Book Notification

Al Roker Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Billy Blessing Books

with Dick Lochte
The Morning Show Murders (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Midnight Show Murders (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Talk Show Murders (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on Demand (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Don't Make Me Stop This Car! (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Al Roker's Big Bad Book of Barbecue (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Al Roker's Hassle-Free Holiday Cookbook (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Big Shoes (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Never Goin' Back (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Storm of the Century (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Been There, Done That (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Al Roker's Extreme Weather (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ruthless Tide (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
You Look So Much Better in Person (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Al Roker’s Recipes to Live By (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Made With Love: The Meals On Wheels Family Cookbook(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Albert Lincoln Roker Jr. or Al Roker is one of the famous television presenter, actor, author, and weather forecaster from America. He is particularly popular as a weather anchor for NBC’s Today. Author Roker has even hosted a number of morning shows for the channel. As a novelist, he began his career by writing a few murder mysteries with author Dick Lochte in the year 2009. The series featured a main character named Billy Blessing, whom Roker has depicted as a celebrity chef who turns himself into an amateur detective. The 2nd novel in this series went on to be nominated for the Nero Award in the year 2011. In the year 2014, author Roker tried to beat the previous record for doing the live weather forecasting. Eventually, he created a Guinness World Record by reporting continuously for a period of 34 hours. Author Roker was born on August 20, 1954, in Queens, New York, The United States. His father, Albert Lincoln Roker Sr., was of a Bahamian descent and was a bus driver by profession, while his mother, Isabel, was of Jamaican descent and a housewife. Initially, author Roker wanted to become a cartoonist. His mother had a Catholic faith and she raised Roker also with the same faith. Author Roker completed his school education from the Xavier High School located in Manhattan. During his school life, author Roker worked on a few projects by being one of the members of the Cartooning and Illustration Club of his school. Later, he got himself enrolled in the New York State University at Oswego and graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in the subject of communication in the year 1976.

According to the Us Weekly magazine of the 2011 issue, author Roker is related to the late actor Roxie Roker as a first cousin. Roxie was particularly popular for her role of Helen Willis on the famous sitcom titled The Jessersons. Before being recognized on the national platform, author Roker used to work as a weather forecast anchor for a CBS affiliate, while he was still studying in college. After finishing his studies, he moved to Washington, D.C., and joined the WTTG as a weather forecaster. He worked there for a period of two years. Author Roker joined the NBC in the year 1978 and since then he has been associated with a number of TV shows for the channel. Apart from that, he has also done the forecasting for a few radio stations such as the smooth jazz station in New York as well as Cleveland. In the year 2015, author Roker filed a complaint for discrimination when a taxi driver rejected to pick him and his son and instead took in a white man standing across the block. He also made a tweet about this incidence and it immediately caught the attention of the nation. Subsequently, the driver was made to pay a fine of $500. Author Roker was married to Alice Bell for a period of ten years between 1984 and 1994. In the year 1995, he married for the second time to a fellow journalist named Deborah Roberts. She has worked for both NBC and ABC. Deborah met Roker at NBC, when she first joined there to work as a reporter in the year 1990. In all, Roker has 3 children, a son named Nicholas Albert and two daughters named Courtney and Leila. Apart from all his achievements, author Roker feels proud to be a member of the Phi Beta Sigma association. He has undergone a few surgeries due a number of health problems. Author Roker is involved in several charity works as well. He supports the House Charities of Ronald McDonald and is an active member of one of their charity boards.

The murder mystery series written by author Al Roker is known as ‘Billy Blessing’. It consists of a total of 3 books which were released between the years 2009 and 2011. The first book of this series was published under the title ‘The Morning Show Murders’. It was released by the Delacorte Press in the year 2009. The plot shows Billy Blessing in the lead role, who is depicted as a morning show host and a restaurant owner. He has a charming smile that helps him survive any situation in the high stake competition of morning shows. But soon, things begin to take a dangerous turn due to which his career is jeopardized. Billy learns that his co-host, Gin McCauley, has undergone some unhealthy contract negotiations and a Mossad agent is about to say everything about it on air. Later, the head of the network, Gerry Gallaher, is found murdered in his apartment. The blame comes on Billy Blessing’s head. When the forensic report comes, it is learned that the poison used to kill Gerry was mixed in a dish that came from the restaurant of Billy. The investigations reveal that Gerry had a number of relationships with women and that he was involved in a dirty international secret when he visited Afghanistan on an assignment as a TV executive. When one more murder takes place in a similar way, Billy realizes that someone is trying to frame him badly. All of a sudden, the most important thing of his life becomes saving himself from a deadly assassin and preventing another murder from becoming the breaking news.

The 2nd book in the Billy Blessing series written by author Al Roker was released under the title ‘The Midnight Show Murders’. In this book, Billy is once again shown being involved in a murder case on a television show. It seems that he never liked to go to the West Coast for hosting a TV show. But, when his bosses ask him desperately, he reluctantly agrees to go there in order play a co-host in a late night show. On his previous trip to Los Angeles around 20 years ago, he had made a popular chef named Roger Charbonnet get arrested for the murder of his ex-girlfriend. But, Roger freed himself and is now waiting desperately for the arrival of Billy Blessing in order to take vengeance. Soon, an explosion takes play during the taping of the TV show in which Billy was co-hosting. Several people get killed and the rating of the show also goes down. The extent of the explosion makes Billy believe that the attack was intended for him. He was expecting only Roger Charbonnet to be involved in it, but when infidelity, politics, and high finance are found to have been related to the case somehow Billy realizes that there is much more in it than he had imagined. A beautiful female television producer goes on to convince Billy Blessing that he should try to catch the culprit on live TV. Accordingly, a plan is and the settings are done on a cookery show to attract the killer. The cops also help Billy to execute the plan and catch the killer. In the end, the novel turns out to be filled with a lot of intrigue, suspense, and a few other trademark elements of author Roker that helped it to become extremely successful.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Al Roker

Leave a Reply