Book Notification

Under Suspicion Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Under Suspicion Books

By: Mary Higgins Clark, Alafair Burke
I've Got You Under My Skin (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Cinderella Murder (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
All Dressed in White (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sleeping Beauty Killer (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Every Breath You Take (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
You Don't Own Me (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Piece of My Heart (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
It Had to Be You (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Mary Higgins Clark (called the Queen of Suspense) and Alafair Burke writes this suspense series. The books are about a television program that features cold case murders.

The series stars Laurie Moran, a mother, whose husband was murdered. She is the producer of a true crime series that focuses on different cold case murders. The series reopens the cold cases to try and find the killer.

The series began publication when “I’ve Got You Under My Skin” was released in the year 2014. The first book in the series was written by Clark alone, and the sequels were written with Alafair Burke.

“I’ve Got You Under My Skin” is the first novel in the “Under Suspicion” series, which was released in the year 2014. Laurie Moran’s husband was brutally killed and Timmy (just three years old) was the only one that saw the face of the guy that killed his father. Five years have gone by, and those blue eyes still haunt the dreams Timmy has. Laurie has been haunted by more than that: the murderer’s threat to Timmy right as he was fleeing. Tell your mom that she is next, and then it will be your turn.

Laurie deals with murder once again, as the producer of a true crime cold case television series. The series will start with the unsolved killing of Besty Powell that happened twenty some odd years ago. Betsy (who was a socialite) was found in her bed after being suffocated. The murder was committed after a gala to celebrate her daughter and her three friends graduation.

The killing was nationwide news. Opening the case back up in the lavish setting as well as with the surviving guests’ cooperation. Laurie believes that she is going to have a hit. The estranged friends start filming, and it is clear that they are all hiding their own secrets. Both big and small.

There is also a pair of blue eyes watching things play out, too.

Fans of the novel always find themselves totally confounded at who the real killer is before being told who it is by a still on top of her game Clark. Yet another stellar novel from an incredible author. She fills her books with tons of suspense and some unforgettable characters; this one even features a surprising ending to it.

“The Cinderella Murder” is the second novel in the “Under Suspicion” series, which was released in the year 2014. Laurie Moran is delighted when the pilot for the reality drama, called “Under Suspicion”, is a hit. Even more important, the episode helped solve an infamous murder in the first episode.

Laurie has a great to focus on in the second episode: The Cinderella Murder. Susan Dempsey (a multi-talented student at UCLA) was found killed and it raised many questions. Why was her car miles away from her body? Or had she ever turned up to the acting audition she was supposed to go to at an up and coming director? It also seems odd that Susan’s boyfriend would rather avoid any questions about their relationship together. Why is that?

Does her disappearance have anything to do with a controversial church that is active on campus? Was Susan close to her computer science professor because of her own technological brilliance? Or could it have been something more? She was also missing one of her shoes, another thing that is odd.

With the aid of Alex Buckley, a lawyer and Under Suspicion’s host, Laurie is certain that this will bring in some great ratings. Especially because Alex suspects some of Hollywood’s elite and some tech billionaires. The drama and suspense are great for the silver screen, but is Cinderella’s killer ready for their close up?

Fans of the novel found this to be a breath of fresh air to your typical detective novel. This is a book that is thoroughly enjoyable to read. Holds the interest throughout, well paced, and totally suspenseful.

“All Dressed in White” is the third novel in the “Under Suspicion” series, which was released in the year 2015. Five years back, Amanda Pierce was all excited as she was preparing to marry her college sweetheart in a lavish ceremony at The Grand Victoria Hotel in Palm Beach. She disappeared, with both families and guests on site.

New York City, present day. Laurie Moran understands that a missing bride makes for the perfect cold case to investigate for Under Suspicion. Along with her team, she sets out to do a recreation of the night she disappeared at the resort in Florida with Amanda’s family and friends in attendance. This is in hopes to shed new light on the whole mystery, which is what the show has accomplished in its previous episodes.

There are a playboy groomsman, a jealous sister, rumors about the supposed beloved bride herself, and Amanda’s husband to be now married to one of her bridesmaids. Laurie and Alex soon find that everybody has got their own theory about why Amanda suddenly disappeared in thin air.

Fans of the novel found this to be tons of fun, and a lot of depth and feeling to some the characters.

“The Sleeping Beauty Killer” is the fourth novel in the “Under Suspicion” series, which was released in the year 2016. Fifteen years back, Casey Carter was convicted for killing Hunter Raleigh III (a famed philanthropist and Casey’s fiance). Casey has always claimed that she is innocent. She was charged and did her time in prison, she still lives under quite a bit of suspicion.

She hears people whisper at the grocery store. Casey is unable to get a job. Her own mother even treats her like she killed Hunter. Her story makes its way to Laurie Moran and the folks at Under Suspicion’s news team. This is Casey’s final chance to clear her name. Laurie is pledging to exonerate her as well.

Alex Buckley is on hiatus from the show, cooling the potential romance he’s got brewing with Laurie, so the show introduces Ryan Nichols. He is a new host, and is a young guy with a Harvard Law degree, experience as federal prosecutor, Supreme Court clerkship, and some stints on the cable news channels. He has a huge reputation and an attitude to match. Ryan’s got zero problems stealing and steering the show. He actually tries stopping Laurie from taking the case, because he believes that Casey is truly guilty.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Under Suspicion

Leave a Reply