Book Notification

Steve Watkins Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Ghosts Of War Books

The Secret of Midway (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lost at Khe Sanh (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
AWOL in North Africa (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fallen in Fredericksburg (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Vietnam War Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

My Chaos Theory (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Black O: Racism and Redemption in an American Corporate Empire (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Classic Bengals The 50 Greatest Games in Cincinnati Bengals History (With: Dick Maloney) (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

100% Pure Florida Fiction(2000)Description / Buy at Amazon

Steve Watkins is one of the noteworthy authors of the America, who likes to write his novels based on the young adult genre. The first two two novels that he wrote in his writing career were young adult novels only. After that, he shifted his course towards writing short stories. Since the year 2006, author Watkins has written a collection of interesting short stories. One of such short stories titled ‘My Chaos Theory’ went on to become the finalist in the race for winning the Paterson Fiction Prize. It also received an honorable mention at the Virginia Library Fiction Award. After the success of this book, author Watkins wrote a nonfiction novel titled as ‘The Black O’, which was based on the redemption and racism spread in the corporate empire of America. This book was published by the Georgia Press in the year 1997. The main plot of the novel gives the description of the biggest class action lawsuit of employment discrimination in the history of The Unites States.

This was followed by a number of other poetry, fiction, and nonfiction articles written by author Watkins, which appeared a number of publications throughout the world. Some of the popular publications in which his novels appeared include The Nation, Mississippi Review, Poets and Writers, Florida Fiction, The Pushcart Prize Anthology, and the North American Review. Before going on to become a full time writer of the young adult novels, author Watkins completed his graduation from the Florida State University. After passing out, he began working as a teacher and still continues to teach his students the subjects of creative writing, journalism, and literature of the Vietnam War. He is employed as a teacher at the Mary Washington University. In addition to that, author Watkins is also an instructor of Ashtanga yoga. He even works for a child advocacy non-profit organization called CASA, as an advocate and investigator for the neglected and abused children. As of today, author Steve Watkins lives in Fredericksburg, Virginia, along with his wife named Janet and 4 beautiful daughters named Claire, Maggie, Lili, and Eva. He runs a religious education program with the help of his wife Janet at the Unitarian Universalist Church of Fredericksburg.

One of the most successful novel series written by author Steve Watkins is titled as ‘Ghosts of War’, which consists of a total of 2 books published between the years 2014 and 2015. The first novel of the series was released under the title ‘The Secret of Midway’. It was published by the Scholastic Paperbacks in the year 2014. The plot of this novel revolves around the happenings in the lives of the main characters named Greg, Julie, and Anderson. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, it is shown that Anderson discovers a trunk of old military things in the junk shop basement of his family, along with his friends Juli and Greg. Among the old things is a pea-coat from the Second World War, which Anderson wears and discovers a mysterious letter from its pocket. He becomes curious about the letter and the coat and so he takes both of them to his home. Later, Anderson sees the ghost of a sailor from the Second World War and becomes freaked out completely. He begins to wonder who the ghost is and what does he want from him.

Soon, Anderson joins his friends Greg and Julie, and sets out to discover the truth related to the letter and the ghost. In the events that follow, they get wrapped in a 70 year old secret. Racing against time, Anderson and his friends try to connect the clues from from the life of the sailor before his ghost vanishes away. Now, it becomes interesting to see whether Julie, Anderson, and Greg will be able to solve the mystery behind the sailor’s ghost. Realizing the sacrifices that he has done for his country, Anderson and his friends seem determined to give the sailor what he is worthy of. The novel went on to become highly successful all over the world. It was read and appreciated by a number of readers in various countries of the world. This helped author Watkins to get recognized as a noteworthy author. Many critics and fellow authors praised him for his dedicated and determined efforts, which increased his popularity even further. The success of the novel helped author Watkins to receive a lot of encouragement and motivation for writing some more novels in the series. However, he was able to write only one more novel in this series as went on to focus on the next novel series and short stories of his career.

The second novel of the Ghosts of War series written by author Steve Watkins was published under the title ‘Lost at Khe Sanh’. It was released by the Scholastic Paperbacks publishing house in the year 2015. The plot of this novel also revolves around the happenings in the lives of the primary characters named Anderson, Julie, and Greg. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, it is shown that Anderson feels attracted towards the trunk of the old military relics that he found from his family’s junk shop basement once again. Even though his friends keep warning him to stay away, he does not stop. He comes across an old grenade from the relics with a weird message written on it. The grenade becomes even more dangerous after the appearance of a soldier’s ghost, who claims the grenade to be his lucky one. He had served with the grenade during the Vietnam War. Once again Anderson begins to wonder what does the ghost want from him and his friends. They try to think whether he has come for help or something more dangerous and sinister. Once again, Anderson races against time along with his friends to try and solve the mystery of the ghost of the soldier from the Vietnam War. This novel also became highly successful just like the first novel of the series, due to which author Watkins received a lot of appreciation worldwide. He was praised for his unique style of writing, which helped the novel become much more successful. The critics, as well as his fellow writers encouraged author Watkins to a number of other interesting novels in his writing career.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Steve Watkins

Leave a Reply