Book Notification

A.R. Kahler Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Immortal Circus Books

The Immortal Circus (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Immortal Circus: Act Two (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Immortal Circus: Final Act (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Hunted Books

Publication Order of Pale Queen Books

Pale Queen Rising (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cold Dream Dawning (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Ice Burning (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Flirt Books

Love Is in the Air (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Ravenborn Books

Shades of Darkness (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Echoes of Memory (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Picture Books

Playing Wicked (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

A.R. Kahler is a well known American author, who is popular for his successful novels based on the young adult, fantasy, and new adult genres. Kahler was born on November 26, 1986 and was inspired from a very young age by the famous works of the prominent authors like J.K. Rowling, Cassandra Clare, Neil Gaiman, Holly Black, as well as a lot of others. He says that apart from being a successful writer, he also works as a circus artist and as a full time wanderer. Kahler was born in a small town situated on the edge of Iowa, as Alex R. Kahler. He likes his hometown very much for its dark chocolates and fine whiskey. He moved out of the town at the age of 16 in order to join a boarding school named Interlochen Arts Academy, as he was very fond of the arts during his growing years. In the final years of his school, Kahler passed out in the subject of creative writing, however, he was not allowed to write about fantasy because of his age. This forced him to go for his higher studies and after bouncing around a few colleges, he enrolled himself at the Bennington College and earned his degree in the year 2010.

Initially, he had to face a lot of problems due to his innate and shiny nature. Despite his interest in creative writing, Kahler studied literature, anthropology, and visual arts. His idea was to remain unemployed after his graduation so that he could do what he was interested in. During that time, he spent some months in Glasgow, Scotland and used to live, study, and work. It was during his stay there that he started working with a number of circus groups. After completing his graduation, Kahler moved to a small Massachusetts town and started his art studio. But, it did not prove to be fruitful for him and hence, he decided to join the Glasgow University for a Masters degree in Creative Writing. During this time, he met with his agent Laurie McLean and after a period of one year, he was able to publish his first novel. He says that this was the much important start that he needed in his writing career as he went on to sell his thesis project of graduation to his publishers.

As of today, author Kahler lives in Seattle, where he works as a full time writer and occasionally indulges in circus and arts activities. He is mostly seen busy with his writing works. Other than being a writer, he is a well established yoga instructor and tries to live his life according to the 8 limbs (ashtangas) of yoga that he learned from the lineage of Baba Hari Dass. Kahler also has an interest in Ayurveda, body work, and planetary Herbalism. He believes in supporting his fellow artists and paying skills forward. Kahler is a homosexual and because of that, most of his recently published works are dedicated towards exploring the homosexual characters in unfavorable scenarios. Besides all this, Kahler is also has interests in mythology, old books with symbols, and folklore. He has a goal in life to travel to different parts of the world and perform with a Scandinavian folk rock band, and also to become a specialist player. The free times and breaks in the life of author Kahler is spent in earning from his fans and friends, and answering to their queries.

One of the novel series written by A.R. Kahler is the ‘Cirque des Immortels’ series. The series consists of a total of 3 novels published between the years 2012 and 2014. The first novel of the series was released under the title ‘The Immortal Circus: Act One’. It was published by the 47North publishing house in the year 2012. The plot of the novel revolves around a circus group and features the main characters in the form of Vivienne, Mab, Kingston, and Melody. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Vivienne runs from her house to join a circus group. But, she begins to witness a number of murdered contortionists and realizes that this was not she had signed up for as a circus artist. However, like the most things around, nothing was as it seemed. Vivienne could not remember her past and soon realizes that running away from her family was not as appealing she used to think of it once. The matters become even worse in the circus group when she learns that Mab, the attractive ringleader, the devilishly Faerie Queen of England. Vivienne also comes to know that Mab and her circus crew are involved in an age old rivalry against the otherworldly Courts. Vivienne gets helped by her friends Melody and Kingston and races against the time only to learn about the true culprit responsible for the series of murders, which she thinks impossible to happen. Kingston is described as a feisty magician, whose magic seems to be stealing the heart of Vivienne, whereas Melody is introduced as the smart and cunning assistant of Vivienne. However, her efforts of seeking the answers seem to be revealing more than her own future and bloody past, than she has ever expected to.

The second novel of the series was published by the 47North publishing house in the year 2013. It was published under the title ‘The Immortal CIrcus: Act Two’ and continued to feature the main characters in the form of Vivienne, Kingston, and Melody. In the opening sequence of the plot of the novel, Vivienne is depicted as being happy with her life as a performer in the Cirque des Immortels circus group. Previously, after running away from her hometown, she used to sell cotton candies and also work as a fortune teller. But, from the time she has landed in the circus group, she does not think about doing something else. Vivienne also finds herself lucky to find a gorgeous and magical boyfriend in the form of Kingston. After the fight of the otherworldly beings in the first novel of the series, no other crew member killed in the circus. She seems to be living a perfect life except for the fact that she gets frequent visions and nightmares about the past life, which compel and confront her to seek her foggy past. But, it seemed that it would be a blessing if Vivienne did not come to know about her past. There was a reason why she ran away from her past life and she might not be able to escape again if she comes to in contact with the secrets of her past life. The novel has been able to successfully draw a number of readers in the wonderful, seductive, as well as deadly world. Due to this, it received a lot of appreciation and praise. Even the critics praised Kahler for his dedicated efforts in writing this wonderful novel.

Book Series In Order » Authors » A.R. Kahler

Leave a Reply