Book Notification

A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of A Good Girl's Guide to Murder Books

A Good Girl's Guide to Murder (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Good Girl, Bad Blood (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kill Joy (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
As Good As Dead (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of A Good Girl's Guide to Murder Books

Kill Joy(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Good Girl, Bad Blood(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
As Good As Dead(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder series by Holly Jackson

Author Holly Jackson writes the “A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder” series of young adult mystery novels.

“A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder” was shortlisted for a YA Book Prize, nominated for a Goodreads Choice Award for Young Adult Fiction, and was an American Library Association’s Amazing Audiobooks for Young Adults. It also won British Book Awards Children’s Fiction Book Winner of the Year 2020.

“Kill Joy” is a prequel novella in the “A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder” series and was released in 2021. You have been invited to the murder mystery party of the year.

One murder. Six suspects. Three hours.

Pip is not in the mood for her friend’s murder mystery party. Especially since it involves 1920s fancy dress and pretending that their town is this island called Joy. However when the game starts, Pip finds herself being drawn into this make believe world of murder, intrigue, and deception.

However while Pip starts playing detective, teasing the killer’s identity out one clue at a time, the murder of the fictional Reginald Remy is not the only case that’s on her mind.

Seeing Pip interacting with her friends was a lot of fun, and Connor was funny just like always. Holly’s writing was excellent and each of the characters in this were fantastic. This provides a nice fix for those that were craving more from this universe, as it’s great to be able catch up with Pip and her friends. The claustrophobic murder mystery game was entertaining too. It’s a plotline that is reminiscent of “And Then There Were None” meets Clue.

“A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder” is the first novel in the “A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder” series and was released in 2019. Here is a story about an investigation turned obsession.

Everybody in Fairview knows the story. Andie Bell, popular and pretty high school senior, was murdered by her boyfriend, Sal Singh, who then killed himself. It was all anybody could talk about. And five years later, Pip sees exactly how this tragedy has been haunting her town. However she cannot shake the feeling that there was more to what went down that day. She knew Sal when she was a child, and he was always so very kind to her. How could he have possibly been a killer?

Pip is now a senior herself, and decides it’s time to reexamine this closed case for her final project, at first only to cast some doubt on the original investigation. However she quickly finds this trail of dark secrets which may actually prove Sal’s innocence, and the line between present and past starts blurring. Somebody in Fairview does not want her digging for answers, and now her life may just be in danger.

Fans of the novel found this to be a gripping, fun, and skillfully constructed novel of suspense. Readers loved Pip, with her inventive investigative approach, her relatable quirks, and her willingness to step out of her safe world in search of the truth. There is a bunch to enjoy about this story, with fine characterization, and some great energy to the writing here. Dangerous, dark, and intricately plotted, some readers found their hearts were quite literally pounding while reading the novel.

“Good Girl, Bad Blood” is the second novel in the “A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder” series and was released in 2020. More dark secrets are exposed in this true crime fueled and addictive sequel as Pip finds herself getting involved in another deadly case.

Pip is not a detective anymore. With help from Ravi Singh, she released a true crime podcast about the murder case that they solved together the previous year. The podcast went viral, but Pip insists that her investigating days are well behind her.

However she will need to break this promise once somebody she knows vanishes. Jamie Reynolds has gone missing, disappearing the same night that the town hosted a memorial for the sixth year anniversary of the deaths of Sal Singh and Andie Bell.

The cops aren’t doing anything about it. And if they aren’t looking for Jamie then Pip will, uncovering more of her town’s dark secrets along the way, and this time around everybody is listening. However is she going to find him before time runs out?

With careful pacing, suspense, the twists, and some realistic character development this is a top tier sequel. The mystery in this novel had so many unexpected turns and twists and then all of the puzzle pieces fit together so perfectly by the end. Pip and Ravi are excellent characters, so cute together. Pip has this brave and bold spirit, and is changing before our very eyes into the real Pip.

“As Good as Dead” is the third novel in the “A Good Girl’s Guide To Murder” series and was released in 2021. Pip Fitz-Amobi is still haunted by the way her previous investigation concluded. She will soon be heading off for Cambridge University although another case finds her, and this time around it is all about Pip.

Pip has gotten used to getting online death threats, however there is one that catches her eye, somebody that continues asking: who will look for her when she’s the one that vanishes? And it isn’t just online. She has this stalker that knows where she lives.

The cops are refusing to do anything about it and then she finds connections between a local serial killer and her stalker. The killer’s been in prison for the past six years now, yet Pip suspects that the wrong guy is behind bars. While this deadly game continues playing out, she realizes that everything in Little Kilton has finally been coming full circle. If she doesn’t find the answers, this time she will be the one vanishing.

Ravi is a fantastic character, even more so now. The guy is loving, clever, kind, and smart. This novel gave readers anxiety through every moment of it but it was well worth all of it. And it ends exactly the way you’d want this series would, in such a pleasing way.

Book Series In Order » Characters » A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder

Leave a Reply