Book Notification

Adam Creed Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of D.I. Staffe Books

Suffer the Children (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Willing Flesh (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pain of Death (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in the Sun (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kill and Tell (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Adam Creed
Adam Creed, otherwise known as Gareth Creed, is a mystery writer born and raised in Salford. Creed graduated from Balliol College Oxford and briefly worked for Flemings. He later abandoned this career and turned his focus on writing. After studying writing at Sheffield Hallam University, Creed worked for Andalucia before going back to England to inspire writers in prison. Currently, Creed heads the writing department at John Moores University. He also leads the Free To Write project. When he is not writing, Creed enjoys spending his time with his wife and beautiful daughters.

Suffer the Children
Suffer the Children is the first book in the D.I. Staffe series. The book stars D. I. Will Wagstaffe, known to his friends as Staffe. A pedophile has just been murdered, and to ensure that this doesn’t happen to other offenders, police have rounded victims and their families and brought them for questioning. For Staffe, this is just another day at the office. However, as he delves deeper into this case, the boundaries between right and wrong begin to diminish. One after another, the victims’ families are investigated, and the Staffe can’t help but wonder the extent a parent would go to protect a child.
Away from work, Staffe’s life is just as complicated. There is that heartache Sylvie left in his heart when she left him. The dark shadow of Staffe’s mentor Jessop is also something he has to think about. Just when Staffe wants to take a break from work and enjoy his vacation, someone starts killing pedophiles, and now he has no choice but to cancel.

Staffe is tactful in his investigation, and it is easy for his talent to shine through as the story builds. He is either a workaholic or doesn’t have much faith in his colleagues because he mostly works alone. It is evident that Staffe is not one to always follow the rules, and this often rubs his superiors the wrong way. He also comes with many flaws and makes a few costly mistakes along the way. As he works to solve this murder, Staffe exposes the torture the pedophiles have been going through in London. So, who exactly is killing these people, and what makes them think that they can serve justice? Will Staffe be in a position to stop the killings?

This is an intelligent yet easy-to-read story. All characters, including the protagonist, are realistic, and the plotting is well-balanced. The storyline is also intriguing, involving, and everything but ordinary, which possibly explains why a T.V series was developed from this book. Do not be surprised if you cannot tell the good guys from the bad ones at the end of the story.

Suffer the Children is a dark tale about actions that will challenge your personal philosophy and morality. The story mostly concentrates on Staffe’s work, which makes it a perfect choice if you are a police procedural fan. While the story contains some uncomfortable topics such as torture and murder, you are going to be following Staffe through his investigation most of the time. All the characters here are well developed and relatable. The flow is great, and everything from the pacing to the setting is just perfect. At slightly over 300 pages, this is a perfect read for a lazy afternoon.

Willing Flesh
Willing Flesh is the second book in the D.I. Staffe series. Yet again, we get to see Staffe in action, but this time around, he is dealing with a completely different problem. Elena Danya is a blonde and charming prostitute who serve high-end customers. When her body is discovered in a posh city hotel, Staffe takes up the case. Staffe finds Danya intriguing, and this investigation almost turns into an obsession. As this is happening, another girl in the same trade is found dead, while another named Arabella goes missing. After dealing with the vigilante killings in the first book, Staffe is almost sure that this case will not be as easy as it seems.

In this case, the obvious place to start would be to trace Danya’s last client. But how does he do that without looking like he is going for the high and mighty? Staffe’s search leads him to a predator named Graham Blears. However, the seasoned detective is not convinced that Blears is the killer. He continues to search for the truth and soon finds himself entangled in a web involving a Russian oligarch, a Turkish playboy, and a city banker. As Staffe discovers linkages with higher British establishments, he starts to experience some resistance. This only fuels his determination to dig all the dirt on those involved in the current killings. What does Staffe discover about the dead girls and their customers? Is there any chance that Arabella will be found alive?
At some point, Staffe will be forced to break the rules, and this will lead to his dismissal at work. This doesn’t shock him one bit. Staffe doesn’t shy away from a challenge, and he is determined to ensure that the right thing is done this time around. Even when his life is obviously in danger, he continues to follow his gut. This story doesn’t come without some heartbreaks. Sylvie will also feature here, and this case brings nothing but misery to her and the other women in Staffe’s life. As the tension rises, details about Danya’s life will continue to emerge, and Staffe will have to deal with some of his personal demons.

Willing Flesh is a perfect blend of a murder and mystery story. The pace picks up right from the first page, and as the story builds, you will have a hard time putting this book down. The story is entertaining, and Staffe’s chaotic life will, at times, make you laugh. Creed is a talented storyteller, and his writing is quite intelligent. Get to meet Russian gangsters, dead young men, dodgy businessmen, and a prostitute with a kind heart. Staffe is obviously conflicted, yet he manages to stay interesting throughout the story. Join him on this intriguing ride and see whether it will be possible to stop the killers before more damage is done.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Adam Creed

Leave a Reply