Book Notification

Alex Kahler Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Immortal Circus Books

The Immortal Circus (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Immortal Circus: Act Two (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Immortal Circus: Final Act (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Hunted Books

Publication Order of Pale Queen Books

Pale Queen Rising (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cold Dream Dawning (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black Ice Burning (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Flirt Books

Love Is in the Air (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Ravenborn Books

Shades of Darkness (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Echoes of Memory (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Picture Books

Playing Wicked (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Alex R Kahler is American novelist born on 26th November 1986 in a small town in Lowa. At the age of 16 years, Kahler was sent to Interlochen Arts Academy, an artsy boarding school where he majored in creative writing in both junior and senior years of high school.

Kahler later joined Bennington College and graduated with a degree in Literature and Visual Arts. After his graduation, Kahler relocated to Western Massachusetts where he opened an art studio. However, his business flopped, and that is when he decided to join Glasgow University and pursue a Master’s Degree in Creative Writing. The author landed his agent Laurie McLean before leaving Scotland after his master’s degree and a year later, his first work The Hunted was published.


Martyr is the first book in The Hunted Series by Alex R Kahler. It is a novel set in a post-apocalyptic war and features characters with all sorts of powers. Some of them derive their magic powers through the use of spheres. Some worship an evil goddess and manage to unleash hell on earth by unleashing zombies. Then we are introduced to the main character, Tenn one of the few remaining people who have the magic needed to fight these monsters. Tenn is a Hunter, and the Hunters are not loved by the people since they are viewed as somehow being responsible. This is true because it is only the magic people who can create or turn into monsters.

However, despite these accusations, Tenn and fellow Hunters do their best to stop these monsters. However, when his magic act upon a routine patrol, he soon finds himself being pursued by Tomas and other members of the Kin, the people who are responsible for unleashing the zombies. Facing ultimate danger that could end his life, the only people that Tenn will have to rely on are his fellow Hunters, but the problem is that they might not be powerful enough to survive the wrath of Tenn’s adversaries.
The first book in The Hunted Series by Alex R Kahler is an incredible debut. Tenn the main character is fighting the evil undead beings known as Howls. He is an interesting protagonist because he lives in a world where magic is real and accepted by almost everybody. Like in many fantasy stories, Tenn finds himself drawn deeper into the supernatural realm. What regularly adds weight to his shoulders is a prophecy about his fate. However, unlike most characters you will ever read, Tenn pushes away his prophetic duty and never gets into the idea that he could save the humanity. He has experienced turmoil’s for the most of his life and holds himself accountable for many of them even when those around him try to convince him that they were unavoidable or that these events were simply beyond his control. He is a much-scarred character; you will like him and also sympathize with him as well.

There are some tidbits of romance that Kahler has added to the story. Taking into consideration that the author is a gay, expect some hot same-sex love. From the word go, Tenn has a boyfriend already. He has been seeing his boyfriend for quite some time, and he is madly in love with him. The book features lots of flashbacks to showcase how the love between Tenn and his mate sparked. On the other hand, there is the villain Tomas who is the pursuit of Tenn. You will passionately hate him for his behavior but also love him due to the incredible chemistry between him and Tenn.

There are several factors to like this debut book, even more, one of them being lots of action scenes. For instance, at the first few pages of the book, there are tons of action when Tenn alongside his fellow Hunters have hunted down an animal and need to take it before the creatures known as Howls grab their kill. The situation all around is horrible as people are fighting and struggling to survive. Jarrett is Tenn’s love, and he is also the leader of the Hunters, who are trying to fight the Howls and other evil villains. The detail in which the author describes things and places is quite astonishing such that you will find yourself immersed into the world where magic is the order of the day and have one on one struggle that Tenn goes through. Tenn’s use of magic and what he can do with the sphere of Water is quite surprising, as he learns how to harness and use it in ways that he never thought were possible. The use of bad guys is brilliantly done. Matthias, Leanna, and Thomas are interesting. You will love the role each of the play in the story and Tenn’s development and maturity.

The world-building in this book is a bit of a hybrid of genres. The story has a feel of post-apocalyptic regarding the events of bringing an end to humanity, but with some essence of fantasy in that, the characters have magic and can fight the demonic monsters. The ending of the story is quite interesting; there are lots of emotions and the plot rolls into the final confrontation.

Shades of Darkness

Islington Arts Academy is not your typical high school. It is nestled deep in the forests of Michigan, surrounded by huge trunks, nature and virtually not a single of civilization. It is a venue for those seeking a perfect getaway. It is an ideal location for a student like Kaira Winters, who wants nothing else but to put the past behind and focus on what lays at hand, and her graduation is just several months away.
However, the past has a way of making a comeback when least expected. Kaira vividly remembers what happened before at her previous school and she knows that it was not normal. She can remember what happened to her boyfriend, and it was not natural. She also denies accepting that the recent death on campus that left everyone shocked has anything to do with her. She denies believing that she could be changing again.

However, the truth has a way of finding its way and can never stay hidden for long. Even though Kaira is not the person responsible for the murders, she can find out the perpetrator, and she has an obligation of stopping whatever danger is coming to campus. However, to embrace this power and save the humanity, Kaira has to let go of her humanity, but she does not know how long she can go before losing herself completely.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Alex Kahler

Leave a Reply