Book Notification

Alana Delacroix Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Immortal Protectors Books

Immortal Redemption (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Masked Arcana Books

Masked Possession (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Masked Desire (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Masked Longing (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Alana Delacroix is a Canadian author who writes contemporary paranormal romance novels. Delacroix lives in Toronto, Canada in a little house that she asserts is full of paranormal romance, historical, and sci-fi titles. She has an archaeology degree and spent a lot of time hammering copper axes in a quarry before she decided to become an author. Nonetheless, her studies in history and archaeology has had a huge influence on her writing. When she is not writing she loves exploring her city and given her love for coffee, she is always on the hunt for the perfect Toronto coffee shop, where she can set her paranormal romance. For the longest time, she worked for several companies as a corporate communications specialist, which is probably why she adores stationery particularly the Midori Travelers Notebooks. Delacroix loves to listen to music and will listen to anything when she is writing her novels. She also loves to vacation and has gone swimming with dolphins, whales, and sea turtles in Hawaii. She lives with her husband and Smokey, a gorgeous old fat cat that she absolutely adores.

Alana Delacroix is best known for the “Masked Arcana” series of novels the first of which was “Masked Possession” that was first published in 2017. The novels are a new type of paranormal romance novels with a unique concept which made the novels such a cultural phenomenon. What makes these novels so great is the concept of the Arcane. The Arcane are supernatural beings living in the normal world, but who hide their supernatural nature from the humans they live with whom they call statics. They call humans “Statics” because the humans cannot change their appearance. As for the Arcane, they have the Masquerada who can change their appearance while the most special among them can take several forms. Given their special abilities, the Masquerada are self-absorbed and arrogant creatures that look down on humans, the fey, vampires, the mer, and were wolves. The novels are full of snarky danger and suspense, and come with brilliant world building as the supernatural interactions come to life in the story. Given that the Masquerada can adopt not only different faces but also entire personalities, they can make themselves entirely different persons. The Masquerada have different levels of power which determine how many personas they can turn into. Some can take on only the original sex of what they are, others can be both male and female, and some can be more than a single person at the same time.

The Masked Arcana series of novels feature a shared thread of threats that carry from the past of the characters to the present. Alana Delacroix builds the suspense and threat through small confrontations that often culminate in an epic battle that will have the reader gripping their kindle and holding their breath as the narrative develops. The story often features a relationship between a human character full of deceit and secrets, and an Arcane character who is fighting with his overactive Masquerada condition. The female characters such as Caro and Michaela are bold and fierce characters who are typically unwilling to open up about their past to their partners, even when such behavior leaves them in danger. The male characters tend to be bold and confident supernaturals that find themselves torn between their human nature and their supernatural powers. For a character such as Eric, the benefits, dangers and consequence of their many Masquerada personalities make for thrilling adventures even as they may ultimately destroy them. Overall both of the characters do deal with specific personal struggle that they have to confront throughout the course of the narrative.

“Masked Possession” the first novel of The Masked Arcana series of novels by Alana Delacroix. Eric Kelton is a man that can take on any face making him one of the most difficult to pin down. However, Caro Yeats does not run from anything and is ready to take on the man. She had left her job as an investigative reporter to take up a job for the Toronto supernaturals that needed a rockstar PR professional. If there is anything that has not come to her attention, it most likely does not warrant any attention. But now that she has been charged with rebranding Eric Kelton, she thinks it may just be her most difficult job ever. Kelton is a top Masquerada who can change his persona and face on a dime who sets her on edge with his out of control change of personalities. She finds it hard to trust anyone that can take on almost any personality, though she admits that her instincts get muddled with his charisma. On the other hand, Eric finds Caro a most extraordinary woman given her uncanny insight and lightning wit. But even as she is so beautiful and desirable, it would be dangerous to let her anywhere near himself. He is suddenly losing his powers and fears that becoming entangled with a mysterious woman that does not play politics or use her supernatural side may just complicate things further. For a woman who does not seemingly have a past, the numerous vicious, clever and strong enemies on her tail belie this fact. If Caro and Eric are forced together the fallout may have explosive consequences.

“Masked Desire” the second novel of “The Masked Arcana” series of novels is about Michaela Chui, a supernatural and Cormac, an experienced courtier exiled from the Fairy Queen Court. Chui has experienced all manner of disaster from being a member of the supernatural council. She has survived the centuries through strategy and caution which have never let her down. But now a human councilor is murdered and Michaela acknowledges that someone is clearly blocking her investigations and things may only get worse. The only person she can turn to is the distractedly attractive, unreliable, unpredictable, and wild Cormac Redoak. Cormac is an experience courtier with a talent for getting his way in most of his endeavors. He is certain that Michaela the girl with the ability to shift to different alter egos whenever she feels like is what he wants. She has a certain clarity that he has never seen before and he knows that were he to work with her, he will find himself in a spot of frustration and temptation. But he needs to make her trust him while ensuring he does not reveal any of his deepest secrets.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Alana Delacroix

Leave a Reply