Book Notification

Alan McDermott Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Tom Gray Books

Gray Justice (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gray Resurrection (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gray Redemption (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gray Retribution (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gray Vengeance (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gray Salvation (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gray Genesis (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Andrew Harvey Books

Publication Order of Eva Driscoll Books

Run and Hide (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Seek and Destroy (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fight to Survive (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
When Death Strikes (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Empires Will Fall (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ocean of Wrath (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Motive (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fifteen Times a Killer (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sokolov Agenda (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Eight The Hard Way(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Capital Crimes(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Alan McDermott is one of the highly successful novelists from The United Kingdom who has written a several successful books based on the mystery, literature & fiction, and thriller genres. Apart from being an author, he is also a popular software developer. In fact, author Alan began his career as a software developer and then went on to become a writer of mystery novels. He is happily married and lives in the south of England, along with his loving wife and beautiful twin daughters. Author Alan says that he wanted to become a novelist ever since the early 1990s, but his primary work commitments did not let that happen at that time. Also, some of his earlier novels were rejected by the publishing companies. As a result, author Alan had to wait for some time before he was able to get his first book published. At one point of time he had stopped chasing his dream of becoming a writer because of the continuous rejections. Finally, author Alan went on to write an interesting novel, that the publishers could not reject, when his twin daughters asked him to tell them a story before going to bed on one night. Alan was already exhausted to repeat the stories from their books, so he decided to make a story on his own. Eventually, author Alan described his daughters the story of a magical creature named The Jambalian. When his daughters kept insisting him for continuing with the story for several successive nights, Alan decided to write a few sequences of the magical story so that he could get some relief and his wife could read them out to their twin daughters. So, as author Alan sat down to pen on paper, his old desire of becoming a novelist returned once again. Eventually, author Alan went on to dig out one of his previously written short stories and updated it with new additions and several other changes. When he showed it to a colleague, who was an aspiring novelist herself, she was so much impressed by it that she asked him to get it to a publisher.

Author Alan found Smashwords and uploaded a few of his short stories for the readers to be able to read them free of cost. This was the only way he could get the much required attention. Any hope for remuneration was way far at that time. In the meantime, author Alan completed a total of 3 stories based on the magical jambalian creature. At this time, Alan’s heart very much wanted to try and write a full-length novel based on the character, but he was afraid of rejection. It was at the time of watching Road Wars on television that author Alan saw how lightly the career criminals were dealt with by the courts in England. In one of the episodes of the TV show, author Alan saw that after a half an hour chase in a stolen car through the busy traffic, the thief was caught and handed a fine of 250 pounds with a driving ban. Even though it was the 45th crime that the thief had committed, he was allowed to go with a small punishment. Author Alan thought of this incident as very heartbreaking and developed an idea about a more justified system. He added this idea to his future stories and eventually, the Gray Justice series was developed. Previously, author Alan used to write the stories in this series only in his spare time and had no intention of developing it into a multiple book series. But, after the development of the idea based on the television show and the initial success from his earlier stories that he uploaded for free, author Alan went on to develop more intriguing stories in the form of novels. The series opened to a great response from the critics as well as the readers and it helped author Alan to make a name for himself as an established author and focus on writing more books in the series.

The Tom Gray series written by author Alan McDermott is comprised of a total of 6 books which were released between the years 2011 and 2016. The debut novel of this series is titled as ‘Gray Justice’. It was published in the year 2011 by the Thomas and Mercer company. At the start of the book, Tom Gray is depicted as an ex-soldier who loses his beloved wife and child at the hands of a career criminal. After this, he begins to think that life cannot get any worse than this. However, when he comes to know that the killer has been allowed to go after serving some time on remand, if realizes that something is fundamentally incorrect with the judicial system in the country. Later, Tom Gray takes the help of some of friends from the army and abducts 5 repeat offenders. He displays them and their crimes to the public and asks for their vote to decide their fate. Tom asks the people, whether the criminals should be allowed to go after which they will go on to commit more crimes or they have seen enough of the ill justice system of Britain. The website developed by Tom Gray for punishing the career criminals gets the attention of audiences from all over the world. His actions become so much effective that the authorities are not able to do anything even after knowing where he is. Later, the close friends and relatives of Tom realize that he is going on a wrong path and they try to persuade him to stop taking justice into his own hands. In the end, the book shows an intriguing story of revenge with a rollercoaster ride that the readers are not able to forget.

The second book of the Tom Gray series was published under the title ‘Gray Resurrection’. It was released by the Smashwords in the year 2012. The story depicted in this book revolves around an ex-army soldier named Sam Grant. After receiving serious injuries at war around a year ago, Sam is trying to adjust to his new life living in the Philippines. Soon, another tragedy comes calling in his life. The brother of Sam’s girlfriend dies, after which he travels to the southern islands. There, he gets targeted by the local terrorists. In such desperate times, it turns out that the last person that he can go for help is the last man that he should trust. Some of the old friends of Sam Grant are called in for but the mission of rescuing him soon becomes a battle of their own survival. Similar to the first novel in the series, this book too shows a lot action and thrill. Its gripping, fast moving, thrilling, and intriguing plot was very much appreciated by the readers as well as the critics. This allowed author Alan to receive a lot of praises and positive responses from one and all.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Alan McDermott

One Response to “Alan McDermott”

  1. Keith: 3 years ago

    A very good series of novels. Let’s have some more please.


Leave a Reply