Book Notification

Alex Craft Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Alex Craft Books

The “Alex Craft” series by Kalayana Price is from the paranormal fantasy and urban fantasy genres. It stars Alex Craft, who is a private investigator who consults with the police department. Alex is able to speak to the dead, a talent that helps in solving crimes. This takes a toll on her, if she uses her Grave Sight too long, she will go blind or if she stays on the other side for too long, her body temperature will drop very low. Each novel in this series relies on the books before it, but still has its own story that it tells and it is important to read the novels in the order that they were published.

The series began in the year 2010 with the release of the first book which is called “Grave Witch”. The books are published in many countries other than in the United States, and the books are available in audio editions.

“Grave Witch” is the first novel in the “Alex Craft” series and was released in the year 2010. Alex Craft has seen dark magic up close and personal, and she has seen a lot of it. Nothing has prepared her the case that she is currently working on, even though she is on good terms with Death (who looks great in jeans). There is a high profile murder case she is investigating when the impossible happens. The shade she has been raising attacks her. Someone tries to kill her, which just serves as the cherry on top of her already wonderful day that she has been having; luckily, Death is there to save her. He must like having her around. She will have to pair up with a homicide detective named Falin Andrews if she wants to solve this case. Falin is a tough cop that seems to be hiding something, but not his dislike for Alex. Alex is in need of help from Andrews to get through all of the webs of mortal and paranormal politics. Not to mention to find a killer that is capable of magic so powerful and so malevolent, it may end up killing Alex and taking her soul.

Fans found that this novel stands out among a lot of the other urban fantasy novels out there. The novel has great characters and a wonderful plot. The main character is not a comeback machine, but she is relatable without being a boring character. Readers found that this book kept them up until the early morning hours, reading.

“Grave Dance” is the second novel in the “Alex Craft” series and was released in the year 2011. Alex Craft has been recovering for the last month after her brutal fight that she got into with a sorcerer, and she is now ready to get back to solving murders by raising the dead. Fae Investigation Bureau agent Falin Andrews has gone missing, which has for the moment wrecked Alex’s love life. She is eager to be distracted by her work, as Death utters the L word to her. This new case of hers seems to be a deadly challenge for her, though. Her job sees her consulting for the police on an odd investigation that is going on in a nature preserve that is located south of a place called Nekros City. There are only fragments of bodies at the scene, not entire corpses. There might be a serial killer on the loose, and there is no way for her to raise a shade with no body; this means that she will have to rely on the magic that others have to find any leads. As she starts investigating, a creature that comes from very dark magic starts coming after her. There is someone out there that is going to try to make sure that the only thing that she is able to find is her own dead end.

Fans of the novel found this to be more enjoyable than the first novel in the series; finding that the author got better at writing everything since the first novel in the series. Some found themselves ready for the next installment in the series. There is a lot of world building that the author is doing, that makes the read that much better for them. Some found that Falin was a fascinating and mysterious character, that you just do not what is coming but you enjoy reading about him.

“Grave Memory” is the third novel in the “Alex Craft” series and was released in the year 2012. Magic is not the only thing that is wrecking Alex’s life lately. The cost that comes with raising the dead has been compounding lately. This is right as things have been getting more close and personal with Death; they have always been on friendly terms with each other. Her occasional partner, agent Falin Andrews, has been put under the glamour of the Winter Queen. Alex’s best friend has been forever changed by the time that she spent as a captive in Faerie. Personal stuff takes second priority when there is a mysterious suicide occurs in Nekros City. Alex is hired to look into things. This is murder, despite the shade that she raises not remembering anything and the very public nature of things. What is this magic that can out do the human will to survive? Why doesn’t the shade have any memory of when he died? Searching for answers may mean that Alex will have nothing to remember either.

Fans of the novel enjoyed reading the parts about Death’s past, and the way that it was woven into the main story without any seams showing at all. Fans felt that this was the strongest of the series, and felt that this novel is the result of Kalayana Price writing three excellent novels that make you invest in what happens to these characters. The writing in this novel does not get in the way of the story, and the story is something that flows very smoothly, carrying the reader on the swift journey. Some want more novels in the series, and cannot wait for the author to release more.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Alex Craft

Leave a Reply