Nick Petrie Series

Alan LeMay Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Old Father Of Waters (1928)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Thunder In The Dust (1936)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Winter Range (1938)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Useless Cowboy (1944)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hell For Breakfast (1947)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Smoky Years (1948)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Cattle Kingdom (1948)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Wild Justice (1948)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Gunsight Trail (1949)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Searchers (1954)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Painted Ponies (1956)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Unforgiven (1957)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Unforgiven (1957)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
By Dim And Flaring Lamps (1962)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Bold West, Volume 34 (With: Frank Bonham,Les Savage Jr.) (1998)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Bold West, Volume 24 (With: T.T. Flynn,Will C. Brown) (2000)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Pelican Coast (2004)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Bold West, Volume 18 (With: Peter Dawson,Steve Frazee) (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Chapbooks

The Wolf Hunter (1999)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Collections

Spanish Crossing (1998)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Bells Of San Juan (2001)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
West of Nowhere (2002)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Tonopah Range (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Alan LeMay was a published American screenplay writer, novelist, and short story author.

Alan was born on June 3, 1899 in Indianapolis, Indiana. His parents were Maude Brown and John LeMay. His father taught public school. Daniel L. Brown Sr., his maternal grandfather, as well as Daniel L. Brown Jr., his uncle, both worked as lawyers.

Alan grew up living with his uncle and his parents and the home of his grandparents in Indianapolis. His family moved along with Elizabeth, his sister, when he was just a teenager. In the 1910s they relocated to Aurora, Illinois.

He would go on to study at Stetson University in 1916 in DeLand, Florida. Two years later, Alan registered for the draft for World War I in Aurora. He enlisted and became a Second Lieutenant for the United States Army.

Alan would then choose to enroll in the University of Chicago. He successfully graduated in 1922 holding a degree, a Bachelor’s of Philosophy. He then chose to join the National Guard in Illinois. In 1923 he would receive a promotion and was named a First Lieutenant Field Artillery.

LeMay would publish his debut fictional novel in 1927, titled Painted Ponies. The story involved the Cheyenne as well as horse soldiers for the United States Cavalry. He would go on to follow that book up with his second in 1928, Old Father of Waters. The author would write several more novels that were well received by his readers.

Two of his most popular Western novels include The Searchers and The Unforgiven, which came out in 1954 and 1957 respectively. They would both be adapted into feature major motion pictures. The Searchers would be released in 1956. Directed by John Ford, it starred John Wayne as well as Jeffrey Hunter. The Unforgiven movie would be released in 1960. It was directed by John Huston and starred Audrey Hepburn and Burt Lancaster.

The author also composed or co-wrote a a number of screenplays for movies that went into production. He wrote the original screenplay for the 1940 movie North West Mounted Police, directed by famous director Cecil B. DeMille and starring Paulette Goddard and Gary Cooper. He also wrote Reap the Wild Wind (a 1942 movie), The Story of Dr. Wassell, the source novel for Along Came Jones, Blackbeard the Pirate, and many more. He directed and wrote the movie High Lonesome in 1950, which starred Chill Wills and John Barrymore. He wrote and produced the 1951 movie Quebec that also had John Barrymore as the star.

Alan passed away on April 27, 1964.

Painted Ponies is the first fictional novel to come out from Alan LeMay. When main character Ben Morgan hears words drawled at him in the middle of a quiet night, he realizes that he’s not alone.

In fact, the men that have been pursuing him are probably getting closer than ever to catching him. Ben’s desperate to get out of there and doesn’t want to get trapped. So while they’re shooting at him, he spurs his horse through the ranks of the men in an attempt to get away. But will it work?

The trouble first started when Ben was involved in an incident of self defense. That’s when he killed a man named Lew Cade. Since then, Lew’s brother has been really mad at him. Eager for revenge, he decided to get a band of vigilantes to go after him, and they won’t stop until they see his blood.

Ben’s been doing his best to try and make it through these difficult months. He’s been chased for miles and doing what he can to get away. But now it appears that it’s not going to end without a showdown. As he comes back to Roaring River, will he find redemption? Or death by the end of a shotgun? Read this compelling Western classic to find out!

Old Father of Waters is the second novel published from author Alan LeMay. In this story, main character Captain Arnold Hudson is used to living a tough life in 1858 Mississippi.

He makes his living among other men there, everyone from merchants to planters and river men. He’s facing all types of problems, from natural disasters like floods and fires to duels. Captain Arnold finds out that a race is being held between two steamers that have a rivalry. With a large prize going to the winner, the captain promises himself that he will be the winner.

Can he win the race? Or will he be beaten? Find out by reading Old Father of Waters.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Alan LeMay

Leave a Reply