenty of action and lots of death scenes. The great thing about this book is that it is not gruesome in any way because the battle taking place is between mice. From the very first page, the reader will definitely fall in love with Redwall. Mathias, who is the protagonist, is such a loveable character as well as several other mice from Abbey. The personalities and the diversity in this book have been superbly done. From the mice to the rats to the foxes, to the sparrows and the hares, each character in the book had its individuality. Redwall will definitely keep you intrigued from the very first page to the last.

Mattimeo is the third book in the Redwall book series. This is the story of one Mattimeo, the Warrior’s son, who is captured by a slave trader and is taken to the lands in the South in the Mossflower Woods. The journey that Mattimeo is taken on will eventually turn him from a slave to one of the land’s revered warriors. The novel, Mattimeo has three storylines, the rescuers, the kidnapped and those who invade the Abbey. The three storylines run concurrently, and in the process ensure that the action moves forth. This is a coming of age story, which is combined with riddles, battles, and explorations as well.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Redwall

Leave a Reply