Nick Petrie Series

Alex Segura Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Pete Fernandez Mystery Books

Silent City (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Down the Darkest Street (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Dangerous Ends (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Blackout (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Miami Midnight (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Pete Fernandez/Jackson Donne Books

with Dave White
Shallow Grave (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Ash McKenna/Pete Fernandez Crossover Books

with Rob Hart
Bad Beat (With: Rob Hart) (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Star Wars: Age of Resistance Books

Star Wars: Age of Resistance (By:) (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Poe Dameron: Free Fall (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Secret Identity (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Red Zone (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
90 Miles (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

The Black Ghost (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Red / Dark Circle Graphic Novels

The Shield, Vol. 1: Daughter of the Revolution (By:Chuck Wendig,,Adam Christopher) (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Hangman, Vol. 1 (With: ) (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Anthologies

Florida Happens(2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Pa'Que Tu lo Sepas(2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Both Sides: Stories From the Border(2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Stories of Jedi and Sith(2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Alex Segura is a comic book writer and novelist who is a native of Miami. He writes the “Pete Fernandez” series of novels, which began publication in the year 2016, when “Silent City” was released.

Segura’s work has appeared in such anthologies as: Protectors 2, Apollo’s Daughters, and Unloaded 2. His work as appeared in other publications like Mental Floss, Literary Hub, and The Strand.

“Blackout” was named a Best Book by Criminal Element and CrimeReads in the year 2018. The novel also made many lists of most anticipated mystery novels in 2018, some include: Bookbub, MysteryPeople, and CrimeReads. It was also featured in the Summer Reading List put together by The Boston Globe. “Lethal Lit”, the podcast he co-writes and co-created, was named on the Five Best Podcasts of 2018 by The New York Times.

“Silent City” is the first novel in the “Pete Fernandez” series, which was released in the year 2016. Pete Fernandez is quite the mess. He is close to getting fired from the middle-management job he has with the newspaper. His fiancee just up and left him. Now, right after his dad’s sudden death, he is back in Miami, slowly but surely drinking himself into oblivion.

A coworker he hardly knows asks Pete to find their missing daughter, Pete finds himself pulled into a tale of drugs, murder, double-crosses, and memories that burst forth from the black heart of the Miami underworld. As well as, stunningly, from his dad’s past.

Making it all up while he goes and stumbling as much as he succeeds, Pete’s quest is the wake-up call that he never wanted but always needed. It comes with some deadly consequences, however. Pete tries to make peace with a long-buried past to try and save the lives of the few remaining friends he’s got left.

There is a great sense of Miami presented, ones that tourists never get to see, a well-crafted mystery, and some relatable characters. The tension is high the entire time, making this one heck of a page turner. Readers enjoyed getting to know Pete Fernandez and want to follow him around on more adventures.

“Down the Darkest Street” is the second novel in the “Pete Fernandez” series, which was released in the year 2016. Pete Fernandez should really be dead. His life, both personal and professional, lies in ruins. His best buddy is dead. His newspaper career is in the past tense. His ex stays with him while her own marriage crumbles.

On top of it all, the former journalist finds himself in the eye of a coming dangerous storm. All while he investigates a missing girl with an unexpected partner, and getting much closer to a calculating and vicious murderer who is cutting a swath across the city of Miami. At the same time, he is trying to battle with his own personal demons that refuse to stay silent.

Fans are able to read these books in just a single day. The characters in this showed their human sides, and each of the revelations, the pacing, and the action sequences are excellently done. This is a gripping, gritty, and character driven story about a guy battling personal demons, just trying to do some good.

“Dangerous Ends” is the third novel in the “Pete Fernandez” series, which was released in the year 2017. Pete Fernandez has settled into the rather easy, if a tad boring life as a private investigator. Track down the criminals that have skipped bail and goes to weekly AA meetings. Takes the pictures of cheating husbands. His days of chasing killers are behind him. Are they, though?

When Kathy Bentley, his occasional partner, comes to him with a possible new client, Pete balks at it. It is not due to him not needing the money, rather because the case involves Gaspar Varela. He is a former Miami cop who is serving a life sentence for killing his wife, one of Miami’s most infamous crimes. Who is the client? No one other than Maya, Varela’s daughter, who has always supported her dad’s claims he is innocent.

Pete and Kathy wade into the case, which no wants, and find themselves in Los Enfermos’ crosshairs. They the bloodthirsty gang of pro-Castro killers and drug dealers that want to wipe Pete right off the map of Miami. As if it weren’t enough to exonerate Varela, they find they are entangled in something older and more surprising: it is a political and bloody hit Castro ordered himself. One that left a scar that is still healing on Pete and his dead dad’s past.

Alex Segura has an excellent writing style, penning these books with witty, snappy prose. This is probably the most complex book of the entire series, with the last two chapters being mind blowing. Kathy and Pete make for a great pair and it is great to see them interact.

“Blackout” is the fourth novel in the “Pete Fernandez” series, which was released in the year 2018. Stunning new evidence from a cold case that has haunted Pete pulls him out of exile and back to his hometown of Miami. While Pete and Kathy dive deeper into the unsolved crime, they wind up entangled in Miami’s obsession with a charismatic and dangerous leader of a cult as well as his more menacing followers.

At the same time, the pair of detectives find they are at odds with a Florida politician’s fixation on fame, wealth, and power. All of it converges in the center of Magic City and Pete is left scrambling to either pick up all of the pieces or die trying.

The novel gets you caught up in the whirlwind and action packed pace that starts at the beginning, and never lets up until the finish. There are a ton of twists and turns, without a dull moment. Right when you feel like you are starting to tell what is going on, Segura turns the tables on you. Pete is one of the great characters in crime fiction, as he is damaged, tough to understand at times, yet you cannot help but be drawn to the guy.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Alex Segura

Leave a Reply