Book Notification

Alan Lewrie Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Alan Lewrie Books

The King's Coat (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
The French Admiral (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
The King's Commission (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
The King's Privateer (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Gun Ketch (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
H.M.S. Cockerel (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
A King's Commander (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jester's Fortune (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
King's Captain (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sea of Grey (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Havoc's Sword (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Captain's Vengeance (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
A King's Trade (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Troubled Waters (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Baltic Gambit (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
King, Ship, and Sword (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Invasion Year (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reefs and Shoals (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hostile Shores (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The King's Marauder (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kings and Emperors (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Hard, Cruel Shore (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Fine Retribution (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Onshore Storm (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Much Ado about Lewrie (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Alan Lewrie Short Stories Books

Lewrie and the Hogsheads (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Alan Lewrie series is a series of historical fiction novels that are written by the well known American author named Dewey Lambdin. It is comprised of 21 books in total, which were published between 198 and 2015. Author Dewey has described the naval adventures of the central character named Alan Lewrie in this series. The series is often compared with the popular novels written by Patrick O’Brian and C.S. Foster because of the similarities in the description of the historical fiction and the naval adventures. In the initial part of the series, Alan Lewrie is described as beginning his naval career as a young midshipman. As the series progresses, his rank also rises. As the years pass, Alan gets involved in some of the biggest naval battles during the time of the American Revolution. He is also shown as serving at the time of the Napoleonic Wars. Author Dewey has described the character of Alan Lewrie in the tradition of Aubrey, Maturin, and Hornblower. Alan’s exploits are depicted as echoing with the sounds of the ports crowded with naval men, as well as the onset of the naval warfare. He is both an officer as well as a rogue, which ultimately makes him the man of true adventure. Author Dewey began writing the Alan Lewrie series in the year 1989 and published its first naval adventure novel in the same year. Dewey has said that he has not yet finished writing the series as he is working on the new story, which is going to be published very soon.

The character of Alan serves as the departure from other popular heroes of the naval adventure genre. On one hand, the likes of Hornblower, Ramage, and Bolitho are well known as traditional heroes in their mode of upbringing and attitudes, and on the other hand, Alan is shown as having a slightly more modern approach. He is more educated than the others and is a fun-loving man from London, who likes to spend his time drinking, gambling, as well as pursuing women. The series shows Alan dealing with his friends, enemies, mentors, villains, a couple of gods, as he rises through the ranks in the Royal Navy. Later, he goes on to become the captain of his ship and continues to sail through many other adventures. As described in many historical fiction books, Alan’s adventures are also set several major events of his time. He participates in a few major battles on land and in the sea during the Napoleonic and American Revolution eras. At a few places in the series, author Dewey has shown Alan reaching ahead of his time through his adventures. Dewey has stated that Alan was born in the year 1763 at St. Martin, London. He is the bastard son of a captain of the 4th Foot Regiment named Sir Hugo Willoughby and Elisabeth Lewrie.

Alan’s mother was abandoned by Sir Hugo, who dies at the time of Alan’s birth. As a result, Alan gets placed in a parish. When he becomes a toddler, he gets employed to work as a flax-pounder and oakum picker at the Royal Dockyards. Then, Alan is claimed by Sir Hugo and taken to London, where he receives the best education. Alan turns out to be a bright student, but lacked the sense of discipline. Due to this, he gets expelled from the Harrow School in the year 1779 as he demolishes faculty stables and a coach house while playing a prank. After this, he did not join any other school and this marked the end point of the formal education of Alan. In the year 1780, he is involuntarily sent to join HMS Ariadne as a midshipman. The next year, Alan gets transferred to HMS Desperate on which he participates in his first battle at the sea. After successfully evacuating the Loyalist families in that battle, Alan gets promoted to the rank of a lieutenant. Between the years 1784 and 1786, he serves in a clandestine operation in the East Indies for suppressing the pirates that attack the ships of the Britishers. After returning back from the successful mission, Alan gets rewarded for his brave actions. Subsequently, he gets the command of a ship. Later, he also gets married. In the later parts of the adventure, author Dewey has depicted that Alan goes on to become the commander of one of the warships.

An early book released in the series is titled as ‘The Gun Ketch’. This book was published by McBooks Press. In this book, author Dewey has described the time of the 1786 when Alan Lewrie gets his own ship, which is called as Alacrity. This ship is small but very deadly. Alan sails through the Caribbean in this ship and works to protect the ships of the British merchants from the deadly pirates in the Caribbean waters. However, Alan still remains the old rakeshell. As the scandals begin to rise in the Bahamas, young Alan indulges in the propriety matter and undergoes several planned conquests in the sea as well as on land. Finally, he sails off to fight in a battle against the boldest Caribbean pirate named Calico Jack Finney.

Another popular book written in the Alan Lewrie series by author Dewey is titled as ‘A King’s Commander’. It was also released by the McBooks publication in the year 1997. The starting sequence in this book shows that Alan goes on to become the commander of the HMS Jester. This ship is specially made with a sloop of 18 guns to fight against the pirates. Upon receiving astonishing orders, Alan sails in the Corsica waters. He is asked to take on his arch enemy, who is the French commander named Guillaume Choundas. Alan is supported by Horatio Nelson in the battle, who serves as his squadron commander as well as a luscious courtesan. Nelson carries out the job of spying for the French. Now, Alan is required to put a stop to all the activities of his enemies in Corscia, he wants to live up the reputation of his success. Also, he has to deal with the enemies who pose as friends and give out important information to the French commander. The hopes of the British Royal lie with Alan Lewrie and he seems to be more than determined to keep it up. The novel proved to be a great success for author Dewey similar to all the other books in the series. This not only helped him to increase his popularity as a writer of naval adventure and historical fiction novels, but also motivated him to continue writing many more interesting novels in the future. The critics appreciated his efforts in writing down the book based on his personal experiences.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Alan Lewrie

Leave a Reply