Mitchell Gant Books In Order

Publication Order of Mitchell Gant Books

Firefox (1977) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Firefox Down (1983) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Different War (1997) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

The Mitchell Gant series is a series of thriller and suspense books written by one of the prolific English authors named Crig Thomas. It consists of a total of 4 books, which were released between the years 1977 and 1997. The chief protagonist of this series is introduced in the form of a fictional character named Mitchell Gant. Author Craig has described Gant as a Russian jet skyjacker and a former Vietnam vet, who works for the CIA. The first appearance of the Mitchell Gant is seen in the 1977 book titled Firefox. In this book, he is depicted as a United States Air Force Major and goes on to steal a fighter aircraft, MiG-31 Firefox’ prototype, from the Russians. This book was later adapted into a successful Hollywood film. At the beginning of the book series, author Craig has described Gant as growing up in a small town located in rural America, called as Clarksville. When he was small, he was attracted towards flight after watching a small plane at a gas station. And after cherishing some happy memories in Clarksville, Mitchell Gant joined the U.S. Air force as a fighter pilot. During one of the combat missions in the Vietnam War, his fighter plane was shot down by a missile. He saved himself by ejecting, but was captured by guerillas. Gant was saved by the arrival of an allied aircraft, but he was traumatized by the incident. As he also died in the shooting of his aircraft, the experience gave him post traumatic stress disorder. He began having frequent flashbacks and during the nights, he used to get nightmares visualizing himself as a Vietnamese.

Gant leaves the military after the end of the war and starts working in a pizza restaurant in Los Angeles for some time. In one part of the series, Gant is shown describing taking up this job as a means to run away from his personal problems. Later, the CIA recruits him to take part in the Firefox mission as he knew Russian, knew how to fly a Russian aircraft, and had the Vietnam combat experience. As Gant’s mother was a Russian, he was very fluent in the language. The CIA gives a 3 months training to fly a similar aircraft as the MiG 25 and a simulator of Firefox. At first, he gets inserted into the Soviet Union through a scheme by the Anglo-American intelligence. Gant is tasked to steal two prototypes of the fighter plane. After knowing that the two aircrafts are stationed at an airbase in Moscow, he crosses the Soviet Union and reaches there. Gant is helped by a number of MI6 agents and several dissident scientists. They help to create a diversion which allows Gant to steal both the planes. Even though he faces some obstacles, he goes on to succeed in his mission eventually. As the series proceeds further, Mitchell Gant is seen getting captured by the Russian forces after being forced to land the stolen aircraft near the Finland border. They cause huge atrocities on him to make him give information about the CIA missions, but he does not get broken by them. Subsequently, Gant becomes successful in escaping with the help of a double agent known as Anna Akhmerovna. And after overcoming a few more obstacles on the way, he flies back to his home safely. Mitchell Gant makes his final appearance in the book called A Different War. He is shown investigating the crashing of two airliners being a member of the NTSB. At the end of this book, author Craig has mentioned that Gant received a Medal of Honor. He has also revealed the information that Mitchell Gant was an instructor and F-117 pilot at the time of the Persian Gulf War.

One of the well known books published in the Mitchell Gant series is titled ‘Winter Hawk’. The Fontana publication released this book in the year 1988. At the starting sequence of this book, it is depicted that a nuclear treaty about to get signed between the Soviet and American leaders at Geneva. When only a week is left before the signing of the treaty, a CIA agent informs the Americans that the Soviet leaders are preparing to launch a laser weapon in the Earth’s orbit from the Launch site at Baikonur. If this launch becomes successful, the Americans will become defenseless against the Russians and their generals will start controlling the USSR. On hearing the news of the launch, the American President begins to panic and orders to put the Winter Hawk mission into operation. As per this operation, penetration attempts will be made in the Central Asian Soviet via the Afghan route to bring out the CIA agent and obtain proof of the launch from him. Mitchell Gant is asked to fly one of the stolen helicopters from Rusia and is given 4 day’s time to complete the mission. The second helicopter gets destroyed by the Russian forces, which was carrying reserve fuel for Gant. As a result, he is unable to reach Baikonur. Once again, he gets captured by them. Gant encounters the KGB officer named Dmitri Priabin, who wishes to take revenge from Gant because of whom his beloved Anna was killed while helping him to escape previously. The mission, capture of Gant, and his escape attempt, are all set against the background of a chilling nuclear confrontation. It appears that author Craig has utilized all his powers as an author to develop the unforgettable and thrilling adventure of this book.

Another excellent thriller written by author Craig Thomas in the series was published under the title of ‘Firefox Down’. The Warner Futura publication released it in the year 1997, after it was first published in 1983. In this plot, the events after the stealing of two MiG aircrafts from Russia by Mitchell Gant takes place, are described by Craig. While flying away with the stolen aircrafts, Gant realizes that his fuel tank is leaking. He is also confronted by a couple of other Russian aircrafts. Due to this, he forcefully makes a landing near the Soviet border. As he does not have anywhere to run, he gets captured. The aircraft sinks to the bottom of the frozen lake on which Gant had landed. A KBG agent named Akhmerovna helps Gant to run away. Another KGB officer called Priabin also comes to love reluctantly, only because he loves Akhmerovna. After giving Gant into the hands of a western intelligence expert team, Akhmerovna gets shot. They intelligence team recovers the plane from the lake and asks Gant to fly it to home. Even though he faces a lot of difficulties while flying it, he reaches home in the end.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Mitchell Gant