Book Notification

Susan Boyer Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Liz Talbot Mystery Books

Lowcountry Boil (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lowcountry Bombshell (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lowcountry Boneyard (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lowcountry Bordello (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lowcountry Book Club (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lowcountry Bonfire (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lowcountry Bookshop (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lowcountry Boomerang (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lowcountry Boondoggle (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lowcountry Boughs of Holly (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Postcards From Stella Maris (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lowcountry Getaway (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Carolina Tales Books

Big Trouble on Sullivan's Island (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Susan M. Boyer is an American mystery romance writer that was born and bred in small town Carolina. Raised in small town America, she has always loved books ever since she was a child. Growing up, she remembers being one of those students that the teachers would always say needed to have her talents channeled. For as long as she can recall she has always been writing something or other ever since she was nine years old, though she believes she became an author when she got the first copy of her first novel. As for her education, she would take more of a sampler’s approach even when she attended the College of Charlestone, Catawba College, and the N.C. State University. Given her varied interests, she acquired a long list of majors though she was never proficient enough in anything to ever get the award of a degree from any of her many colleges. However, she was quite good in computer programming and given that programmers earned a good and steady paycheck, she decided to practice in the field, before segueing into system analysis and project management. Nevertheless, having to work a day job meant that she had very little time for writing which forced her to quit in 2004. Declaring herself unemployable, she now spends most of her time in pajamas daydreaming and writing her romantic mysteries. She has a love for Southern food, beaches, and small towns where everyone knows everyone. Born in North Carolina, she currently lives in Upstate South Carolina with her husband and their four children.

She first knew she wanted to be a writer when she had to write a short story about the Wild West pioneers, while she was in the fourth grade. She loved bringing the characters to life and over the years, she used to write pretty much every day, though she got sidetracked into a range of corporate jobs as an adult. Nonetheless, she never lost her voracious appetite for books and her dream of one day becoming a writer, even as she struggled with heavy traffic commutes to her corporate jobs. In what may be deemed as destiny, the company that she worked for as a project management expert folded in 2004. With most of the jobs on offer needing the family to relocate, her husband who she refers to as her patron, advised that she try her hand at the professional writing career she had been putting off for years. Plunging headlong into writing, she published her first novel in the Liz Talbot Mysteries “Lowcountry Boil” in 2012 and has never looked back since. Boyer credits her proficiency in creating an interesting novel from her insatiable appetite for reading. She has always been interested in reading and has been influenced by novels from practically every genre of fiction there is out there. However, some of her favorite authors include Edward Stratemeyer of the Nancy Drew fame, Dean Koontz, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Sue Grafton, and Charlaine Harris. Her short fiction has been featured on Relief Journal, Spinetingler Magazine, and Moonshine Review.

The A Liz Talbot Mysteries are award-winning novels set in small town America, where the lead protagonist is Liz Talbot, a strong-willed, loyal, and resourceful woman. Inspired by the author’s favorite novel and character Nancy Drew, the A Liz Talbot mysteries have the lead character engage in all the dangerous albeit fun activities of investigation of bizarre mysteries. Liz Talbot was born in Stella Maris, a small town on the coast of South Carolina. She went to Clemson University from where she met her husband and later partner Nate Andrews. After graduating from college, the two lovebirds interned in Greenville at the office of a renowned private investigator, before branching out on their own and becoming wildly successful. Nate is a Greenville native and so has some challenges adapting to the Lowcountry. The two are very good at their job uncovering long-buried secrets and small town scandals even as the challenges thrown at them become increasingly difficult with each successive novel. They also have to deal with quirky extended family that frequently makes it almost impossible to concentrate on cases. The series of novels have won and been nominated for several prestigious awards including an Agatha for Best First Novel and a Golden Heart at the 2012 RWA Awards.

“Lowcountry Bonfire” is a deep and insightful novel that analyzes human nature. Writing in an authentic southern voice, Susan M. Boyer has a deep understanding of the mannerisms and talk of the Southerners including the music and cadence of speech that she expertly puts on the page. Private Investigators Nate Andrews and Liz Talbot have been involved in their fair share of domestic cases. As such, when they are hired by Tammy Sue Lyerly to find out if her husband is hiding something, they do not expect much expect for some minor stuff that is typically harmless. Besides, the husband claims to be a retired NASCAR driver, a champion bull rider, and DEA agent. But the news that the man had turned up mysteriously dead one morning does not bode well for Tammy who becomes the prime suspect in her husband’s murder. With the incriminating photographs, Nate and Liz start to question everything about the truth of the deceased Zeke Lyerly’s tales. They are now in a race to uncover the small town’s long-buried secrets, scandals, and Zeke’s tumultuous past before they are buried forever, leaving Tammy to rot in prison.

“Lowcountry Bombshell” is the scalding hot narrative of the race to uncover a diabolical plot that could leave our favorite private detective Liz and her client dead. When Liz bumps into Calista McQueen, she believes she has seen a ghost as the girl is a carbon copy of Marilyn Monroe. Even as Calista was born half a century after the real life Monroe, her life eerily mirrors that of the ill-fated star. With the anniversary of Monroe’s death on the horizon, she fears that it may just be her last day alive. Before Liz can begin her investigations and take her on as a client, Calista’s life coach turns up dead in what looks like an execution. The sultry Calista’s life is full of suspicious characters that include an obsessed ex-husband, a peculiar housekeeper, a private yoga instructor, a control freak therapist, a fake aunt, and a mother that needs to be committed. Digging in to determine who may have had the motive to kill the life coach Liz soon finds herself embroiled in a case that could be the death of her and Calista.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Susan Boyer

2 Responses to “Susan Boyer”

  1. Linda Cobb: 5 months ago

    When can We expect a follow up to big trouble on Sullivans Island. Please please let me know. I love your riding style and I need to know that there will be another book in this series as well as Stella Morris series

  2. Kathie H: 2 years ago

    Please please please tell me you are continuing the Low Country series? I absolutely love reading about Liz, Nick and all the familiar characters on Stella Maris.


Leave a Reply