Book Notification

Alexander Sheridan Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Alexander Sheridan Books

Like Victors and Lords / Victors and Lords (1964)Description / Buy at Amazon
Massacre at Cawnpore (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Heroic Garrison (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Sepoy Mutiny / Mutiny in Meerut / Mutiny at Dawn (1973)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cannons of Lucknow (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon
Captain of Cavalry (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
Battle for Lucknow (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Vivian Stuart began publishing her “Alexander Sheridan” series in the year 1964 when “Like Victors and Lords” was released. The series ended after five books, when “The Heroic Garrison” was published in the year 1974. The second, third, and fourth books were released in the year 1973.

She published the series as V. A. Stuart, which she used for her military sagas. Along with the military parts that can be found in the series, there is some romance thrown in as well.

It stars Alexander Sheridan, who was once in the army, but forced out to start a command as part of the East India Company. He gained the rank of colonel while in the army.

She performed extensive research, and the books are highly accurate to what actually happen.

“Like Victors and Lords” is the first novel in the “Alexander Sheridan” series, which was released in the year 1964. the year is 1854. Alexander Sheridan got forced out of the army for being insubordinate, something that was unfair to him. He leaves his old life to be part of a unit that he will command for the East India Company.

The aristocratic generals of the regular army despise him. Alexander and his volunteer corps have to face the rigors that come with combat and men’s treachery ones that should be allies during the deadliest battles of the Crimean War.

Fans of the novel liked the historical aspect and found it was well used. The whole book was well written, and readers had an enjoyable time with this book. This was hard to put down for very long, and this author, V. A. Stuart, is able to pen great military sagas. Some cannot wait to get into more of these books as Alexander is an interesting character.

“The Sepoy Mutiny” is the second novel in the “Alexander Sheridan” series, which was released in the year 1973. Sepoys (which are native soldiers that serve with the British army) are building their force as a response to a prophecy that predicted the British East India Company’s reign was going to end.

Alexander Sheridan— who leads his force of unemployed officers, some loyal Indian soldiers, and civilian volunteers— stands up against the atrocities on all sides of the fight. He judges everyone by their own merit, not by their skin color or their religious beliefs.

Fans of the novel felt this brings a part of history very well; it shows man’s inhumanity to its fellow man and the result of rulers in power who are arrogant and incompetent. The main character, Alexander, is hit with danger quite a bit, which gives the story some suspense. The book captivated some readers and had them enjoying quite a bit of this story.

“Massacre At Cawnpore” is the third novel in the “Alexander Sheridan” series, which was released in the year 1973. The year is 1857 in Cawnpore. There are some savage mutineers that are laying a relentless siege to the British garrison, located at Cawnpore. It is located in northern India, before the partitions happened. The place hangs on by slightly more than some will.

Exhausted soldiers defend about four hundred scared women and hungry kids in an outpost that is falling apart. All the while, they are waiting behind some fragile mud walls, under a blistering sun, and hope the relief troops will show up soon. If they show up at all.

Just when it looked like the author could not top herself with this series, she went and wrote this one. Fans of the novel found these to be a lot like history lessons that leave readers excited to read more of these superb books. This was a great story line and the characters were well drawn and fully realized. No matter how many times some readers have read through these books, they enjoy cracking them open and re-reading them all over again.

“Cannons at Lucknow” is the fourth novel in the “Alexander Sheridan” series which was released in the year 1973. Cawnpore has been retaken, but they show up too late to be able to keep the slaughter from happening. The British soldiers that show up to provide relief, are only able to stare at the badly defended and poorly sited entrenchment and wonder why it all happened.

Alex is just one of the two survivors and he is just numb. Both his newly born son and his wife are now dead. He has to now join up with General Havelock’s unit that does not even have a thousand men in it as they fight to Lucknow’s besieged garrison.

Fans of the novel enjoyed yet another history lesson from Stuart, who is able to tell a fictional story and give history at the same time. The pacing, skill of the writing, and the historical accuracy all make V. A. Stuart one of the best at writing historical fiction. The stories engage the reader the entire time they are reading them, making them hard to put down. There is quite a bit of action that excites, which makes it even better.

“The Heroic Garrison” is the fifth novel in the “Alexander Sheridan” series which was released in the year 1974. The Moveable Column of General Havelock (which hardly has a thousand men in it) has battled its way to defend the Residency in Lucknow at the heroic garrison. They still have to old tight until the force that is going to relieve them shows up.

Alex Sheridan is captured shortly after signing up for a dangerous mission. He quickly gets called on to fight his own personal war when he is called on to assassinate the very guy that ordered his wife and kid to be killed.

This was another well written tale and it was a great way to conclude this series. Some wish that the series was not over, and that there would be more to come. The book was hard to put down, and some were able to finish the entire thing in just a few days.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Alexander Sheridan

Leave a Reply