Book Notification

Alex Gough Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Carbo of Rome Books

Watchmen Of Rome (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Carbo and the Thief (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bandits of Rome (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killer of Rome (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Imperial Assassin Books

Emperor's Sword (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Emperor's Knife (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Emperor's Axe (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Who All Die (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Emperor's Spear (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Emperor's Lion (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Emperor's Fate (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Mark Antony Books

Caesar's Soldier (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Caesar's General (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Alex Gough

Alex Gough is a respected British writer renowned for crafting historical fiction as well as thrilling novels embedded with intriguing narratives. His books are primarily anchored in Roman history, exhibiting his passion for this ancient era. His gift for character creation shines through in every word he writes, making his stories highly entertaining and enjoyable. His novel protagonists are particularly well crafted, offering readers a memorable journey through historical narratives.

Apart from writing captivating novels, Alex is well known for contributing to prestigious British publications like UK Vet and Veterinary Times. These contributions demonstrate his multifaceted brilliance, transcending beyond his skill in narrating historical tales. His involvement with these publications indicates his ability to extend his penmanship to a plethora of topics, tackling different themes with remarkable precision and intelligence.

To sum it up, Alex Gough is an exemplary writer whose books are high on entertainment, filled with compelling characters, and gripping narratives. His knack for creating immersive storylines rooted in Roman history, coupled with his crucial contributions in the realm of veterinary literature, underline his versatility as an author. Diving into his books promises an enriching journey through history with enthralling plot twists and turns.

Early and Personal Life

As well as a respected British historical fiction author, Alex Gough is also renowned as a partner in a referral and first opinion practice in Bath, UK. His profession in the field of small animal medicine and cardiology parallels his writing career. Displaying his multifaceted talent and knowledge, Alex has authored the book ‘Differential Diagnosis in Small Animal Medicine,’ published by Wiley-Blackwell.

Gough resides in the Southwest of England, a locale known for its rich history and culture. As an enthusiast of various literary genres including thriller, sci-fi, and fantasy, readers can see these influences in his writing. However, his deep fascination and appreciation for historical fiction stands at the forefront of his work.

The essence of his writing presents Alex as a skilled craftsman, merging his interest in historical fiction with his professional insights. His literary prowess extends not only to Roman historical fiction but also to engaging contributions to celebrated platforms like UK Vet and Veterinary Times. This makes his work a treasure trove for both readers who enjoy a good historical narrative and those with an interest in veterinary medicine.

Writing Career

Alex Gough is notable for his work in historical fiction, with a dedicated focus on the lesser-known aspects of Ancient Rome. Starting out back in 2014, his significant research into this time period yielded the Carbo Series, including ‘Bandits of Rome,’ ‘Watchmen of Rome,’ ‘Killer of Rome,’ and the short story collection ‘Carbo and the Thief.’ This intimate exploration of Ancient Rome’s underclasses is both insightful and engaging for fans of this genre.

Following the success of the Carbo Series, Gough delved into the reign of the Severan dynasty in The Imperial Assassin series, a time in Roman history often overlooked. This series includes titles such as ‘Emperor’s Sword’, ‘Emperor’s Knife’, and ‘Emperor’s Axe’, among others. Later, he focused on the dynamic figure of Mark Antony in his next series, revealing vivid perspectives of the politician, warrior, and lover.

Gough’s unmistakable flair for historical fiction continues to captivate readers, with new works remaining as promising as his past endeavors.

Watchmen of Rome

‘Watchmen of Rome,’ a historical novel by Alex Gough, was first published on June 24, 2014. The publishing was handled by Canelo Adventure. This book not only marks Gough’s first plunge into publishing but also commences the ‘Carbo of Rome’ series. Readers will find that the books are best enjoyed in order.

Carbo, a veteran of the Roman Legions, returns to Rome after a 25-year absence and finds his life transformed. Fate forces him to rescue Rufa, an old friend in chains, and thwart a sinister priestess with plans to destroy Rome. Aided by the Watchmen of Rome, their joint struggle becomes key in the survival of the city and the Republic.

Bandits of Rome

‘Bandits of Rome’ is another historical novel penned by Alex Gough. The book, which made its debut on August 20, 2015, is published by Canelo Adventure. Notably, this is the second installment in Gough’s popular ‘Carbo of Rome’ series.

Carbo seeks refuge from Rome’s hardships in Italy’s peaceful countryside, accompanied by his loved ones. However, unforeseen dangers lurk in the serene hills as bandits wage an attack. When disaster unfolds, Carbo is left to face a sinister plot. He must rise to the challenge to protect his friends, himself, and pursue retribution.

Emperor’s Sword

‘Emperor’s Sword’ is a historical thriller crafted by Alex Gough. The debut of this novel happened on June 6, 2019, under the banner of the publisher, Canelo Adventure. Furthermore, this book marks the beginning of Gough’s ‘Imperial Assassin’ series. The books are best enjoyed in order.

The story follows the adventures of Roman scout Silus, stationed deep among adversaries in Caledonia. After being exposed by an enemy leader during a surveillance operation, Silus finds himself executing a solo ambush. Though he escapes with the enemy chief’s head, he is unaware of the consequences that await him.

As he becomes a part of the Arcani, an esteemed group of spies and assassins, he must venture back into Caledonia and stake all for his Caesar, despite daunting odds, where failure isn’t a choice.

Emperor’s Knife

‘Emperor’s Knife,’ a historical thriller, is brought to the readers’ world by the talented author Alex Gough. It first graced bookshelves on November 18, 2019 through the publisher, Canelo Adventure. The novel sets sail for Gough’s gripping ‘Imperial Assassin’ series. It’s best that they’re read in order once again.

Emperor Severus is critically ill, which leaves his squabbling sons, Geta and Caracalla, to prepare for an impending power struggle in Britannia. Arcani centurion, Silus, is suddenly thrust into the expanding chaos.

Amid the seething conspiracies in Rome, any person could be a foe or traitor, pushing Silus’ allegiance as an Imperial Assassin to the limit. He finds himself pondering what’s more important: the Empire or his tortured conscience?

Keep your eyes open…

Book Series In Order » Authors » Alex Gough

Leave a Reply