Book Notification

Abby L. Vandiver Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Books & Biscuits Mystery Books

as Abby Collette
Body and Soul Food (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Soul of a Killer (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Ice Cream Parlor Mystery Books

as Abby Collette
A Deadly Inside Scoop (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Game of Cones (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Killer Sundae (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Logan Dickerson Cozy Mystery Books

Bed & Breakfast Bedlam (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Coastal Cottage Calamity (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Maya Mound Mayhem (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Food Fair Frenzy (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Garden Gazebo Gallivant (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
South Seas Shenanigans (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Mars Origin Books

In the Beginning (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Irrefutable Proof (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Incarnate (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Normal Junction Books

Publication Order of Tiny House Cozy Mystery Books

A Tiny Collierville Murder (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Merry Branson Murder (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Romaine Wilder Mystery Books

Secrets, Lies, & Crawfish Pies (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love, Hopes, & Marriage Tropes (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Potions, Tells, & Deadly Spells (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Baby, It's Cold Outside (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Skin (With: David Heska Wanbli Weiden) (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Atlantis: The Origin Mystery Books

by Steven Konkoly, Patrice Fitzgerald
Airborne (By: Patrice Fitzgerald) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The 12 Slays of Christmas(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The 12 Slays of Christmas Recipe Book(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mistletoe & Murder(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Faking of the President(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Midnight Hour(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Abby L. Vandiver is an American author best known for writing the Logan Dickerson Cozy Mystery series, the Tiny House Cozy Mystery series, and the Romaine Wilder Mystery series. She debuted as an author with her first book, In the Beginning that would become a part of the Mars Origin series of books. This was a series of novels that were science fiction in nature, but they focused more on the “what if?” alternative history than fast paced action or crazy plot twists. She enjoyed writing those, but later switched to writing cozy mysteries which have been a great success for her.

Abby actually began writing back in 1997, but it was something that she lost track of. That book was In the Beginning and it was later found by her daughter in the garage in 2012 who gave her the motivation to continue working on it. She finished writing it, did some edits, and goit it publish. The book was surprise hit for Abby and she considered the entire situation to be a strong learning experience. She took what she learned from that series and eventually learned more which she then applied to her mutliple cozy mystery series.

In addition to mystery and science fiction, Abby has also written some historical women’s fiction with her friend and author, Kathryn Dionne who wrote under the pen name of Kathryn Longino. She has has written a historical science-fiction book called Countdown to Atlantis that she says was inspired by A.G. Riddle’s book, The Atlantsi Gene.

Before really getting into her writing career, Abby earned her bachelor’s degree in Economics, a master’s in Public Administration, and a Juris Doctor. She worked as both a lawyer and a college professor in her career before settlig into her current life as a grandmother and author. She has lived in Cleveland, Ohio for her entire life.

In the Beginning is the first book that Abby ever wrote and the first book in the Mars Origin I series. The book features a fifty year old journal and 2,000 year old manuscripts hidden with the dead sea scrolls that offer answers to the Earth’s ancient mysteries.

The book sees a doctor named Amos Sabir in 1949 who is assigned to translate four manuscripts that were found in a cave in Qumran. Dr. Samuel Yeoman is the one who is supposed to share the information in these scrolls with the world, but neither of them are prepared to share what they find. They don’t care if they have to lie or even kill to protect what they find out, they want to keep this a secret. Flash forward to 1997 when Justin Dickerson, a biblical archaeologist, is struggling to find purpose in her life. When she is invited to the 50th Jubilee of the finding of the Dead Sea Scrolls, she jumps at the chance. She makes a chance discovery of one of the original translators manuscripts which sets her on a journey that she believes will unravel the foundation of mankind’s origins forever. She becomes obsessed with the idea that history has been purposefully destroyed and sets out to investigate. Her discoveries lead her to places she could never have imagined and she’s shocked to find out what happened in the beginning.

Abby made the move into cozy mysteries with the Logan Dickerson series. The first book in this series is called Bed & Breakfast Bedlam. The book introduces us to Miss Vivee, a ninety-plus-year-old Voodoo herbalist, and Logan Dickerson, and archaeologist. The two are a weird pair, but they make a great pair of sleuths. Logan is a woman who feels like she’ll always be in the shadow of her famous mother and is desperate to make a name of her own. She decides to take a step to do so by jumping the fence at a federally protected archaeological site. This ends up being a terrible as it puts her on the run from the FBI.

She ends up in a small town on the Georgia coast where she meets Miss Vivee. A resident of the town named Gemma Burke has been found dead and Miss Vivee drags Logan into her investigation of who did it. Miss Vivee is convinced that she can solve the murder before the local sheriff and gets Logan and her ex-sweetheart Mac involved in the search.

One of the more popular series by Abby is the Romaine Wilder Mystery series of books that started out with Secrets, Lies, & Crawfish Pies. The book introduces us to Romaine Wilder who is living the life of a big city medical examiner until she ends up downsized and evicted. She has no choice but to return to the small town of Roble in East Texas where she grew up. She’s forced to leave behind her life and the man she’s been dating to start over back home.

She comes home to her Auntie Zanne who is the proprietor of the Ball Funeral Home. Her aunt has long since traded her French Creole upbringing for Big Texas attitude, but she keeps some of her Louisiana roots close to her. Like when she cooks up a love potion. She’s hoping to get her niece to drink one, but before she’s able to the funeral home gets busy with dead bodies. It seems there is a murderer in the town and Auntie Zanne just can’t abide by that.

Romaine’s cousin is the newly elected Sheriff and she doesn’t want him to fail so she’ll team with her aunt to solve this murder case together. The book is a fun romp around East Texas where a bit of southern charm gets mixed in with the cozy mystery these two ladies are trying to solve. There are plenty of suspects and Aunt Zanne is not the kind of woman you want to get on the bad side of. A great start to the series.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Abby L. Vandiver

Leave a Reply