Book Notification

Alan Black Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Metal Boxes Books

Publication Order of Ozark Mountain Books

with Bernice Knight
The Friendship Stones (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Granite Heart (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Heaviest Rock (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Inconvenient Pebble (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Jasper's Courage (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The King's Rock (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Steel Walls and Dirt Drops (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chewing Rocks (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chasing Harpo (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Titanium Texicans (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Empty Space (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Larry Goes To Space (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Quest for the White Wind (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

How to Start, Write, and Finish Your First Novel (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Alan Black

A writer of science-fiction, the American author Alan Black is well-known for writing engaging and thrilling novels. Taking the reader on a journey ostensibly, he really manages to provide and imaginative and innovative take on the genre. Opening up entire universes, his work is widely regarded for the sheer scope and scale, as he’s hugely ambitious in in his perspective and approach. On top of all that he also manages to provide a certain level of insight that really is quite refreshing, giving his work a real sense of vitality.

He’s also known for his humor and wit, writing novels that are massively entertaining, ensuring that there are plenty of laughs to be had. Topping this off with lots of action too, his work really does move along at an exciting pace, carrying the reader along with it. Setting himself apart from other writers within his field, he definitely knows how to grab the attention of the reader and not let go. Finding his own creative approach to the genre, he’s easily one of the most accessible authors currently working within his field.

Offering plenty of memorable characters as well, his many protagonists are sure to leave a lasting impression upon the audience. Staying with the reader long after they’ve put the book down, each story of his has fully three-dimensional personalities inhabiting them. Resonating with the reader on a personal level, they feel as if they’re actually alive, ensuring the reader returns time and time again. There’s a lot more to follow in the future as well, with plenty more books planned for release upon the horizon in the near future.

Early and Personal Life

Born in Lyons, in central Kansas before growing up in Gladstone, Missouri, he would invest a great deal of time into reading and writing from early on. Developing this passion of his throughout much of his childhood, on into his adult life, he would soon find his own personal voice and style. Giving his work its own distinctive tone and manner, he would work to start taking it in new and exciting directions.

Attending Oak Park Senior High School, he would graduate before going on to study at Longview Community College, earning himself a liberal arts degree. Later he would serve in the US Air Force after receiving his orders, operating in California, Texas, Maryland, and Japan, before marrying his wife during the seventies, before moving to Independence, Missouri. Currently living with his wife in Arizona to this day, he continues to write regularly, with a lot more novels and stories to come yet.

Writing Career

Finding an appreciation for writing during the second grade, he would eventually come to write his first novel titled ‘Eye on the Prize.’ Starting it in 1997, he would later come to publish it finally in 2009, and it would be a stand-alone historical novel that was widely regarded. Following this he would go on to write other books, such as ‘The Friendship Stones’ in 2013, which he’d write alongside Bernice Knight.

This book would be the first in his ‘Ozark Mountain’ series, and another other series he’d also go on to write was titled ‘Metal Boxes.’ He would also write some stand-alone science-fiction novels, such as ‘Chewing Rocks’ in 2013, along with a novella in 2014 called ‘A Cold Winter.’ Over the years he’s written countless novels, maintaining a presence both offline as well as on, as his worldwide readership continues to grow.

Chewing Rocks

This book would be a stand-alone science-fiction novel set deep in space, with a light-hearted entertaining story. Initially arriving on the 21st of December in 2009, this would come out through the ‘CreateSpace’ publishing imprint on Kindle platform. It’s instantly accessible, making it more than easy to pick up, yet just as difficult to put down, with its simple to follow straightforward narrative.

Mining rocks in space is all Chastity Snowden Whyte wants to do, as she works the metal and ice across the asteroid belt between Jupiter and Mars. Comfortably living alone she doesn’t want any hassle, as it’s all she’s ever done, and that’s when, aboard her ship the Sedona, she becomes a tutor for some Earth newcomers. All of this leads to her becoming entangled in politics, as corporate conspiracies, kidnapping, and piracy completely surrounds her. Where will her journey across space take her next, can she disentangle herself from this particular web, and what will happen after she’s done chewing rocks?

As a quick and easy space adventure, this is a fun story with a lot to offer long-term fans of science-fiction and newcomers alike. It’s massively entertaining, while also engaging in both its sense of scale and scope, building an entire world through its space travel. Keeping the story grounded too, the characters are fully believable, making it easier for the reader to invest themselves in what’s going on.

Rusty Hinges

Once again published through the ‘CreateSpace’ publishing outlet, this would arrive on the 28th of April in 2016. Marking the third book in the ‘Metal Boxes’ series of science-fiction, it would continue the space-opera with another adventure. The books themselves are best read in order so as to gain the most from them, as there are ongoing arcs and narratives in it.

Heading into space to do battle once again, Perry Stone is on active Navy duty once more, as he finds himself aboard his ship hurtling through the stars. Accompanied by his family of Drasos, he’s also got allies in the form of what seem to be little piglets, being enormously intelligent. Then there’s his girlfriend, as the time and distance between them begins to grow, as he wonders what may become of her. Will he manage to find his way to her, can he survive against all odds, and what will become of his otherwise rusty hinges?

Featuring an expert sense of world-building, this book definitely works on a number of different levels throughout. The story itself is well told and easy to follow, making for an engaging and straightforward narrative that’s a lot of fun. Fans of the series definitely wont be disappointed, as it delivers, making the most of its compelling premise every single step of the way.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Alan Black

One Response to “Alan Black”

  1. Peter: 1 year ago

    When and what are your next books.
    I’ve enjoyed all of your books so far.


Leave a Reply