Book Notification

The Dreamlight Trilogy Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dreamlight Trilogy Books

By: Jayne Ann Krentz, Amanda Quick, Jayne Castle

The Dreamlight Trilogy

The Dreamlight Trilogy is a series of romance books by an American author of science fiction, fantasy, romance, mystery and thriller books Jayne Ann Krentz. Krentz has authored over 50 books and her books listed in the New York Times bestseller list. She writes romantic suspense book in the distinct worlds: historical as Amanda Quick, contemporary under the name Jayne Ann Krentz and futuristic as Jayne Castle.

Krentz began The Dreamlight Trilogy in 2009 when Fired Up, the first in the series was published. The series concluded in 2010 with Midnight Crystal.

Fired Up

Fired Up introduces us to Jack Winters. He is psychic suffering from hallucinations, blackouts, and nightmares and he thinks that he’s murdered someone during one of his blackouts. Additionally, Jack believes he is developing a new psychic ability and will soon go mad.
His only hope is to find a missing Burning Lamp. According to the legends, if Jack can find someone with the abilities to manipulate the lamp, his life will be saved and Chloe seems to be the perfect solution to his problems.

Chloe Harper is an investigator who the main task is to locate missing work of art, and she also has psychic abilities capable of reading psychic dreams or emanations the exact skill that our man Jack needs.
Chloe’s ability has caused her lots of trouble- she can’t fall asleep in the same bed with anyone- and because she has bedded many men, she has resolved that won’t ever marry and is planning a celibate lifestyle. However, Jack seems to have put her plans to hold. The two are strongly attracted to each other the minute they set their eyes on each other.

However, Jack and Chloe’s families have for years been on the outs with the ruling group for the psychic known as Arcane Society. The Harpers have for years used their abilities for activities such as forgery, art fraud and sleight of hand. On the other hand, Jack’s forefathers delved into a psychic method to develop various talents with hazardous results.

True to form, Fired Up is a fascinating start to a trilogy that links the three worlds that Jayne Anne has built between Harmony and Arcane Society. The book is set during contemporary times and manages to lay the foundation for the next book in the series; Burning Lamp set during the Victorian era. Her main characters, Jack and Chloe, are a great character with a good sense of partnership that mirrors almost every other couple created by Jayne. They are intelligent, they have respect for each other, and both engage in witty dialogue.

Burning Lamp

Burning Lamp book two in The Dreamlight Trilogy is also the eighth installment in The Arcane Society series. The book introduces the reader to Adelaide who was sold as a teenager, but she escaped with a strange, unstable object. She is now known as The Widow, a reformer with a hidden talent for controlling Dreamlight.

She was stubborn, ambitious, difficult, compassionate and reckless. Adelaide now gives fallen girls a second chance to rebuild their shattered lives.
Then there is Griffin Winters, who was a predator, crime lord, and legend on the streets. He was brave, intelligent and a strategist well known across lands. He had the abilities to manipulate shadow energy but now suffers from nightmares and hallucinations and believes that the Winters Curse has befallen him.
While Adelaide doesn’t know what she can do, Griffin needs a savior, and she might be the only last option he’s got. The two are in a position to help each other, but they are unwilling to do so because of personal reasons.

In Burning Lamp, the past plays a very crucial role. Both Griffin and Adelaide had a terrible childhood which forced them to mature too fast and learn to how to survive alone. Sylvester Jones and Nicholas Winter created arcane society but their friendship gets at longer heads, and they eventually become arch rivals. They experimented with paraphysics and alchemy to improve talents and also lengthen their lifespan. The two left some dark secrets, hidden journals, and unstable objects for the future generations and Griffin is determined to cleanse himself of this curse.

Midnight Crystal

Midnight Crystal is the final book in The Dreamlight, and it’s the story of Marlowe Jones and Adam Winters. Marlowe and Adam’s families have been at the core of Arcane Society since it was founded in the 17th century by two alchemists who were at first best friends but later became bitter enemies.
The two alchemists decided to strengthen their paranormal talents but only led to dangerous consequences. Nicholas Winters made use of the Burning Lamp to improve his ability, but the result of this action-some of his male descendants are cursed- such that they need the Lamp and woman to stabilize their abilities.

Now on the futuristic world, we meet one of the not so lucky Nicholas descendants- Adam Winters. The curse has befallen him, and hence he needs the Lamp and woman to work the Lamp so that he can stabilize his talent. Marlowe contacts Adam after the Lamp is stolen. From this point on, the two work together in search of the stolen Burning Lamp.

Marlowe is a strong and independent young woman. Due to her talent, she believes that she will never find a man to love. However, she and Adam have an almost instant attraction, and it’s not long before their families come to discover about it. Since the 17th century, Adam and Marlowe families relationship has not been so good, since its rumored that Nicholas created the Lamp to have one of his “cursed” descendants bring destruction to the Jones family.
Despite this, Adam and Marlowe end up in a serious relationship but they are faced with a threat for Marlowe believes that she cannot have a long-term love affair with a man. However, from their interaction is clear that they are genuinely connected to each other, and even though Adam is one of those dominating Alphas, he is willing to give Marlowe an equal chance in their relationship.

While Midnight Crystal is the last in The Dreamlight Trilogy, it is also the 9th book in The Arcane Society series and also books seven in The Harmony series. While it crosses other series by Jayne Ann Krentz, it’s not necessary to read all other books to get a grip on this series.

Book Series In Order » Characters » The Dreamlight Trilogy

Leave a Reply