Book Notification

Thomas Kies Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Geneva Chase Books

Thomas Kies
Thomas Kies writes and lives on a barrier island on the coast of North Carolina with Cindy, his wife.

He’s had a long career working for magazines and newspapers, primarily in New York and new England.

When Thomas isn’t busy writing mysteries, he is the President of the Carteret County Chamber of Commerce.

“Random Road” is the first novel in the “Geneva Chase Crime Reporter Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2017. Geneva Chase is a veteran crime reporter: she is tenacious, driven, and on the losing end of the bottle. Until she catches a break, that is.

Geneva’s currently at the end of her professional rope. Battling bad choices and her alcoholism, she has lost every major news job that she has had. So working at her hometown paper is her very last chance to redeem both herself, and now the newspaper’s future is in doubt.

Then she gets the story of a lifetime: Six naked corpses are discovered hacked up in a Queen Anne style mansion located on the coast of Long Island Sound. The sensational headline gets picked up by the metro newspapers, and she is back in the game, and uses her reporter’s nose to sniff out all the secrets of Connecticut’s entitled and rich citizens.

While her grisly investigation takes her deeper into more dangerous waters, her toxic affair with a married guy and her inability to get sober threatens to derail all the progress she has made. And some people may be willing to kill if this means keeping their business from making it into the papers.

Fans of the novel found this to be a suspenseful read that will appeal to readers that enjoy hard nosed investigative reporters like Brad Parks’ Carter Ross. Some found this to be a pleasant surprise, and fell in love with Thomas Kies’ storytelling and captivated by all of the characters and the roles they played in the story.

“Darkness Lane” is the second novel in the “Geneva Chase Crime Reporter Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2018. Having survived her last case along with a personal tragedy, Geneva’s story includes her alcoholism and career challenges that are compounded by the rough finances of her paper employer. However she is working and battling the urge to reconnect with a magnetic but still married lover. And she is raising a rebellious young woman that isn’t her daughter rather a cherished legacy.

Nevertheless the newshound part of Geneva spurs her toward bad if not some downright dangerous choices while two unrelated crimes collide unexpectedly. One is a fifteen-year-old girl from her ward’s high school has disappeared along with her English teacher. Could this be the same-old, same-old, or something a bit more? Then there is the abused woman that torched her sadistic husband, and how to keep her from the powerful mobsters’ clutches and thus, from getting in the news.

On the crime beat, she works to unravel this connection, if there is any, between these two disparate tales as her paper gets put up for sale, with a high-flying Hollywood production lighting up the town, and her own personal battles continue to accelerate.

Jarring twists and turns include adultery, treacherous diamond merchants, sex traffickers, charming movie stars, and murder. As time marches on, and Geneva works in desperation to locate this missing student, she comes to the terrible realization that she is in over her head.

“Graveyard Bay” is the third novel in the “Geneva Chase Crime Reporter Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2019. Time is running out. The nude corpses of a Jane Doe and a corrupt judge are discovered under the black and icy waters at Groward Bay Marina, having been chained to the prongs of this mammoth fork lift. Video points to Merlin Finn, this ruthless gang leader that has a proclivity toward S&M and bondage that recently broke out of prison. In the tape, he is wearing a black leather bondage mask.

With the paper that journalist Geneva Chase works for about to get sold and her job being in jeopardy, she investigates a massive money laundering scheme, crooked doctors, and pill mills to try and identify the murdered woman and catch the killer. Along the way, she finds herself working with a disgraced cop and a host of some other unlikely folks that are linked to the criminal underworld in some way.

Geneva is definitely hot on the trail of the killer, however when she gets kidnapped and held at the mercy of the same criminals she was hoping to stop, it seems like her chance to uncover the darkness which has seeped through her entire hometown could be lost forever.

“Shadow Hill” is the fourth novel in the “Geneva Chase Crime Reporter Mysteries” series and was released in the year 2021. How far would somebody go in order to protect some corporate profits?

Only days before a retired powerful oil executive, named Morris Cutter, is scheduled to give this pseudo-scientific report to Congress which is going to delay vital action on climate change for decades, both he and his wife are discovered shot to death in their Greenwich, Connecticut, home. The cops are ruling it a murder-suicide. The couple’s son is refusing to accept this official conclusion, so he hires Geneva, a crime reporter turned private detective, to prove otherwise.

Genie quickly discovers that there are suspects all around her, including within the deceased’s own immediate family. Morris Cutter’s nephew is a climate activist with a radical organization and his own daughter had not spoken to him in years. However Cutter’s old company has got a vested interest in just keeping a low profile until it can present its mock-science on Capitol Hill. Genie gets bribed, then she gets threatened, to wrap up her investigation before the date of the scheduled hearing, and to coincide with what the cops find.

Genie, once the lead scientist of the study and Cutter’s daughter both vanish, starts piecing together what actually might have really happened to Morris and Julia Cutter, putting herself into harm’s way while racing to find out the truth.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Thomas Kies

Leave a Reply