Book Notification

A.W. Exley Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Artifact Hunters Books

Nefertiti's Heart (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hatshepsut's Collar (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Unicorn's Tail (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nero's Fiddle (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Moseh's Staff (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Paniha's Taniwha (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Nessy's Locket (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Seer's Eye (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rahotep's Last Breath (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Queen's Blade Books

Publication Order of Serenity House Books

Ella, The Slayer (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Henry, The Gaoler (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Alice, the Player (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rory, the Sleeper (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Silent Wings Books

Dawn's Promise (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Day's Patience (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dusk's Revenge (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

A.W. Exley
A.W. Exley is the penname of Anita Exley, a New Zealand-based author. She has also lived in Canterbury, England, where a destructive 2010 earthquake that claimed tens of people proved to her the unpredictability of life; it prompted her to start writing immediately, something that she had kept on postponing.

An amateur Egyptologist, A.W. Exley self-studied Egyptian history and related hieroglyphic writing while pursuing her accounting degree. American-Irish novelist Anne McCaffrey, American writer Elizabeth Hunter, and English author James Herbert influenced her. A.W. Exley’s niches are historical fiction (romance, adventure, horror, epic, and fantasy subgenres) and science fiction (steampunk subgenre).

Book Series Written
A.W. Exley has authored several series. However, she is renowned for writing the Artifact Hunters series, especially its first book titled Nerfertiti’s Heart and whose first publication is dated 2012. Set in the 1860s London and involving noble victims, Nerfertiti’s Heart’s protagonist is Cara Devon; she is disposing her willed art collection, including an immortalizing artifact called “Nerfertiti’s Heart” that serial killer Nathaniel Kent is seeking.

Hatshepsut’s Collar, whose earliest publication is dated November 2013 (by Curiosity Quills Press), is the second book in the Artifact Hunters series. With 12+ editions; it features protagonist Cara Devon alongside her lover, the secretive nobleman Nathaniel Lyons on death row. Devon must globe-trot in a fact-finding mission to secure Lyons’ pardon for stealing an Egyptian relic from the Queen Victoria; only then can Devon team up with Lyons to reclaim a maddening Egyptian artefact from the collared queen so as to ward off a looming war.

A.W. Exley’s book Hatshepsut’s Collar has a spin-off (Artifact Hunters, book #2.5), titled The Unicorn’s Tail and whose first of its 7+ editions is dated July 2014. It is about Amy Hamilton, a victim of domestic violence; she relocates to Nathaniel Lyon’s neighborhood, where she is gifted a magical wish-granting bracelet relic that yields two suitors who gamble on her affection.

Serenity House is another series in A.W. Exley’s portfolio. The first book in the series is Ella, The Slayer has 8+ editions, including the earliest Kindle Edition that is dated June 2015. Its protagonist is teenager Ella who solely—before she teams up with a noble survivor—kills reanimated victims of the contextually mysterious 1918 Spanish Flu.

Catalogued as book #0.5 in A.W. Exley’s Serenity House series, there is a prequel titled Henry, The Gaoler, whose first publication—by Robinwood Press—is dated June 2016. Set in the 1910s with reference to the Titanic shipping accident; it features post-First World War returnee Henry who wants to free up her lover Hazel whose doomy parents has forced isolated her.

Alice, the Player is the third book in the Serenity House series. There are 6+ editions, and A.W. Exley first published it in September 2016 through Robbinwood Press. It is about a friendship between Ella and Alice, alongside their lovers; as such it is a concern when Alice is lost in the post-war and post-Spanish Flu eras, and a step-mother complicating matters.

A.W. Exley has also written the Silent Wings series whose first book, titled Dawn’s Promise, was initially published in February 2018. Sickly, world-weary gardener Dawn Uxbridge is hired by Earl Jasper to work in a secretive, haunted manor.

Day’s Patience is the second book in the serialized Silent Wings. It was initially published in June 2018. Its protagonist is Letitia Seton, a princess whom physician Grayson Day has cured of a long-lasting disease; accompanying the princess who is seeking closure, Day watches helplessly at Letitia’s entanglement with murder conspirators to save herself and royal kin.

In the Tales from Darjee by A.W. Exley, the first book is Heart of the Kraken whose earliest publication is dated March 2015. A cannibalistic noble wants to eat protagonist Ailin alive; she is aboard a ship seized by pirates, including an experimental child-turned-pirate Fenton whose power to invoke the sea monster kraken can save Ailin’s life.

Tales from Darjee series’ second book is Alise, which was first published in October 2019. Unlucky and cowardly soldier protagonist Ephraim has now manned up; he seeks help from his addicted, secret admirer Indi when Darjee’s ruthless ruler Lady Alise authorizes mass child murders.

Obsidian Eyes, whose first edition was released in March 2014, is the first instalment in the Queen’s Blade series by A.W. Exley. Schooling teenage girl Allie Donovan may pit two Scottish social classes against each other in her quest to protect both her male friend Zeb and his military inventions.

Opaque Lies is the second book in the Queen’s Blade series. Robinwood Press initially published it in May 2020. Learner Allie Denovan is spoilt for choice in choosing a lover from among her schoolmates. She befriends Alexandrina Victoria, an English princess in line to the throne; Allie must upset a centuries-old pact to enable Alexandrina’s gain her rightful royal title.

Awards won by A. W. Exley
In 2014, A.W. Exley’s book Nerfertiti’s Heart won in the Sci-Fi/Fantasy categories of both the Kindle Book Award and BTS Red Carpet Awards.

Other Books You May Like
Readers who read A. W. Exley’s Books also read these series. The first is Thunder Hunter by Rachel Medhurst. The first book first book in the Viking Soul series, CreateSpace first published Thunder Hunter in December 2016. The protagonist is swordfighter Trygger Odinson who is five demons short of attaining his target of killing 200 demons; Odinson’s demon-hunting mission is his gateway to the heavenly Valhalla, but the godsend female assistant Chloe jeopardizes his mission that may result in his banishment to the icy realm called Helheim.

Chosen, authored by Christine Pope, is the first book in The Djinn Wars. Dark Valentine Press first published Chosen in January 2015; Jessica Monroe, who survives a pandemic that has decimated the human race, mistakes a scheming demon for a spirit guide in what turns out to be a premeditated global attack.

Written by C. J. Archer, The Last Necromancer is the first book in serialized The Ministry of Curiosities; Charlotte Holloway, a slum-dweller and wanted woman, reanimates a corpse while freeing from his pursuers before being captured by someone who needs her clairvoyance.

Book Series In Order » Authors » A.W. Exley

Leave a Reply