Book Notification

A Thousand Li Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of A Thousand Li Books

The First Step (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The First War (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Favored Son (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Second Expedition (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Second Sect (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
On Gods and Demons (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Clifftop Crisis and Transformation (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Imperial March (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Villages and Illnesses (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Second Storm (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Descent from the Mountain (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Divine Peak (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Third Kingdom (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Third Realm (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Third Cut (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sundering Blade (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fourth Stage (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

“A Thousand Li” series is a set of bestselling fantasy and science fiction novels by Tao Wong. Tao is a full-time author from Canada who writes as an independent author from the Yukon Peninsula.

He is a huge reader of fantasy and science fiction novels have been a big fan of the likes of Terry Brooks, Asimov, and Dragonland in his childhood. In his teenage years, he graduated to the likes of Bujold, Gaiman, and Jordan.

Tao published “The First Step,” the debut novel of the “A Thousand Li” series of novels in 2019. The series now has more than a dozen titles and the author has shown no signs of slowing down since.

When Wong is not writing her novels, she can usually be found reading, practicing martial arts, and taking care of her growing family.

She has also been known to be an avid gamer, who sometimes plays board and RPG games in addition to having a few random skills.

Tao grew up in Malaysia before he moved to the United Kingdom, where earned his bachelor’s degree in Accounting and Business. He would then earn a master’s of science degree in marketing prior to moving to Vancouver in Canada.

He would then establish his residence in Whitehorse, where he now lives with his wife and child and pens his bestselling novels. Tao Wong first considered herself a full-time author in 2019 after publishing more than twenty titles.
She has been very active in the writing community and is a member of the Fantasy and Science Writers of America, and Science Fiction Canada.

“A Thousand Li” series by Tao Wong introduces Long Wu Ying, who dreams of being a farmer and spends his days living with his family on a small plot of land.

While elusive and farfetched, he spends his time studying and interacting with his loved one until the army arrives at his village. Together with his friends, Long is offered a chance to become part of the Verdant Green Waters Sect.

But this would mean that he would have to leave his family behind which is quite painful. By joining the sect, he will be taking the first step toward becoming an immortal cultivator. This will be the ultimate test of his inner strength.
In this world, cultivation refers to a magic system where people can infuse their bodies with healing chi and magic. Through constant practice and study, one is able to enhance these powers over time.

While Long Wu Ying is not the most skilled student, he overcomes many of the challenges through hours of training, determination, and pure grit.

“The First Step” is the first novel of the “A Thousand Li” series by Tao Wong. The lead in the novel is Wu Ying, a man that has recently been conscripted into the military.

At some point, he is noticed by some elder who gives him the opportunity to become a cultivator. It is a dream come true even though he never believed it would ever come true.

Even though most people learn how to cultivate, very few in his society ever get to make a career of it. A professional who advances far enough along the food chain can get the benefit of living for many years.

While life is full of all manner of dangers, the rewards of a long life are so magnificent. Soon enough, he discovers that advancing as a cultivator is not the only fight he has on his hands.

As a commoner surrounded on all sides by nobles who are known to despise commoners. At present, they are all students learning to fight but whenever Wu takes out a noble there is a lot of uproar, given that he is a commoner.

It is a brilliant story of a young common boy who trains and persevers. He is a man who follows the principles and morality of Lao-tzu, Buddha, and Confucius to ground himself.

He gleans these values from the society in which he was raised and grows up to value humility and despise arrogance.

The second novel of the “A Thousand Li” series of novels is “The First Stop” which continues to follow the life and times of Long Wu Ying.

As a member of the inner sect of the Verdant Green Waters sect, he will have to navigate the choice of a secondary occupation while also navigating the customs of the cultivators.

From immortal martial specialists, alchemists, physicians, blacksmiths, and more Wu Ying will need to choose a career that contributes to and defines his dao. Meanwhile, the drums of war are beating outside.

In the war for supremacy between the states, the Sect will most definitely be pulled right into the middle of it. The Sect leaders plan to take Wu Ying and several of his colleagues on a dangerous quest to prepare them for the upcoming war.
As Wu Ying stops to take account of the Sect sand himself he will be forced to strive for the future, put his past aside, and come to terms with his place in the new world. Tao writes a captivating novel that will delight her fans yet again.
The lead earns his growth and manages to overcome some huge challenges as he steadily rises in his world.

“The First War” is the third novel of the “A Thousand Li” series of novels by Tao Wong. With his family threatened by war, Wu Ying needs to decide on the mortal ties that bind and find his path to immortality.

Winter is finally coming to an end but with its passing, so too do the hopes for peace. In the recent past, the state of Wei has been increasingly deploying soldiers and cultivators, as it hopes to take over the state of Shen.

Wu Ying’s village finds itself caught in between the warring armies. While his loved ones may be in the line of fire, he is advised to not get involved in the coming war.

He may have to make a choice on what is more important to him between ties to the mortal world and his journey to immortality.

Could there be a third way that could balance the karmic ties and the needs of destiny and Heaven?

Book Series In Order » Characters » A Thousand Li

Leave a Reply