Book Notification

Adrienne Chinn Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Three Fry Sisters Books

Love in a Time of War (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Paris Sister (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Shadow of War (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Lost Letter From Morocco (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The English Wife (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Daisies in the Breeze of Haiku and Tanka (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Touch Me Like The Rain of Haiku and Tanka (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Blade of Summer Grass of Haiku and Tanka (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Adrienne Chinn is a Canadian author of historical romance author, a teacher, speaker, interior designer, photographer, traveler, haiku poet, flea market hunter, and chocolate eater. She was born in an old paper-making rural town in Newfoundland and spent her childhood in Quebec and Montreal.

Besides writing books, Chinn is also an avid reader for as long as she can remember. She has also wanted to write books since childhood, and in 2011 she joined a novel writing class at Faber Academy in London, where she underwent a writing program by Richard Skinner. The writing classes paid off as she has since become a popular author, and for this reason, she encourages any aspiring author to do so. The Lost Letter is Chinn’s debut novel, published in 2020. The inspiration behind her writing is courtesy of her love for interior design and her passion for running inspirational retreats in the United Kingdom and other countries. Besides being the head of the design retreat in Marrakech, she also teaches short courses on interior design in London and Beijing. When not writing or teaching interior design, you will find her operating her interior design consultancy agency.

First published in 2020, The English Wife is the two of two women decades apart bonded by a secret to be discovered. Following is a story of discovery, betrayal, family, and love. Family secrets and ties engage the reader with a gradual unraveling of storyline and character growth that makes it impossible to put the book down. Sophie ultimately has a choice to make. Will she give in to the voice that could be urging her to take a closer look at what truly makes happy, or will she keep trying to live the life she spent her entire life so hard to achieve? Does she recognize herself sufficiently to make the best choice?

The book opens up during the victory day in Europe in 1945 as the victory bells ring across Europe, and we are introduced to Ellie Burgess, whose happiness is overshadowed by grief. Her husband Thomas is missing, but then a letter is sent to her explaining her husband is alive on the other side of the Atlantic Ocean, recovering from his injuries. Traveling to a far country to meet and live with a man she barely knows is the bravest thing she has ever done, but nothing prepares her for the brutal reality of her new home.

Fast forward to 2011, and we meet Sophie Parry on a plane headed to New York in what would become one of the most tragic days in the United States in the 21st century. As the world watches the tragic news in horror, Sophie’s flight is redirected to another small town in Newfoundland, where she is forced to stay with her long-forgotten Aunt Ellie. In this new town, she is forced to learn the reason that drew her family apart, and the secrets she discovers will change her life forever. The English Wife is a story of love, sacrifice, and determination, ideal for fans of Gill Paul and Lorna Cook.

It’s a family saga story that stretches from 1941 England, 1945-1965 Newfoundland and then shifts to 2001 when Sophie’s flight is redirected to Newfoundland when the twin towers come crashing down and then shifts to 2011. Through these time travels the reader can read a story spanning four generations through which decisions, fate, war, accidents, and secrets play an important part in the direction the family takes. Their mother is struck and murdered by a car when Ellie is eleven, and Dottie is just four. This alters their lives permanently. Dottie develops a dangerous obsession with Ellie, who grows to be her. Despite many obstacles brought on by the war, Ellie finally marries a soldier from Tippy’s Tickle, Newfoundland. Ellie moves to Newfoundland with her infant son Emmett after the end of the war to begin her new life. In her address book, Sophie has the Newfoundland-residing contact information of her aunt Ellie’s home. They never met or spoke; however, she doesn’t want to remain in a gymnasium filled with hundreds of students when she gets stuck in Gander. On the back of a motorcycle, she is transported to her aunt’s house. This accidental meeting alters not only the lives of Sophie and Ellie but also the lives of others nearby.

Published the same year as her debut novel, The English Wife is a fantastic story featuring likable characters you will love to watch change. The community of Tippy’s Tickle is a delight, the residents are quirky, but they are also happy and satisfied with their lives. The story is decently paced, well-written, and plotted. If you enjoy reading books that span through different periods, then you will enjoy reading Adrienne Chinn’s novel.

This is the tale of Addy, a Canadian woman who defeated cancer and her partner’s unfaithfulness throughout her chemotherapy treatments. Her half-sister Philippa presents her with a package containing objects from their recently deceased estranged father. In the envelope, she discovers Polaroid photographs of her father with an unidentified Moroccan woman as well as an incomplete letter. Addy, dissatisfied with her life and enthralled by the mysteries surrounding the letter, travels to the small Moroccan mountain community of Zitoune in an effort to learn more about her father. She is an experienced photographer and plans to compile the photographs she captures in Morocco into a travel book.

In the city, she encounters Omar, an Amazigh male approximately ten years her junior. He offers to be her tour guide to the Zitoune cascades and any other locations she desires to see. The two are instantly attracted to one another, and Omar shortly declares that their meeting is predestined. The book explores Addy’s self-discovery as she navigates Morocco’s exotic and intricate culture. She gets acquainted with Omar’s family members and acquaintances. She discovers how hard daily life can be for women in Moroccan culture, but she also begins to appreciate their surroundings’ natural beauty and simplicity.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Adrienne Chinn

Leave a Reply