Nick Petrie Series

Abe Moss Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dread Void Books

Into the Dread Void (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Amid the Sinking Dark (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Beyond the Phantom Glow (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
On the Bitter Horizon (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Through the Witch Lights (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Across the Haunted Stars (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
From the Godless Abyss (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Until the Dreaded End (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Writhing (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Bathwater Blues (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
By the Light of His Lantern (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Little Emmett (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Under the Wicked Moon (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Gills (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Ghost Arrives (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Ruby Holloway Reads After Dark (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Our Mother in the Lake (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Wicked Was the Night (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Final Babysitter (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Abe Moss is an American author of paranormal, suspense, and horror books. He has been writing horror stories for as long as he can remember, thanks to the encouragement and inspiration from movies he watched when he was 5/6 years. Abe published his debut novel, The Writhing when he was only 18 years old.

Into the Dread Void is the first novel in a chilling and imaginative Dread Void series by Abe Moss which blends the absurdity of daily life with a startling cosmic revelation. Abe Moss introduces us to Nell Parrish, who has spent her entire life in the foster care system. Luckily, she gets placed with a young family with a young daughter, which seems to be a dream come true for Nell. Unfortunately, leaving the foster home means she will be leaving her best friend behind, but she does assure her that nothing will ever change and promises her friend regular visits. But her friend doesn’t think that will ever happen, and while she is happy for Nell, she is simultaneously sad and jealous.

Nell and her new family are moving to their cabin, and they will bring along C. J’s parents. C.J. is Nell’s new foster father, Kacy is her new foster mom, and Julie is their daughter. Nell is uneasy about the cabin visit and meeting CJ’s parents, and while she is warmly welcomed by the “grandma,” her “grandfather” is somehow standoffish. Nell is anxious to tell them she can’t swim, but this gets sorted on the first day when Julie informs her parents, who teach Nell how to swim.

However, things get twisted when a storm arrives, and Julie ventures outside to search for her phone without the knowledge that there’s a green light outside, which changes the personality of everyone outdoors. Apparently, a strange alien creature is killing and feeding off humans, and it will stop at nothing to feed and kill anyone who crosses its path. Nell discovers her special gift of calming people and can use this magic against the alien force, but there’s a problem because she has to touch the affected person for the magic to work. And at this moment, saving her new happy family and herself in the process is her biggest obstacle.

Fortunately for her, there is another force that, unlike the alien, doesn’t kill people. Meet a giant named Hux whose job is penetrating the dread void when the alien forces invade our world. He has silver hands; eyes, and his magic abilities work in allegiance with Nell.
The first in Dread Void series is an absolute page-turner. It’s a story that you can’t help but find yourself attached to everything about it, from the plot right to the main character Nell as she struggles with her life as a foster kid, hopes her new family is the right one, and then finding herself fighting to save them from an evil that lives beyond the light. The supernatural side of this book is less paranormal but more about scientifically explainable things which are still scary and dangerous. The author did a fantastic job creating well-rounded and likable characters, a plot that flows smoothly, and outstanding prose. The last final chapters are both horrific and heartwarming, giving the readers a glimpse into the events in future books.

Published in 2020, A Ghost Arrives is the story of Wallace Harper, a man with no ambitions. He lost his job, his girlfriend left him, and he was forced to live with his father. His sister, Rachel, has been caring for their father, while Wallace is of no help whatsoever. Rachel lives in her apartment, has a thriving job, and is in a relationship with an older man. Elder Mr. Harper comes across a young woman named Jessica while taking a walk, and the young woman becomes important and intrusive in the narrative.

Then strange things begin happening and disappearing in Harper’s childhood home. There are shadows, voices, and doors that open on their own, and Rachel and Wallace as well begin hearing and seeing that they can’t explain. Then Wallace vanishes, prompting Rachel to seek the help of Wallace’s ex-girlfriend and a friend who suggests a psychic.

A Ghost Arrives is an exciting book to read, particularly if you enjoy reading about events that go knocking in the middle of the night and narratives with creative plots. The story is somber and eerie, precisely what a ghost story should be, and will have the readers hooked from the first page to the last. The book unravels in the way that a mystery is intended to be, and you are left with so many questions… Is a ghost responsible for all the odd occurrences at Wallace Harper’s father’s property, or is there a more tangible cause? Where did the peculiar brush his sister discovered in the basement originate? What does the neighbor do with their father’s vehicle when he borrows it? And what is happening?

Under the Wicked Moon is a terrifying and creepy story about Maria, who one night watches her brother wander off from the motel where she and her family were staying. She follows him as he appears to be in a sort of trance, but soon Maria is knocked out by some force. Maria awakens in a cave and discovers she has been tied to a wall alongside a person she believes to be Michael but is someone else. The true terror begins when she witnesses three women performing some sort of ritual across the cavern, but she only cares about escaping and tracking Michael before things get even worse.

Under the Wicked Moon is an original and imaginative tale that doesn’t let up from the first page to the last. The author does not hesitate to subject his characters to some of the worst situations, and the writing style allows the readers to experience the same torment as the characters. It’s a classic story of monsters and witches filled with action and suspense, which adds much to the story.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Abe Moss

Leave a Reply