Book Notification

Alex R. Carver Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Inspector Stone Mysteries Books

Where There's a Will (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Eye For An Eye (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Perfect Pose (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Into The Fire (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Stone's Throw (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Cas Dragunov Books

An Unwanted Inheritance (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Oakhurst Murder Books

Poetic Justice (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Written In Blood (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Witness Must Die (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Alex R. Carver is a mystery, thriller and crime author from the United Kingdom. Carver’s favorite genre is crime fiction as he has always been interested in the seedy underbelly of life. He was born in Bristol but has lived in a lot of places but never felt at home until he went back to the house that his mother was brought up in. He worked in the retail, warehouse and clerical industries which he never liked and soon quit to become a full-time author. He got a small inheritance from his parents and when he lost his job, he decided that he should try his hand out at becoming an author while living off of the money. He has asserted that it has been an exhilarating yet very scary experience since he has to make it before the money runs out. His first novel was “Where There’s A Will” that he first published in 2017. The first novel would then spawn an entire series in the “Inspector Stone Mysteries.” When he is not writing he loves to read the likes of Jeffrey Archer, Tom Clancy, Anne McCaffrey, and George RR Martin. He also loves to play video games and being distracted by his dog who loves his attention. While he has lived in a lot of places, he still dreams of earning enough so that he can travel anywhere in the world but particularly to Macchu Picchu in Peru and some remote part of Egypt.

Carver has always been huge on reading for most of his life. As a child, he was hooked onto “Lord of the Rings” which he read when he was twelve. He also read “Dracula” by Bram Stoker and from that time got hooked on vampires and all things fantasy. He started writing when he was ten years old when he wrote a children’s adventure stories as part of a creative assignment for an English class. The story was something similar to the “Famous Five” series by Enid Blyton that got him interested in writing, which he has been doing ever since. While he started writing very early, he never did take it seriously and mostly did it on and off for several years. However, the pivotal moment came when Amazon introduced the KDP self-publishing platform. The introduction of KDP means that authors like him who either would not or could not publish through traditional publishers now had a chance to publish without the red tape. Carver decided to publish his first book through KDP and after hours of work did publish “Where There’s A Will” in 2017. He decided to make the novel exclusive by publishing it through the Select program which has better marketing opportunities. However, he also published the novel as a paperback through Createspace.

Alex R. Carver’s “Inspector Stone Mysteries” are about a methodical, deliberate and interesting character named Nathan Stone. The novels are intriguing police procedurals that showcase the intelligence of Detective Inspector Stone as he investigates a range of crimes in his city. Stone and his team prove that they are good at their job as they investigate anything from robbery to murder across the series. Carver does know how to create likable characters right from the lead who worries about his grandmother who is ill, to officers teasing colleagues about his weird name. Through the lead character and his lackeys, he adds spice to the story and makes police work and the policemen working the cases interesting and real. Detective Inspector Stone the lead in the series is the most fascinating being a family man whose responsibilities sometimes conflict with his dedication to the job. Over the course of the series, his family and friend play a bigger role in the series as we get to know his wife and children and see him as the family man he is. Carver does a terrific job portraying the balance between family life and police inspector duties that Inspector Stone has to juggle.

“Where There’s A Will” is Carver’s first novel that opens to a kidnapped teen held in a secret location. The kidnappers are asking for 3.5 million Euros in ransom but there is a feeling that they want much more than the money. Inspector Stone has been assigned the task of finding and rescuing the girl. A kidnapping is a complex case under normal circumstances. But it is even harder when he has to deal with family problems, an unrelated robbery, and the maneuverings of an underling that he believes is too ambitious for his own good. Stone soon learns that the Russian Mafia may have had something to do with the kidnapping. His hunch that the kidnappers want something more than money soon proves correct as they make their newest demands known, to leave the kidnapped girl’s parents terrified. There is now more pressure on Stone to find the girl before the kidnappers can act on their threat. If he fails, it will not only be Alice who may be in harm’s way.

Alex Carver’s “An Eye For An Eye” opens to a series of murders in Branton. The mysterious murders leave Inspector Stone with one of his most difficult cases yet. He may just pay a huge personal price if he does not resolve the case fast enough. It starts with the murder of the mother and wife of an Asian shopkeeper that seems to have been racially motivated. The local paper is not helping as it is driving the narrative of race and stirring tensions in the community. And then more crime comes on the heels of the first as there is an attack on three teens, the murder of the spouse of a local lawyer and the discovery of a murder that had yet to be reported. All these make Stone believe that there is something bigger than racism inspiring all the criminal activity. Before he can work out how it is all connected a tragic series of events gets him distracted. Could Stone and his fellow detective manage to work on the case and find the man determined to spread terror on the previously peaceful streets of their town?

“A Perfect Pose” is an excellent detective mystery novel that has to do with the case of the mysterious murder of a teen followed by an attack on her photographer stepbrother. Detective Inspector Stone has lost his family and after he sunk in a pit of despair, he had to take leave from the department to recover. But the discovery of the girl fires him up and he thinks it may be just what he needs to get over the pain of losing his family. The dead girl had been a popular internet model and it is almost impossible to deduce who would have wanted to kill her. A few weeks into the investigation and Stone finds out that Ellen Powers has been pregnant and wanted to get an abortion. Could it have been the studio where she was working that had recently been implicated in an exploitation scandal? Or could it have been a crime of passion? But when Ellen’s stepbrother is the victim of a vicious attack, the inspector thinks that he may just find a connection between the two incidents. But he also has to deal with his own demons if he is to find justice for Ellen Powers.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Alex R. Carver

Leave a Reply