Book Notification

Al Franken Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

I'm Good Enough, I'm Smart Enough, & Doggone It, People Like Me! (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rush Limbaugh is a Big Fat Idiot (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Oh, the Things I Know!: A Guide to Success, Or, Failing That, Happiness (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lies & the Lying Liars Who Tell Them: A Fair & Balanced Look at the Right (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Truth with Jokes (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Al Franken, Giant of the Senate (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Best Democracy Money Can Buy(2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Proud To Be Liberal(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Air America: The Playbook: What a Bunch of Left Wing Media Types have to Teach you about a World Gone Right(2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Al Franken

Al Franken has been a major figure in American culture for decades. Starting as a writer and performer for the popular Saturday Night Live comedy show in the 1970s, he later went on to become a prominent political figure. He ran for and won a seat in the United States Senate in 2008, representing Minnesota. During his time in office, he was known for his strong liberal stances and for speaking his mind.

In 2018, Franken resigned from the Senate. Since then, he has focused on activism and entertainment. In 2019 he announced his own show, The Al Franken Show, which airs on SiriusXM radio and covers topics such as global affairs, politics, and the 2020 presidential election.

Franken continues to be a popular figure among his fans. In 2021 he began a 15-city live tour, his first since stepping away from comedy during his time in the Senate. He remains a respected personality who has managed to remain in the public eye despite his retirement from politics.

Al Franken is not only a well-known comedian, politician, and media personality, but also a successful writer. With four #1 New York Times bestsellers and a collection of Emmy and Grammy awards to his name, Franken is a master of his craft. His works often take on a humorous approach, as seen in his book Rush Limbaugh is a Big Fat Idiot and Other Observations. In this book, Franken skewers the right-wing media and their tactics. He also reflects on his political career in his memoir Al Franken, Giant of the Senate.

Franken’s writing style often combines wit and satire with the intention of informing the public on important matters. His books are a reflection of his strong liberal beliefs, and he has become a champion of free speech and civil liberties.

As a writer, Franken does not shy away from tough topics and speaks on them with confidence. His works have been celebrated by critics and fans alike, and many of them have become cult classics. Franken continues to write and speak on important issues, proving that he is a man of many talents.

Early and Personal Life

Alan Stuart Franken was born in 1951 in New York City, and grew up in the Minneapolis area with an older brother and a close-knit family. His father ran a quilting factory, and his mother was a real estate agent. His grandparents had immigrated from Germany and Russia, and Franken was raised in a Reform Jewish home.

In high school, Franken and his long-time friend and writing partner Tom Davis became well-known for their comedy. Franken went on to attend Harvard College, graduating cum laude in 1973 with a Bachelor of Arts in political science. During this time, he developed an affinity for the comedy of Dick Gregory and Lenny Bruce, who he admired for their ability to make people laugh while discussing hypocrisy and corruption.

Franken and Davis went on to make their mark on the entertainment industry, often with their trademark political satire. They eventually ended up in Los Angeles, where they struggled to get ahead in showbusiness. However, this was a stepping stone for Franken as he went on to become a well-known television host, actor, author, and political commentator. He has since become known for his wit, intelligence, and commitment to justice.

Writing Career

In 1996, Al Franken wrote and published his first book entitled ‘Rush Limbaugh Is a Big Fat Idiot and Other Observations’ through Delacorte Press. It was followed by ‘Why Not Me?’ three years later. In 2003, Franken released the books ‘Oh, the Things I Know!’ and ‘Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them’ through Plume Books and Dutton Books respectively. Two years later, he released ‘The Truth (With Jokes)’ also through Dutton Books. Following this, Franken’s wrote ‘Al Franken, Giant of the Senate’ in 2017 through Grand Central Publishing.

Throughout his writing career, Franken has written satirical books on politics and social issues. His works have been widely successful and have earned him several awards. His books have also translated into his TV shows, movies, and other media. Franken has become known as a successful writer and has become an influential figure in American politics.

Al Franken, Giant of the Senate

In 2017 on the 30th of May, Al Franken released his stand-alone non-fiction political memoir titled ‘Al Franken, Giant of the Senate.’ The book was published by Twelve on May 30, 2017. It was an eagerly anticipated release and has since gone on to become a bestseller and a celebrated classic in the genre.

Al Franken’s entertaining journey from Saturday Night Live to the United States Senate is documented in his memoir. He recounts his improbable senate campaign with an even more unlikely ending: the closest outcome in history and an eight-month recount saga. The book dives deep into the nation’s polarized, depressing, and occasionally inspiring political culture. Franken brings readers along his campaign trail, giving an inside look at the halls of Congress and some of the most dramatic and/or humorous moments of his career in politics.

Franken invites readers to decide if he has become a true Giant of the Senate.

Rush Limbaugh is a Big Fat Idiot

In 1996, the stand-alone non-fiction political collection of essays and humor ‘Rush Limbaugh is a Big Fat Idiot’ was published by Penguin on January 1st. This collection compiled the works of Al Franken, bringing together his many ideas and perspectives into one comprehensive volume. It quickly gained attention and a large following of readers, who praised its comedic and thought-provoking content.

Franken cleverly pointed out the contradiction between the ‘family values’ preached by many conservatives, and their own personal lives. He also highlights the fact that many of these conservatives seem to avoid military service. Franken’s book also includes an entertaining chapter in which he imagines a Vietnam war patrol made up of prominent conservative chicken-hawks. By the end of the book, it’s clear that Franken possesses the wit and insight to prove that his talent was not on loan.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Al Franken

Leave a Reply