Book Notification

Alaskan Quest Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Alaskan Quest Books

Summer of the Midnight Sun (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Under the Northern Lights (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Whispers of Winter (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Alaskan Quest by Tracie Peterson
Bestselling author Tracie Peterson writes the “Alaskan Quest” trilogy of historical fiction novels. The series began publication in the year 2006, when “Summer of the Midnight Sun” was released. All three of the novels were released in the year 2006, and were each published by Bethany House. The first book was released in January, the second in July, and the third and final book was published in November.

In the series is a captivating group of characters the struggle to survive in America’s final frontier. The adventure starts when the quiet lives of Leah and Jacob Barringer get interrupted by one familiar face from the past and one stranger with mysterious mission. With some dramatic turns and twists, their journeys of love and faith create quite a compelling read.

Leah and Jacob, who are sister and brother, lost their parents at a young age. They have loved the state of Alaska after being raised by one godly couple that moved to Last Chance in Alaska.

The series of books continues to focus on the characters from Tracie’s earlier “Yukon Quest” series of novels and it is set during the early 1900s, right before the first World War. The books incorporate Christianity into the stories, as Tracie is often referred to as the Queen of Historical Fiction. Like all of Tracie’s novels, these provide the reader with a moral lesson.

With each one of her books, she finds she draws even closer to God and more deeply in love. The research is one of her secret pleasures of writing stories. She loves learning and God is always there to teach her some neat spiritual things.

Tracie also wants to offer her readers the Gospel message in these books and the Biblical application in a gentle, tender, and loving way that is going to help all of them draw closer to God in some way.

Tracie has also written the “Brides of Seattle” series, the “Desert Roses” series, the “Heirs of Montana” series, the “Striking a Match”, and “Ladies of Liberty” series, as well as some stand alone novels.

“Summer of the Midnight Sun” is the first novel in the “Alaskan Quest” series and was released in the year 2006. Leah Barringer, as well as her brother Jacob have each come to love the rugged Alaskan Territory that they call home. However when Jacob determines to join up with an arctic expedition, it is then that Leah realize that her heart desires more than just this solitary existence.

Jacye Kincaid, the man that spurned her ten years before and a friend of Jacob’s, unexpectedly shows up, and awakens some feelings in Leah that she would much prefer to leave behind. While Jayce sets out to prove that he is a changed man, and she can’t deny the effect he once again has upon her. However the appearance of a young investigator casts a cloud over Jayce’s past. As well as over Leah’s dreams for the future.

These characters are interesting and compelling and Jayce, Leah, and Jacob are great to get to know. Tracie has a descriptive and nice writing style that pulls you in fully to her stories and keep you captivated. She brings all of her cities and settings to life, and makes them all feel very real. Once readers started it, they loved the book and could not put it down for long. The plot was thick, the humor was good, and the spiritual theme clear in the novel.

“Under the Northern Lights” is the second novel in the “Alaskan Quest” series and was released in the year 2006. Pinkerton agent Helaina Beccham’s obsession with capturing one dangerous fugitive clouds her own judgment, she gets abducted by Jayce’s twin brother and carried off into the wilderness just as early winter approaches.

Leah attempts to find a way to escape without endangering the lives of those she loves. But Helaina finds she is more determined to capture Chase, even though it would be much safer to just escape and leave him behind. Are Leah and Helaina escape from his grasp? Or is Helaina’s insistence that they actually capture him rather than escape going to be their downfall? How twisted and dark is Chase, or could there be some chance of redemption?

Now her sole hope is that Jacob Barringer, the guy who has captured her heart and that she has married, is going to find her before it is too late.

This is an outstanding novel that grabs you right from the first page and doesn’t let go. These characters became some readers friends by reading the book, as they showed God’s love for each other and the story is his love put right into action. The novel covers some deep subjects, and at times it is quite sad, however at others it is extremely uplifting. Readers learned quite a lot about the state of Alaska, too. She tells in like it is, without sugar coating any of the issues, while putting her characters through some rather tough trials.

“Whispers of Winter” is the third novel in the “Alaskan Quest” series and was released in the year 2006. The unforgiving descent of Alaskan winter has Jacob Barringer and Jayce Kincaid struggling for survival after their ship gets trapped in the ice floes in the Arctic.

Back at Last Chance Creek, Helaina and Leah endure this long separation—Leah wonders if her kids are ever going to know their dad, and Helaina long for the chance to express her love to Jacob.

When unexpected loss invades their world and tragedy is looming once more, are they going to find the strength to trust in God’s faithfulness?

Tracie combines an uplifting message of God’s faithfulness with an engrossing plot in the midst of unbearable loss and struggle. Readers found they were on their toes the whole time and enjoyed the suspense and always wondered what would happen next. Tracie does a wonderful job of depicting the close bond of one family and their ups and downs. This is a fitting conclusion to the exciting stories dealing with life in the bitter north.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Alaskan Quest

Leave a Reply