Book Notification

A Jazz Age Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of A Jazz Age Mystery Books

Flappers, Flasks and Foul Play (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bathing Beauties, Booze and Bullets (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gold Diggers, Gamblers and Guns (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Vamps, Villains and Vaudeville (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deco Dames, Demon Rum and Death (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

A Jazz Age Mystery Series

An American author, Ellen Mansoor Collier is a gifted writer with a versatile voice and a lot to say through her work. Known for her intelligent and articulate approach to writing, she really understands how to get her point across precisely. Largely focusing on mystery and crime novels, she also writes historical fiction too, paying close attention to detail all the way. Drawing inspiration from a number of different writers, including F. Scott Fitzgerald and Dorothy Parker to name a few, she’s a talented voice in the literary industry.

Keeping her readers guessing all the way, she’s highly talented at creating an air of mystery and intrigue within her novels too. Many of her books are set within the Jazz Age as well, which is something that’s become one of her central areas of focus over the years. Showing a clear love of the craft, she pays close attention to detail, really bringing the era she’s depicting to life upon the page. Working as editor and reporter prior to becoming a fiction writer of her own, she also understands how to communicate her ideas to large audiences as well.

There’s a lot of colorful and interesting characters populating her many novels too, each with their own unique story to tell. Bringing them to life is something that Collier does exceptionally well, allowing them to speak directly to the reader for themselves. Many of her books depict flappers and their lifestyles, a subject that Collier is clearly interested in, as the passion comes through on the page. With lots more to come in the future too, she definitely will not be stopping any time soon, as her writing career continues to grow.

One series that she’s particularly well known for is that of her ‘Jazz Age Mystery’ series of novels, which are set during the ‘roaring twenties’ of the twentieth century. Taking place within Prohibition Era America, they’re set in Galveston, Texas, following the many case files of young society reporter Jasmine ‘Jazz’ Cross. Solving different mysteries and cases, the series provides a new story with each instalment, each with their own self-contained investigation.

With over five books in the series so far and counting, the series itself has the potential of continuing indefinitely. As a historical mystery series it’s somewhat light-hearted in tone, making it an ideal set of stories to pick up for a casual read at any point. There’s also plenty for long term returning fans of the series to enjoy too, as it features ongoing narrative arcs fro the character of Cross herself.

Flappers, Flasks and Foul Play

Originally published in 2012 this would first come out through the Kindle platform on the 1st of July to much acclaim. Setting up the ‘Jazz Age Mysteries’ series of novels, it establishes the premise and characters, along with the overall tone of the franchise. It also provides a complete self-contained mystery story, making it an easy book to pick up for fans of the genre overall.

During a visit to the hidden speak-easy ‘Oasis,’ the young society reporter Jasmine Cross witnesses a witnesses a bar fight. Secretly owned by her own brother Sammy Cook, a death later takes place as a high-ranking banker is found dead, leaving them to wonder whether it was accident or murder. James Burton the Prohibition Agent enters the establishment threatening to close it down if Sammy doesn’t talk, and Jasmine is pressed upon for information as turf wars threaten to take place. Can Jasmine find out what happened in time, will she be able to prevent any further catastrophe from taking place, and what will become of them all amongst the flappers, flasks and foul play?

Bathing, Beauties, Booze and Bullets

Coming out on the Kindle platform once more, this would first arrive back in 2013 on the 5th of May, just a little over a year after the first. Setting up the second in the ongoing ‘Jazz Age Mysteries’ series of novels, it provides another mystery story in much the same vein as the original. With the same characters returning and Jasmine ‘Jazz’ Cross as its leading protagonist, it can be read as a stand-alone title, although there’s plenty for those returning too.

The usual murders have been buried, as a reluctant Jasmine Cross has been ordered to report on the Splash Day festivities for the ‘International Pageant of Pulchritude and Bathing Girl Revue’ instead. Slowly another side to the make-up and beauty queens begins to emerge though, as Jasmine slowly learns that the event is sponsored by aspiring gang leaders, the Maceos. It’s then that her Jasmine’s brother Sammy Cook, the owner of the Oasis speak-easy, asks her to call in a favor from James Burton the Prohibition Agent. Will she be able to find out the truth of it all, where will her journey take her, and what will she find among the bathing, beauties, booze and bullets?

Gold Diggers, Gamblers and Guns

This third title in the ‘Jazz Age Mysteries’ series of books would come out back in 2014 on the 18th of May. Providing another mystery featuring Jasmine ‘Jazz’ Cross in the lead role, it’s a further self-contained story that continues on from the previous titles. It would also pave the way for the fourth book, ‘Vamps, Villains and Vaudeville,’ which would come out in 2015 the following year.

Going into hiding for his own safety, James Burton’s life is in danger following the release of Down-town gang leader Johnny Jack Nounes. Then James is framed for the murder of a bar owner’s death, and now he must go into hiding, as Jasmine works with him to help prove his innocence. Following this Sammy Cook, owner of the Oasis speak-easy and Jasmine’s brother is blamed for Nounes’s arrest. Can they all work together and put a stop to Nounes, will they find the real culprit, and what will become of all the gold diggers, gamblers and guns?

The A Jazz Age Mystery Series

It’s a fun series that really uses its engaging premise and setting to its full potential, exploring every aspect of it in its full entirety. There are lots of characters here that really bring the story and the world to life, allowing it to fully flourish upon the page. Gaining more fans as time goes on, it’s easy to see why this series has become so popular, and will continue to gain attention in the years to come.

Book Series In Order » Characters » A Jazz Age Mystery

Leave a Reply