Book Notification

Wiley Cash Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Land More Kind Than Home (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
This Dark Road to Mercy (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Ballad (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
When Ghosts Come Home (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Enter Stage Write(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Wiley Cash is one of The New York Times bestselling American authors and the writer of the highly successful novels, This dark Road To Mercy and A Land More Kind Than Home. Both these novels were published by the William Morrow and HarperCollins publishing houses. The latter appeared on the bestselling lists in all its three forms of release, namely paperback, ebook, and hardcover. It was also named as an Editor’s Choice as well as a Notable book of the year 2012 by The New York Times. It was also included in the best novels of 2012 lists by a number of literary journals like the Kirkus Reviews, the Library Journal, the Books a Million, as well as a few others. The novel went on to win the Independent Southern Bookseller Alliances’ Award in the category of the Fiction of the Year. The CWA of the United Kingdom also awarded the novel with the John Creasey Blood Dagger Award.

Wiley’s other novel, This Dark Road To Mercy also became a bestseller all over the nation and was picked many literary journals like the Indie Next, SIBA Okra, O MAgazine, and the Library Reads. It has been named as the book of the month by the and is in the talks to be adapted into a film. The work on the movie is about to begin very soon. He was born on September 7, 1977 in The United States. Author Wiley holds Bachelor of Arts degree in the subject of Literature from the North Carolina-Asheville University as well as a Master of Arts degree from the North Carolina-Greensboro University. After that, he earned his Ph.D degree from the Louisiana-Lafayette University with the subject of English Literature. During his academic years, author Wiley was able to receive a number of fellowships and grants from various welfare societies like the Yaddo, the Asheville Arts Council, the MacDowell Colony, and the Society of Thomas Wolfe.

Many of the stories and novels written by author Wiley are based on the Mystery & Thrillers and Literature & Fiction genres, and have appeared in the publications like the Roanoke Review, The Carolina Quarterly, and the Crab Orchard Review. Other than the stories and novels, Wiley has also written a number of essays based on the Southern Literature, which have frequently appeared in the Southern Carolina Review, the American Realism of Literature, as well as many other publications. Wiley Cash says that he received a lot of motivation and was influenced by the successful works of the famous authors like Ernest J. Gaines, Bobbie Ann Mason, William Faulkner, Flannery O’Connor, etc. Because of his successful writing career, author Wiley got the chance to be the writer in residence at the North Carolina-Asheville University. He also got the opportunity to teach in the Low Residency MFA Program for the Fiction and Nonfiction Style of Writing at the University of Southern New Hampshire. Being a native of North Carolina, author Wiley lives in Wilmington, North Carolina, along with his wife and daughter.

The first novel written by author Wiley Cash was titled ‘A Land More Kind Than Home’. It was published by the William Morrow publishing house in the year 2012. The plot of the novel is set in North Carolina, United States and revolves around the lives of the primary characters named Jess Hall, Christopher Hall, Adelaide Lyle, and Clem Barefield. It proves to be a stunning debut similar to the likes of the popular novels of Tom Franklin and John Hart, and gives an account of a mesmerizing thriller about the close bond between 2 brothers surrounded by evil entities all around in the small town of western North Carolina. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Jess Hall is introduced as growing up as a curious boy in Marshall. He faces a lot of trouble when his mother catches him while spying on the grown up people. He seems to be quite precocious and adventurous, and enormously protective about his elder brother named Christopher Hall. Chris is mute and is called as Stump by everyone, which is the reason why Jess always takes care of him.

Both Jess and Stump are warned by their mother not to snoop around at the things that they are not supposed to, but Stump cannot help himself from sneaking around. His habit of sneaking seems to have catastrophic repercussions and shatters the worlds of both Jess and his own. Due to this, Jess gets thrust into an early adulthood phase of his life, even though he is not prepared for it. In spite of being confused about many things in the adult world, Jess understands that a new understanding can very well bring the possibility of deliverance and freedom along with the evil and danger. The plot of the novel is told by the three evocative and resonant characters, Jess, Adelaide, and Clem Barefield. Adelaide is described as a moral conscience and midwife of the town, while Clem Barefield is introduced as a sheriff with a haunting past. As the plot of the novel progresses further, it depicts an interesting and haunting story about courage against cruelty and the powerful love that is able to overcome the evil darkness. Author Wiley has shown his rich literary skills by writing the narration of the novel in the form of masterful portrayals. He has shown a great assurance and reality, which depict the extraordinary promise to readers of this novel.

The second novel written by author Wiley Cash was published under the title ‘This Dark Road to Mercy’. It was released in the year 2014 by the William Morrow publishing house. The plot of this novel is also set in North Carolina and depicts the lives of the main characters Easter, Ruby, Wade, Brady Weller, and Robert Pruitt. It very well depicts the sequences of love, atonement, blood, and the vengeance of the two sisters named Ruby and Easter, and their wayward father in a very resonant way. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, the 2 sisters are sent into foster care after the unexpected death of their mother. Easter and Ruby are 12 years and 6 years old respectively, who are taken to Gastonia in North Carolina, a town situated near the Appalachian mountains. As they begin to adjust to their new surroundings, their wayward father named Wade, who used to work as a minor league player of baseball, suddenly appears. He did not see her daughters for several years, but now he seems to spend some time with them. However, he is not legally allowed to meet his daughters, so he decides to steal them during the night. Brady Weller is appointed as the guardian of the girls by the court, who learns about some unsettling facts about Wade and his links with the recent car heist. With the armored heist, $14.5 millions had gone missing. Other than Brady Weller, Wade is also haunted by a mercurial and shady man named Robert Pruitt, who nurses an old vendetta against him and is determined to find him and take his due.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Wiley Cash

One Response to “Wiley Cash”

  1. Bonnie M Carignan: 3 years ago

    Dear Mr Cash I juet

    finished When Ghosts Come Home

    Dear Mr Cash I just finished reading When Ghosts Come Home.This is the 4th book of yours I’ve read the past few weeks. I live in Wilmington,NC and will be reading more of your books in the near future.Sincerely a fan and avid reader.


Leave a Reply