Book Notification

Bradecote and Catchpoll Investigation Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of A Bradecote and Catchpoll Investigation Books

Servant of Death /The Lord Bishop's Clerk (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ordeal by Fire (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Marked to Die (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hostage to Fortune (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vale of Tears (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Faithful Unto Death (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
River of Sins (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Runs Thicker (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wolf at the Door (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Taste for Killing (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Too Good to Hang (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Litany of Lies (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Bradecote and Catchpoll Investigation series by Sarah Hawkswood
Author Sarah Hawkswood writes the “Bradeocte and Catchpoll” series of historical mystery novels, each of which are published by Busby & Allison. The series began publication in the year 2014, when “Servant of Death” was released. This novel was also released under the name of “The Lord Bishop’s Clerk”.

The series is set in the 1140s in Worcestershire during the Anarchy of King Stephen’s reign, and starts in June of 1143. The series stars Undersheriff Hugh Bradecote (a vassal lord of the Sheriff, William de Beauchamp) and Serjeant Catchpoll.

Catchpoll’s the professional of the group, having been serjeanting for twenty years now. He knows nearly all of the low life of Worcester, and works on the principle that outside of thefts for survival and some crimes of passion, criminals are mean bastards. And the one and only to keep crime under control is to prove that you are a meaner bastard than them. He can think clearly, is observant, and he’s pragmatic, above all. Starting in the second book, they are joined by Walkelin, whom Catchpoll picked to be his ‘serjeanting apprentice’.

“Servant of Death” is the first novel in the “Bradeocte and Catchpoll” series and was released in the year 2014. June of 1143. The much-hated and feared Eudo, the Lord Bishop of Winchester’s clerk, is beaten to death in Pershore Abbey and laid before the altar like some penitent. He may have been a despicable man, but who had any reason to kill him?

While the Abbey’s walls close in on the suspects in the case, Serjeant Catchpoll and his unwanted and new superior, Undersheriff Catchpoll have to figure out the answer before the killer can strike anymore.

Fans found this to be well-written, clever, and extremely enjoyable murder mystery.

“Ordeal by Fire” is the second novel in the “Bradeocte and Catchpoll” series and was released in the year 2016. September in the year 1143. Serjeant Catchpoll hopes that a fire at a Worcester silversmith’s is only an accident, however when a charred corpse is found after a second fire, he’s got no choice but to call on the undersheriff.

Hugh Bradcotte might very well be new to the job compared to his more wily colleague, however his analytical eye is quickly working hard.

With even more fires and one hooded figure stalking the streets, the duo has to piece together the vengeful motive of this arsonist.

This novel is beautifully written and wholly engaging, making this quite the page turner of a read.

“Marked to Die” is the third novel in the “Bradeocte and Catchpoll” series and was released in the year 2017. October in the year 1143. A mysterious archer, after his task is dispatched, melts right back into the forest, only leaving a pile of dead bodies behind him.

The lord Sheriff of Worcester can’t just ignore such a brazen assault on the salt road from Wich, or the death of a nobleman who was in the wrong place at the wrong time. So Serjeant Catchpoll and Hugh Bradecote are dispatched to hunt down this elusive killer and the rest of his gang, and stop the mounting attacks.

It isn’t easy to get these culprits in their sights with a reeve that’s keen on keeping his job at any and all costs, a lord that has ends of his own to serve and a vengeful and disturbing widow that Bradecote is increasingly attracted to.

“Hostage to Fortune” is the fourth novel in the “Bradeocte and Catchpoll” series and was released in the year 2019. January, 1144. Hugh Bradecote doesn’t want his betrothed running off on some pilgrimage to the shrine of St. Edgyth at Polesworth.

However the Archbishop of Canterbury’s envoy and his entourage of monks appear to be Heaven sent as escorts, up until they’re captured by some renegade that wants his forger taken out of the lord sheriff’s cells. It is a renegade that kills only for pleasure and loathes the Benedictines.

Against a backdrop of a harsh winter and even a frozen River Severn, Catchpoll and Bradecote struggle to rescue any of the clerics and Christina. This is before a psychopath is able to do his worst, Bradcote cracks under the pressure, and the lord sheriff loses the rest of his patience.

Sarah’s elegant prose is sure to keep you turning pages. Her talent to bring even the most minor of characters to life in this credible setting gives the tale a must read quality.

“Vale of Tears” is the fifth novel in the “Bradeocte and Catchpoll” series and was released in the year 2019. April in the year 1144. A corpse is found floating out in Fladbury mill leat, a man wearing green that’s been stabbed yet not robbed. The lord sheriff’s trio discover he’s an Evesham horse dealer, that has a beautiful young wife that ‘strays’.

Did the wife or a lover of said wife get rid of him? What could the link with the lord of Harvington, who married the guy’s sister, and how did that lady die? What possible connection is there with the defrocked monk that worked on a few leases for the lord and got hanged for theft, and where could the horse dealers’ horse be?

The trio must work seamlessly with each other to unravel this threat which links apparently disparate deaths before more people die, and keep Walkelin from being hanged in the process.

“Faithful Unto Death” is the sixth novel in the “Bradeocte and Catchpoll” series and was released in the year 2019. June of 1144. The naked corpse of an unknown male is found and the Prince of Powys’ messenger fails to reach Earl of Robert of Gloucester, Catchpoll, Bradecote, and Walkelin go to Wales to confirm the man’s identity. They also have to put together evidence that the dead guy deserved a noose rather than a dagger.

Retracing the guy’s steps takes them to a manor with a neglected wife, a fevered brother, a sarcastic lord, and a bitter mom. All amid folk that don’t want the truth to be revealed. The lord sheriff’s men must to unravel a knot where the justice and the law appear to be in opposition.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Bradecote and Catchpoll Investigation

Leave a Reply