Book Notification

Virgil Alexander Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Deputy Allred & Apache Officer Victor Books

The Wham Curse (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Saints & Sinners (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
the Baleful Owl (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder in Copper (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Broken Earth (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Saints and Sinners (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Written by Virgil – thank you Virgil!

Virgil Alexander was born in his parent’s home in a rural Gila County between Globe and Miami, Arizona. His uncles and cousins worked in law enforcement for various agencies, and his dad was a volunteer reserve deputy so he grew up with a lot of cop-talk. His father raised subsistence livestock and kept horses, so as a youth he spent a lot of time taking care of these. His recreation was camping, hunting, fishing, hiking, and riding. His hot summer afternoons were spent reading at the Miami and Globe public libraries, where he enjoyed history, mysteries, westerns, and Arizona geography and nature.

He worked for 42 years in mining in jobs from laborer to corporate management. After retirement he began consulting with museums on mining and Arizona history, researching and writing papers for the Arizona Historical Society, and articles for newspapers, magazines, and webpages. He is a member of the Historical Society, Public Safety Writer’s Association (PSWA), Western Writers of America, Southwest Writers, and Storymakers. He has won awards from the PSWA in categories: Best Published Fiction Book, and Best Non-fiction Published Article.


Alexander’s contemporary rural police series, the Deputy Allred & Apache Officer Victor Series, consists of five mysteries published by Aakenbaaken & Kent. Each book is a complete stand-alone story, but the main characters and many supporting characters appear in all the books. Alexander’s books are infused with real settings in which the natural and human history of the place is part of the setting. The western lifestyle of ranching, farming, timber, and mining feed into the stories, as does the contemporary Hispanic, Mormon, and Native American cultures.

Broken Earth (Book 5) released Oct. 6, 2021. As both an Apache Tribal Police Sergeant and a member of the elite Apache Medicine Clan, Al Victor most walk a thin line between legal ethics and sacred Apache secrets when a fellow medicine man goes bad and flees into the sacred ground of Broken Earth. Bren Allred hunts the missing Miss Graham County and works to save a juvenile escapee, and Deputy Manny Sanchez once again is ambushed by a drug smuggler. Missing indigenous girls, local drug problems, and day to day rural police require attention.

Murder In Copper (Book 4). Our officers go undercover in a modern copper mine to catch thieves removing half a million pounds of copper per year. An odd murder on the reservation, leads to concerns of international espionage related to theft of high tech secrets, bringing the FBI and US State Department to complicate things for the local agencies.

The Baleful Owl (Book 3). The murder of an archeology student and wounding of a second, at a dig in the Western Pinal Mountains becomes complicated as the investigation suggest a sophisticated relic theft ring. Another murder at Chaco Canyon New Mexico, involves the officers in their role as members of the Antiquities Task Force.

Saints & Sinners (Book 2). Border smuggling and crime, embroil the officers in an international battle against a Mexican drug cartel, after they issue a hit order on a saintly girl from a small village in Sonora, and she is given protection at Solomon, AZ. The action tacks place in Arizona, Mexico, and Spain as the US/Mexico Task Force fights to take down the cartel, and our officers fight to protect the girl.

The Wham Curse (Book 1). The murder of a handicapped Apache teenager seems unsolvable, until it is connected to the loot from the 1889 Historic Wham payroll robbery. The story involves reservation drug problems, radical environmentalists, and contemporary ranch life.


Book Series In Order » Authors » Virgil Alexander

Leave a Reply