Nick Petrie Series

Albert A. Bell Jr. Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Pliny the Younger Books

All Roads Lead to Murder (2002)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Blood of Caesar (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Corpus Conundrum (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Death in the Ashes (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Eyes of Aurora (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Fortune's Fool (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Gods Help Those (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Hiding from the Past (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Steve and Kendra Mystery Books

The Secret of the Lonely Grave (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Secret of the Bradford House (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Palmetto Antique Mystery Books

Death by Armoire (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Walker Farm Mystery Books

What You Wish For (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Daughter of Lazarus (1988)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Kill Her Again (2000)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Case of the Lonely Grave (2000)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Death Goes Dutch (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Murder My Love (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Flute Player (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A Guide to the New Testament World (1994)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Exploring the New Testament World (1998)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Perfect Game, Imperfect Lives (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Albert A. Bell Jr. is an American author of fictional novels as well as non fiction books on religious topics. He has also had numerous stories and articles featured in a variety of publications.

Dr. Albert A. Bell. was born in 1945 in South Carolina. He was not always a professional writer. He attended U.N.C. at Chapel Hill to study and graduated with his PhD. He also attended Duke, graduating with his Masters degree, and received an MDiv from his time at Southeastern Baptist Theological Seminary as well.

Albert began teaching at Hope College in 1978. The college is located in Holland, Michigan. He also served the History Department as its chair from the period of 1994 to 2004. Bell first became a published author when his book Daughter of Lazarus was released in 1988.

Bell is the creator and the writer of the fictional series, The Notebooks of Pliny the Younger. This historically based fictional series kicked off in 2002 when the debut novel was first released. Six years later, the sequel came out (titled The Blood of Caesar). A third book came out in 2011 titled The Corpus Conundrum. The seventh book in the series came out in 2018 and is called The Gods Helps Those.

All Roads Lead to Murder is the first book in the Pliny series by Albert A. Bell. If you love series that deal with historically inspired characters and settings, then you may just enjoy this creative novel and the others that come after it from this interesting author!

The setting is Smyrna, in the first century. This is the setting where a horrible murder has occurred. Meanwhile, Luke, Tacitus, and Pliny the Younger are busy on their way to Rome, traveling all the way there in a caravan.

When they find a murder and there are not immediately any Roman magistrates on hand, the three suddenly become the investigators. The only trouble is that there are too many suspects around that could have done it. Everyone seems suspect, from the gamblers to the Christians and the priestesses.

The truth is that anyone could have committed the act. So what is it when it comes to this murder mystery and how will the three of them solve it? And what does the slave of one of the victims have to do with it all? You’re going to have to read this debut novel in the Pliny series by Albert Bell to find out!

The Blood of Caesar is the second novel and the sequel to the first of the Pliny the Younger series by acclaimed author Albert A. Bell Jr.

When the reader last left Pliny the Younger, he was with his friend and Tacitus. They were solving a murder mystery, and when that was done, they hoped that it would be the end of it. However, now it seems that they may have accidentally found their way to another murder mystery.

The two quickly find that this mystery may be even more complex than the last one. The death occurred at the palace of the emperor Domitian when a worker is found deceased in the archives. The emperor decides that Pliny will be assigned to this case. Why is this man so concerned with the death when he has the rule of Rome to consider?

In any case, Pliny is charged with finding references to an heir of Caesar located in Nero’s mother’s book of memoirs. The emperor thinks that the copy that he has may even be incomplete and is suspicious of many others, including an old friend’s niece. Even Tacitus’s father in law may end up being a victim of his paranoia.

Can slaves from Pliny’s household have anything to do with Augustus’s legacy? When it comes to answers, the two may have more cut out for them than they realize. Their search to find answers might just lead them to the underworld to find the golden house of Nero to find the answers that they are looking for.

Will the answers that they have found help to save Rome or result in its downfall? Find out by picking up a copy of the book The Blood of Caesar, the second in the Pliny series by Albert A. Bell Jr. to find out!

If you love series that are based in history, then check out the other books in this engaging series and discover for yourself what happens next. You can find them by going to your local library or online or at your local bookstore.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Albert A. Bell Jr.

Leave a Reply