Book Notification

A.E. Howe Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Baron Blasko Mysteries Books

Publication Order of Larry Macklin Mysteries Books

November's Past (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
December's Secrets (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
January's Betrayal (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
February's Regrets (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
March's Luck (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
April's Desires (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
May's Danger (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
June's Troubles (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
July's Trials (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
August's Heat (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
September's Fury (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
October's Fear (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spring's Promises (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Summer's Rage (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Autumn's Ghost (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Winter's Chill (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Valentine's Warning (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
St. Patrick's Cross (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Memorial Day's Escape (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Independence Day's Search (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Broken State (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Creature Feature (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Mortician Murder Mystery Books

Return to Death (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gambling on Death (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Memorial for Death (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Search for Death (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author A. E. Howe writes and lives in north Florida on a farm with horses, many cats, and his wife. He enjoys riding, working on his farm, and competitive shooting when he is not podcasting or writing.

Howe got a degree from University of Georgia in English Education.

Besides writing novels, he is a screenwriter and playwright; Howe also co-hosts a podcast called “Guns of Hollywood”, which is a part of Firearms Radio Network.

Growing up, he read mysteries, and it made him want to write a series of mysteries. True crime stories fascinate Howe and he has spent a lot of his time around law enforcement officers. Writing mysteries just seemed like it would be natural for him, and he decided to set them in northern Florida, near where he lived.

He feels that he is always dreaming up plots and characters. He is a proverbial daydreamer. Howe finds that the greatest thing about being a writer is that he is able to use his creativity to build worlds for the characters he has created to live in.

The first book he had published was “Broken State”, which was released in the year 2014. He writes thrillers and mysteries. Howe pens the “Larry Macklin Mysteries” series and the “Baron Blasko Mysteries” series (which is a paranormal mystery series set in 1930s Alabama).

“November’s Past” is the first novel in the “Larry Macklin Mysteries” series, which was released in the year 2016. Being a criminal investigator is never an easy job, but things are made tougher when your dad is the sheriff.

Larry Macklin looks into a stranger who was mutilated and murder. The hunt to find out the victim’s identity ties into an arson investigation. The thing linking everyone together is a small group of people that attended high school during the seventies, including even Larry’s dad. Before Larry can rule any of them out, one winds up dead.

Why does the killer target this group in particular? What possible secrets could this person want to kill them for? Larry is running out of suspects and time. His hunt to find the killer may just make him the next victim.

Fans of the novel were pulled right into the book and were unable to pull away. The story had some nice twists and turns to them. They enjoyed Larry Macklin and A. E. Howe’s style of writing. Larry is a likable and has a sense of humor, although is a bit sarcastic.

“December’s Secrets” is the second novel in the “Larry Macklin Mysteries” series, which was released in the year 2016. Larry Macklin is thrilled to get a call from Cara Laursen, despite the disastrous date they just had. When he gets to her home, he finds that the prime suspect in his current murder case is sitting in her living room and is her father, Henry.

He says that he is being framed, and Larry would like to believe him, it’s just that the evidence says otherwise. There is another murder that happens with some direct links to Henry himself, and Larry is unable to keep him from hauled into custody.

For Cara, he is going to do what it takes to prove that Henry is innocent. Is he going to have sacrifice his own ethics and possibly obstructing justice to do so?

Fans of the novel found themselves liking this one just a bit more than the firstbook. Some readers are excited to see where this series goes next. The books are well written with a solid mystery to them. Readers can’t get enough of the books in this series.

“January’s Betrayal” is the third novel in the “Larry Macklin Mysteries” series, which was released in the year 2016. The threat of corruption has been hovering above the Adams County Sheriff’s for months now. Larry believes that he has found a mole for some drug dealers working inside of the department. He does not have the necessary proof.

His attention gets diverted when a suspected serial rapist is released and then gets shot and killed while raping and killing a female. That is what it looks like anyway. The more Larry digs into things, though, it starts becoming more and more clear that this is part of a bigger conspiracy. It might have a horrible effect on his dad’s career as the sheriff.

Larry desperately wants to find the actual killer and protect the sheriff’s office’s reputation. It might just push him to making the worst mistake of his entire career.

Fans find this series to be highly enjoyable, and have stellar storylines. The books have great suspense in them, and make it tough to pull yourself away from them. These stories have a fast pace and they are easy to read within just a few hours.

“February’s Regrets” is the fourth novel in the “Larry Macklin Mysteries” series, which was released in the year 2016. Larry Macklin is trying to figure out what he wants to do with his life after resigning from his post as an investigator with Adams County Sheriff’s Office. Currently, he is working as a reserve deputy part time. He is pulled into another investigation when a friend, named Shantel Williams, asks him to find Tonya, her missing niece.

At first, Larry believes that there is a reasonable explanation for Tonya not communicating with Shantel. Quickly it is obvious that her vanishing act is part of something a lot more serious. A serial killer, called The Swamp Hacker, that killed people in Adams County fifteen years back has come back and is killing people once again.

Larry finds himself unable to resist being a part of the investigation for the predator, that eluded the sheriff many years back. He agrees to help out the authorities as they conduct this current hunt. It starts to be a race against the clock while the killings become more frequent and even more brutal. Is this killer going to escape justice once again?

These books allow you to be right along with Larry as he is solving the case.

Book Series In Order » Authors » A.E. Howe

Leave a Reply