Nick Petrie Series

Will Hobbs Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Bearstone Books

Bearstone (1989)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Beardance (1993)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Jason's Gold Books

Jason's Gold (1999)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Down the Yukon (2001)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of River Books

Downriver (1991)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
River Thunder (1997)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Collections

Bearstone And Other Selected Works (1998)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Will Hobb's Picture Books

Beardream (1997)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Howling Hill (1998)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Changes in Latitudes (1988)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Big Wander (1992)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Kokopelli's Flute (1995)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Far North (1996)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Ghost Canoe (1997)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Maze (1998)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Wild Man Island (2002)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Jackie's Wild Seattle (2003)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Leaving Protection (2004)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Crossing the Wire (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Go Big or Go Home (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Take Me to the River (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Never Say Die (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
City of Gold (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Author Will Hobbs writes novels for upper elementary, middle school, and young adults; he has written some picture books, too. His first book, called “Changes in Latitudes”, was released in the year 1988.

He once taught reading and language arts and has been writing full time since 1990. Hobbs is also a graduate of Stanford University.

Hobbs’ outdoor stories, which appeal to both girls and boys, Hobbs has got his readers discovering some wild places and exploring just how to make some important choices in their lives. He also has them sharing adventures with different people.

Seven of his books “Jason’s Gold”, “Bearstone”, “The Big Wander”, “Downriver”, “Beardance”, “The Maze”, and “Far North” were named Best Books for Young Adults by the American Library Association. ALA also named “Downriver” and “Far North” to their list of the 100 Best Young Adult Books of the Twentieth Century. “Ghost Canoe” won an Edgar Allan Poe Award for Best Young Adult Mystery in 1998.

Hobbs’ work has also won the Western Writers of America Spur Award, the California Young Reader Medal, the Colorado Book Award, the Mountains and Plains Booksellers Award.

“Changes in Latitudes” is the first stand alone novel, which was released in the year 1988. Travis is much too busy making plans for fun in Mexico to allow family issues ruin his vacation. Never mind the fact that his mom has got more on her mind than sight-seeing and his dad wants to stay home. His little brother Teddy is obsessed with saving endangered sea turtles and his sister Jennifer is busy doing all the family worrying. That leaves Travis enough time to meet up with a gorgeous stranger and enjoy paradise on an isolated beach in the Pacific.

Nothing remains at all the same. Suddenly reality explodes in a nightmare of tragedy and discovery. Travis has to face betrayal, loss, anger, and love that is going to change his entire view of the world forever.

Will Hobbs does a great job of making you like certain characters and not like others. The book holds your attention the entire way through, and some readers wound up crying at the end of the story.

“Bearstone” is the first novel in the “Bearstone” series, which was released in the year 1989. Cloyd Atcitty, fourteen years old, has been skipping school for some time now. He has run away from a group home for Native American boys. Now, he is being sent off to work for Walter Landis, an old rancher that lives on an isolated farm in Colorado.

In some cave, located above the ranch, Cloyd finds a turquoise carving of a bear. Knowing that the Utes, his people, have got a special relationship with bears, he keeps the tiny stone in the hopes that it is going to bring him strength. A horrible blow-up with Walter nearly ends in disaster, but the old guy offers Cloyd a final chance. They are going to ride off into the mountains together to reopen Walter’s abandoned gold mine. Among all the high peaks that are harboring Colorado’s last living grizzlies, Cloyd’s courage and loyalty is going to be tested right to the limit.

Some readers wound up feeling warm and fuzzy inside when they got to the ending. Fans found this one to be very thrilling and amazing. The book does a superb job of capturing your attention, and holding it.

“Beardance” is the second novel in the “Bearstone” series, which was released in the year 1993. Cloyd Atcitty and Walter Landis, his rancher friend, are going back into the mountains. This time around, they are chasing down the old guy’s dream of locating a lost Spanish gold mine. Cloyd hears about a mother grizzly and her cubs being spotted close by, he quickly hopes it could be the mate of the bear that he attempted to save from some hunter the previous summer.

A mother bear dies during a tragic accident, Cloyd knows that if her cubs do not survive, grizzlies are going to disappear from Colorado forever. He absolutely refuses to leave these cubs, determined to stick around with them until they are able to den. With winter moving deeper into the mountains, is Cloyd himself going to be able to survive?

The book makes you feel surprised, fascinated, and sad throughout. There are even parts that make you feel like you are actually there with the grizzly bears.

“Downriver” is the first novel in the “River” series, which was released in the year 1991. No river map, no adults, and no permit. Just some gear that was “borrowed” from Discovery Unlimited, the outdoor education that Jessie and her new companions just ditched. Jessie and the others have the time of their lives as they float under the sheer red walls, exploring the unknown caves and the dangerous waterfalls, as well as plunging through the Grand Canyon’s roaring rapids. Nobody, including Troy, who emerges as the ultimately frightening and magnetic leader of the group, is able to see the conflicts and challenges that await them. What are the consequences to be for their reckless adventure?

“The Big Wander” is the second stand alone novel, which was released in the year 1992. Clay, fourteen years old, and Mike, Clay’s older brother are going on a trip they will never forget. The excitement of going across the Southwest in Mike’s old truck is made better by Clay’s dream of finding his very favorite uncle. He is an old rodeo star that was last heard from some place in the colorful and vast known as Monument Valley.

Mike quickly gives up and goes back home, and Clay is more determined than ever to continue on. He has a job working in an isolated Navajo trading post, and a burro for transportation. He follows up a lead on his uncle’s location, and it takes him deep into the canyons in Navajo country. He learns about the dangers of the wilderness, the tribe’s ways, and discovers, right in time, the secret behind what became of his long lost uncle.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Will Hobbs

Leave a Reply