Book Notification

A.S. King Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Dust of 100 Dogs (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Please Ignore Vera Dietz (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Everybody sees the ants (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ask the Passengers (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reality Boy (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Glory O'Brien's History of the Future (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Crawl Through It (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Still Life with Tornado (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Me and Marvin Gardens (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dig (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Year We Fell From Space (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Switch (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pick the Lock (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Monica Never Shuts Up (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

One Death, Nine Stories(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Minds(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dear Heartbreak(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Collectors(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Collectors: Stories(2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Amy Sarig King, who is more commonly known by the name A.S. King is an American writer born in the state of Pennsylvania on 10th March of the year 1970. Her genre includes young-adult fiction, short fiction and literature & fiction. Reading, Pennsylvania is the place where she grew up and she says that she worked and played basketball instead of focusing on achieving good grades because of a particular teacher of seventh grade. She met Topher King, an exchange counselor from Ireland when she was 17 years old and at that time Topher King was 19. King was a camp counselor and she fell in love with him. When they were apart for five years they continuously wrote letters to each other and then in the year 1992 they got married. She transferred her education to the Art Institute of Philadelphia after attending a semester and a half in a state school. She graduated from the Art Institute of Philadelphia with a degree in photography. After this, King decided to move to Ireland with her husband and after landing in Ireland she stayed in Dublin. After two years in Dublin she moved to Tipperary and along with her husband Topher, King renovated and redesigned a farm. She later started working with students of adult literacy. She used to read a book a day while in Dublin and it included mainly ‘a lot of surrealist fiction.’ After that in Dublin, she began writing novels. In the year 2004, she returned to Pennsylvania and she now lives in this state along with her husband and children. Before publishing her first novel seven novels were written by A.S. King along with short stories and poetry. During this over 400 rejection letters were collected by her. Her work that was first published was actually some poetry in the journals in a university in the United States.

Author Amy Sarig always used to write about adult characters and she was totally unaware of the market of young adults. She says that through her writing she was trying to establish a better understanding between the teenagers and the adults. While beginning to write a novel, King never plans. She just starts writing and then later develops a personality and the theme of the novel and at the end does heavy editing before finally completing the novel. Unconventional structures and magical realism are often a part of her novel. King was a hard time while publishing her work, even after hiring an agent. The problem was that her work was very tough to categorize. Then an editor asked her to write something different, ‘something weird’ and this was the time when she came across the young adult market. In the year 2009, her novel ‘The Dust of 100 Dogs’ was published by Flux, which is a small young adult press. Since with the name of Amy King there was already a writer, she chose A.S. King as her pen name. ‘Please Ignore Vera Dietz’ was her second novel and seven different publishing houses bid on it. Lastly, author Amy Sarig King chose Knopf as her publisher because Michelle Frey, the editor of the publication had a perfect vision about the novel and the other publishers wanted to remove the adults from the novel. The second book has won Michael L. Printz Award for the year 2011 and was a nominee of the Edgar Allan Poe Award in the category of ‘Best Young Adult’. ‘Everybody Sees the Ants’ was her third novel and in the year 2012, it was named as among the Top Ten Books for Young Adults. The book was also a finalist of the Andre Norton Award. In the year 2012, her fourth novel ‘Ask the Passengers’ was published and it was awarded by the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. The book was also a finalist for a Lambda Literary Award. Two more novels titled ‘Reality Boy’ and ‘Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future’ were published in the year 2013 and 2014 respectively, and the seventh novel titled ‘I Crawl Through It’ came in September of the year 2015. ‘Monica Never Shuts Up’ is a collection that includes twelve short stories and was published in the format of the ebook in the year 2012. It has been announced that two more novels will be coming soon.

The first book of the author Amy Sarig King that was written is titled ‘The Dust of 100 Dogs’ and was published by Flux on the 8th February of the year 2009. The book is about Emer, who is a bloodthirsty, infamous teenage pirate of the late seventeenth century. She decides to leave her days in the Carribean behind and begins to sail off with Seanie, her love along with the treasure. But before she could leave an old enemy kills her and curses her to live a life of a hundred dogs. It takes her three hundred years to complete the life of a hundred dogs and later Emer is reborn as Saffron Adams in the year 1972 and all her memories of Emer and of hundred dogs are completely intact. She lives in Pennsylvania and her parents are depressive and alcoholic and she is the last child of the five born. All she wants while growing up is to complete her school and move straight to Jamaica to find her treasure that she has hidden. While waiting for that moment, she imagines all possible ways to torture the people responsible for her life in the style of true Emer.

Another book written by the author Amy Sarig King is titled ‘Ask the Passengers’ and was published on 23rd October of the year 2012 by Little, Brown BFYR. The main character of the book is a young girl named Astrid Jones, who is falling in love with a girl. She has made her decision that her parents are the last people to trust as her father shows least interest in her and her mother is always pushing her. Astrid spends most of her time watching airplanes flying while she is lying on the picnic table in her backyard. It’s certain that no passenger is a a friend of hers or even knows her, but according to Astrid they are the only person who won’t ask her any questions or judge her. She can easily ask her personal questions like she is in love with another girl. Soon the relationship that she was keeping secret becomes more intense and her friends start asking answers and now she has nowhere to go. She can’t tell the truth to anyone and the only people whom she can share her feelings are flying thirty thousand feet above. This little girl is trying to escape from the society’s definitions and the book was given the Printz Honor.

Book Series In Order » Authors » A.S. King

Leave a Reply