Book Notification

Alastair MacNeill Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Alistair MacLean's UNACO Books

Hostage Tower (By: Alistair MacLean,John Denis) (1980)Description / Buy at Amazon
Air Force One Is Down (By: Alistair MacLean,John Denis) (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Train (With: Alistair MacLean) (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Alistair MacLean's Death Train (1988)Description / Buy at Amazon
Night Watch (With: Alistair MacLean) (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Red Alert (With: Alistair MacLean) (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Time of the Assassins (With: Alistair MacLean) (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Halt (With: Alistair MacLean) (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Code Breaker (With: Alistair MacLean) (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rendezvous (With: Alistair MacLean) (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Prime Target (By: Hugh Miller,Alistair MacLean) (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Borrowed Time (By: Hugh Miller,Alistair MacLean) (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Alastair MacNeill is a published author of fiction.

He was born in Scotland in Greenock in 1960. When he was six years old, his family decided that they would emigrate to South Africa. They ended up choosing to live in East London, a coastal city.

When MacNeill finished high school he decided to move on to hotel management studies, taking a course over three years at Johannesburg’s Hotel School. He also had an interest ever since he was a teen in writing. He would go back to the U.K. in 1985, trying to start up his writing career.

The author put in one of his manuscripts to HarperCollins Publishers. They thought that it was strong enough to form the basis for him writing for them. He was given the opportunity to write a book that would be based on the late author Alistair MacLean’s outline. He chose to accept and would come to write several more stories after that. All were based on synopses of the story from MacLean.

MacNeill has since published several books as well bearing his name. These include The Devil’s Door and Moonblood, among others. Today he resides in Sheffield.

He has authored several books as part of the UNACO series of fictional novels originally planned out by Alistair MacLean. The UNACO stands for United Nations Anti-Crime Organization. The series started in 1980 with the publication of the first book, Hostage Tower. It was followed quickly after by the second novel, Air Force One is Down. MacNeill would come in to write the third through fifth novels, Death Train, Night Watch, and Red Alert. The sixth and seventh books in the series are Prime Target and Borrowed Time.

Death Train, the third novel in this series, was adapted into a made for television movie that premiered in 1993. The original title of the movie was Death Train, but it was changed to become Detonator instead. The movie starred Pierce Brosnan as Mike Graham, Alexandra Paul as Sabrina Carver, and Patrick Stewart as Malcolm Philpott. It was directed and written by David S. Jackson. The action filled movie deals with a train being stolen in Germany filled with hostages. The train is moving through Europe and has a nuclear bomb on board. A task force from the U.N. designed to fight crime is charged with somehow stopping the train while collaborating with the local law enforcement police and military.

The fourth novel in the series, Night Watch, would be adapted into a movie that came out in 1995. The original title was Night Watch, which was amended and became the title Detonator II: Night Watch. It was a television movie directed by David Jackson. It starred Pierce Brosnan and Alexandra Paul. Pierce played Mike Graham and Alexandra played Sabrina Carver. In this movie, agents for the U.N. Graham and Carver are charged with investigating The Night Watch, a Rembrandt painting. It’ll take them all over the world and soon unravel to reveal that this case is about more than just stealing art but involves the scheming of two masterminds that’ll do anything to get their way.

Death Train is the third book to come out in the fictional UNACO series conceived of by Alistair MacLean and written by Alastair MacNeill. If you have been looking for something interesting and full of action and political pressure then be sure to check out this book or start with the first in the series and work your way to it!

This book was able to be composed thanks to a variety of story outlines described by Alistair MacLean. A film company commissioned him to write them in 1977.

A train is moving through Europe, and what no one knows is that one of the freight cars attached is carrying a cargo that could prove deadly. One of the cars has a cargo of potentially fatal plutonium-IV that was secretly put there. Meanwhile, the UNACO are putting together a team and putting an operation into motion to try and figure out who stole the plutonium and how.

Now agent Mike Graham and the other agents must figure out what’s going on and fast. The agents quickly discover that they are up against connected interests. These include an arms dealer and a business leader that is in high places. They find six kegs, but one of them has a horrible substance that could cause things to spiral into chaos and comes with horrible results.

Can the agents figure out how to make the kegs safe and get them someplace where they’re not going to harm anyone? Or will they be too late and end up being unable to stop one of the world’s greatest disasters? Pick up a copy of this exciting book in the UNACO series in order to find out!

Night Watch is the fourth book by Alastair MacNeill, part of the UNACO series of fictional novels. If you liked the story previous to this one or have started the series and can’t stop reading, be sure to check this book out!

When it comes to the art world, there are admirers of art and then there are those that recognize the monetary value of it and try to steal it. This time, it’s all about the burglary. An individual or a team of them have pulled off a heist of the most famous painting in the world and put a fake in its place.

There is immediate interest in catching them and so the UNACO are called. A museum in Amsterdam had agreed to participate in sending its Night Watch painting by Rembrandt on tour throughout the galleries of the world. Even with all of the extra security surrounding it, somehow the original managed to get stolen and replaced with a dupe.

Now it’s up to agent Mike Graham as well as Sabrina Carver and C.W. Whitlock to try and discover who has taken the work and replaced it. Time is of the essence. The agents are on their way to Rio de Janeiro, but will they find the real painting? Pick up Night Watch to find out!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Alastair MacNeill

2 Responses to “Alastair MacNeill”

  1. KAREN WHEATLEY: 10 months ago

    Please can you help? There is a German book called “Ventura” but do you know what is the English version called?

    • Graeme: 10 months ago

      I researched it but can’t find a description or anything about the book to see


Leave a Reply