Nick Petrie Series

Alan Brennert Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Hawaii Books

Moloka'i (2003)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Daughter of Moloka'i (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

City of Masques (1978)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Kindred Spirits (1984)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Time and Chance (1990)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Batman: Holy Terror (1991)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Honolulu (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Palisades Park (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Her Pilgrim Soul (1990)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Hawaii Novels (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Year's Best Science Fiction: Seventh Annual Collection(1990)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Best New Horror 3(1992)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
100 Ghastly Little Ghost Stories(1993)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Giant Book of Best New Horror(1993)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
100 Vicious Little Vampire Stories(1995)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Fear the Fever(1996)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Mammoth Book of Best New Horror 7(1996)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Year's Best Science Fiction: Fifteenth Annual Collection(1998)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Twilight Zone: 19 Original Stories on the 50th Anniversary(2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hey Kids, Comics!: True-Life Tales From The Spinner Rack(2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Alan Brennert is an American fiction author. The 1954 born author is also a screenwriter and television producer. His career as a screenwriter starts way back in 1978 where he did several scripts for the renowned Wonder Woman Series. He has worked as an editor and also written several scripts for The Buck Roger’s Series for the NBC.

Alan was given the Emmy award in 1991 for producing and writing The L.A. Law. More awards followed as he sank deep into writing which among them include The Nebula Award for the best short story back in 1991. His majors in writing include novels, comic books, and Marvel comics.


Moloka’i is the first book in The Molokai Series. Alan brings to the reader’s attention, the life of a girl who has a dream but derailed by circumstances but never gives up on her quest. The story takes you through turns and events that are sometimes discouraging, emotional but also encouraging and funny at times and this is what makes the life of Rachael Kalama.

Rachael Kalama is that little girl, seven-year-old, who has a strong spirit and always yearning for a bright and adventurous future. Her father is a merchant and often goes out into other islands to trade making her want to be more like him and quench her explorative quest. However, all her dreams seem to crash when she is deported into a guaranteed island after a rose-colored mark is sported on her skin. The society fears that she could cause a disaster with the illness and they move her to an isolated island.

Her resilient spirit does not stop her from working towards her dream, and in fact, it fuels her towards this dream. Being deported to Molokai island was supposed to bring her life to an end, but instead, it creates a new and interesting one for Rachael. It is, however, a difficult life for her as leprosy causes her the loss of so much from her life including friends, family and even her home. She fights on to live, and this is where her resilient and optimistic spirit becomes useful helping in the overcoming of different burdens that come along.

The story is somehow paining looking into the plight of a person suffering and who is set aside from her family and friends, sent to die in a distant land. The time the story is set was a hard one with no effective medicine to counter such a plague and the victims were left to die alone on such an island. Rachael from an early age learns that despite being separated from the things that mattered most in life, there is a lot more that is simple and can still offer joy. She is also pointed out as that person who values others, and this is seen as she tries to rescue others from sinking into the abyss of regret, shame, and despair. The character is one who values others more than she even values herself and her problems.

Alan makes the reader-tag at their heartstrings seeing the struggles that other people go through almost daily and still manage to smile and continue with the journey of life. Additionally, it is a book that will make you appreciate the presence of medicine and the highly effective medicine present today not forgetting the value of family and friends. There are very many lessons that the author develops in the story all along teaching them in the form of happenings that occur Rachael in her life and her environment.
Daughter of Molokai

Daughter of Molokai is the second novel in the Molokai Series. Alan links the life of Rachel to Ruth, who is her daughter brought up away from her by Japanese parents in California.

The story takes a journey starting with the separation of truth from her mother, Rachael, at birth. She is a girl who seems to have taken over the spirit of her mother. She is kind, independent and gracious which creates a reflection of her mother. She stands for justice and is seen defending others, as she has become an outspoken lady in the society which is also passed on to her daughters. She is married to a loving, hardworking and great man together with whom they have adorable children. Her adopted family is one that is described as always together no matter what comes about helping each other through the good and bad times. But under this caring, independent and influential woman is anger and bitterness against her mother whom she cannot figure out why she abandoned her when she was young.

A mother’s character is passed on to her daughter and daughters to create a resilient and ever strong woman in Ruth. Ruth is unaware of the reason as to why her mother gave her up for adoption until she learns the bitter truth from her during their reunion. The institution of a family, culture and personal characters are incredibly brought out in this book. Also, the daughter of Moloka’i shows how circumstances can drive people to chase the good things for others in life and not only for them creating voices for justice in society. The author details considerably on the Hawaiian and Japanese culture as he discusses the lives of the characters. The issue of forgiveness is also brought out in the book describing the two sides of hurt and love for the people that had been previously held on the isolation island. Allen shows that love has a huge impact when it comes to healing past wounds as seen in the life of Ruth.
Alan Brennert is a remarkable author in developing events themed to the present human society. The book has a lot to offer to the reader making it one that you can never regret reading. Alan takes you through diversity and history through the story driving a lot home which is a great path to understand the past and the consequences of decisions no matter how small or big they are to a society.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Alan Brennert

Leave a Reply