Book Notification

A Writer’s Apprentice Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Writer's Apprentice Mystery Books

A Dark and Stormy Murder (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in Dark Blue (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dark and Twisting Path (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Waits in the Dark (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death with a Dark Red Rose (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dark and Silent Night (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

The “Writer’s Apprentice Mystery” series is a set of novels by Julia Buckley, a young adult, mystery and thriller author from Chicago. She is best known as the author of the Writer’s Apprentice series of bestselling novels that she published with Berkley Prime Crime. The series was called surprising, enjoyable and engaging by Mystery Scene, while Kirkus called it pleasantly old fashioned. Buckley has always been a lover of writing and reading since she was a teen and still loves, typewriters, libraries, pens, Scholastic Book Fairs, pads, the smell of ink and books you cannot put down. She is an active member of the writing community and is part of the Chicago Writers Association, Mystery Writers of America, and Sisters in Crime. She is also a blogger at Mysterious Musing, where she has conducted interviews with more than 200 mystery writers about their writings. She currently makes her home in a suburb in Chicago, where she lives with Jeff her husband, Digby her giant dog and three wonderful but spoiled cats. Julia Buckley works a day job as a teacher of high school English. When she is not writing, she can be found spending time with family, playing “Words With Friends” or reading.

Julia Buckley wrote the first novel of the Writer’s Apprentice Mystery Series in 2016. The novel is set in Indiana, where Lena London the lead is a writer’s apprentice. Lena London is inspired by the novel of bestselling suspense author Camilla Graham to become an author. As such, when she lands a job as the famous writer’s assistant she thinks herself the luckiest woman alive. She will be helping her mentor craft some new enchanting mysteries and get to live in Camilla’s beautiful Victorian home in Blue Lake Indiana rent free. In the second novel of the series, Lena is settling in with her new boss, mentor and friend Camilla and has even got a new boyfriend named Sam West. But Sam is under a dark cloud after a woman that had accused him of murder is found dead. In the third of the series Allison who is Lena’s best friend finds the dead body of an argumentative mail carrier that only recently had a very public falling out with her husband. She panics but soon discovers she should not have worried. The murder weapon in the scene points to Sam West Lena’s embattled boyfriend as the main suspect.

“A Dark and Stormy Murder” the first novel of the series introduces young aspiring author Lena London that is just fresh off a long term relationship and also fresh out of school. At the beginning of the novel, she is contacted by Allison one of her best friends from Blue Lake Indiana. Her friend is a member of a weekend knitting group with Camille Graham that happens to be her idol and favorite author. Allison had apparently shared Lena’s unpublished manuscript with Camille and she had loved it. The author now wants to offer her a job as her writing assistant. She takes up the offer and moves to Blue Lake Indiana to live with the author in her mysterious old Victorian mansion. She could not be happier and thinks it is a dream come true working with her favorite author while learning the ropes about the writing industry. Before long, Lena stumbles upon a body on the lake shore not far from the Victorian house she lives in with Camille. The discovery gives her the chance to get acquainted with Doug, the handsome and single police detective who is in charge of the case. She also met Sam West, a mysterious neighbor who introduced himself to her on the day she arrived in Blue Lake. He is a rich investor out of his comfort zone in New York and living in the small town. It later comes out that he had left the city as he wanted to get out of the media spotlight following the disappearance of his estranged wife.

The second novel in the “Writer’s Apprentice Mystery” series is “Death in Dark Blue” that continues to follow the life and times of apprentice writer Lena London. She had managed to show that Sam West her boyfriend was innocent of the murder in the first novel but his wife is not yet found. There were many people that believed Sam had something to do with the murder and they had wanted nothing to do with him. Even Taylor who is Victoria’s best friend had come at Sam during the investigations but now wants to visit Blue Lake to offer her apologies. But she is killed before she can make the trip down and things get thick when Lena stumbles upon her body in Sam’s backyard. Lena is determined to prove him innocent once again, even as the press descend upon the small town having smelt blood. She needs to prove his innocence so that they can go back to building upon their budding romance. But even if she managed to resolve the murder mystery and find the killer, she has yet to find out what happened to Victoria.

In “A Dark and Twisting Path” by Julia Buckley, Lena best friend Allison stumbles upon a corpse and calls her for help. The dead man is the mailman that had been involved in a very public spat with her husband and she is understandably in a panic. She believes her husband will go down for the murder as he will most likely be fingered as the main suspect. Lena is determined to help clear her friend’s husband and arrives at the scene only to find things are more complicated. Stuck in the man’s chest is the letter opener she is sure she gifted to her boyfriend Sam. But she is certain Sam could not have committed the crime given that he is out of town. The question is who is trying to pin the murder on him given that Sam has never met the man and would have no reason to take him out. The child he had with his ex wife has not yet been found and now the father has gone missing too. Could someone be trying to ensure he never finds the child? There are a ton of questions and it makes for a good follow along as Sam and Lena hunt for the answers.

Book Series In Order » Characters » A Writer’s Apprentice Mystery

Leave a Reply