Book Notification

Alex Delaware Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Alex Delaware Books

By: Jonathan Kellerman
When the Bough Breaks (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood Test (1986)Description / Buy at Amazon
Over the Edge (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Silent Partner (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Time Bomb (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon
Private Eyes (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon
Devil's Waltz (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bad Love (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Self-Defense (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Web (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Clinic (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Survival of the Fittest (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Monster (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dr. Death (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flesh and Blood (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Murder Book (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Cold Heart (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Therapy (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rage (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Gone (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Obsession (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Compulsion (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bones (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Evidence (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deception (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mystery (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Victims (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Guilt (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killer (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Motive (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Breakdown (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Heartbreak Hotel (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Night Moves (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wedding Guest (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Museum of Desire (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Serpentine (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
City of the Dead (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unnatural History (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ghost Orchid (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Open Season (2025)Description / Buy at Amazon

Alex Delaware is a detective in a series of novels written by author John Kellerman. He has been described in many ways by various critics, but appears to be a great example of the Post-Modern Detective. He is characterized by the passion he has for his work, the empathy he feels towards his patients, how he uniquely handles each case, and how his character is seemingly static. His personality does not change over the course of the series, though the methods he uses to solve certain cases evolve over time. He remains the same person throughout the series despite the increasingly brutal nature of the crimes he is investigating.

As the series has grown, the ideas explored in the series have expanded, with the detective exploring motives behind seemingly random attacks only to find that there is a greater evil hiding behind the chaos of the events that unfold. There have been complaints of over-characterization because of the extreme amount of detail involved in each novel.

There is also an important connection that can be made about his personality regarding his relationship to veteran police officer Milo Sturgis. This relationship explores the perceived nature of homosexuality and how it can impact one’s judgment and the case surrounding the main characters.

Alex Delaware in many ways is simply another way to convey a much broader message. In the novels, there are major issues that are discussed. From terrorism, to loss of individual identity, to the role insanity and depravity play in our world, there are many issues surrounding the cases that Alex Delaware is involved with. He explains and explores the ideas through his use of empathy when speaking to people.


Alex Delaware has been described by many as a very thoughtful and empathetic person. He is also very softspoken and tends to observe rather than converse with people. His methods of solving crimes are sometimes amateur, but his sidekick Milo Sturgis often helps him out of very tough situations.

Through his many years of working with patients as a psychologist, he has developed very keen observation. When he speaks to people he is always sympathetic when confronting them, with the exception of bad people. His overall view of the world is not jaded and he only holds contempt for those who do wrong.

He is also very sensible regarding observation. He studies every detail around him. Sometimes he does not have the best planning skills when it comes to important cases. In some areas, he can even be seen as incompetent; however, he is very proud of his work.

When first introduced in the series, he is a retired child psychologist. He retired after essentially becoming worn out with the mental strain of the job. He has a very strong sense of right and wrong. He works diligently until he is able to solve a case and get justice for every party involved. On more than one occasion he has been wrong, but he has always had pure motives behind what he does.

Like many other detectives in these types of novels, he has a flaw that defines him. It may not be as noticeable in this character, but there are plenty of instances where differences of opinions have cost Alex Delaware something. He always comes out on top, though, and he has an ego, even if he is more polite and sympathetic that most other detectives in the genre.


Alex Delaware is a retired child psychologist who enjoyed a very long and distinguished career. He retired after a sexual predator committed suicide in Delaware’s office. After this, he left because of the emotional distress the event caused.

Eventually, he is called back when his services are most needed. He always accepts a job in the novels, as it is always something important. He has worked at several hospitals during his tenure and has consulted on a variety of different cases.

In each novel, he uses experiences from his professional career to solve the mysteries put before him. He is a unique character in the detective genre, as he does not follow many of the same rules or practices other detectives use in novels. Alex Delaware often finds that interacting with people in a non-invasive, sympathetic manner will work better, as it lowers people’s guard more.

He uses his abilities to read people to his advantage in many situations that call for it. He is also very keen at researching topics in a very short span of time. In the novels, he meets a wide variety of criminals, colleagues, former colleagues, law enforcement officials, and other interesting characters.


Alex Delaware has become a very popular detective and the series has been read by many people. The character is a very moral-oriented person. He has a strong sense of the right thing to do and is intelligent enough to get the job done when he is needed. Though many of his methods are amateur with reference to skill, he always has the assistance of his more experienced side-kick.

The fact that the side-kick also happens to be gay opens up the discussion of the perception of homosexuality and law enforcement as well. It also forces the reader to view the side-kick as not just that, but a person. He is humanized in the series, and the relationship between the two reveals something that many people understand now, that being homosexual is not a bad thing. In fact, it is something that is normal and not an abomination. The fact that the police officer is gay is treated as a secondary issue in the series, as it should be.

Alex Delaware is a great detective that has much going for him. The type of character he represents may not change his personality much, but is still a very compelling character. The novels are entertaining, but also informative and inspirational.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Alex Delaware

2 Responses to “Alex Delaware”

  1. Theresa Early: 12 months ago

    You are missing at least one book “Fear No Evil”, which is supposed to be the 29th book in the series.


Leave a Reply