Book Notification

Alexandra Benedict Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Castles in the Sky Books

Publication Order of The Fallen Ladies Society Books

The Princess and the Pauper (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Hawkins Brothers Books

The Infamous Rogue (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Notorious Scoundrel (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mistress of Paradise (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
How to Steal a Pirate's Heart (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
How to Seduce a Pirate (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Once Upon a Dream Books

Once Upon a Dream: Volume I (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Westmore Brothers Books

Too Great a Temptation (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Too Dangerous to Desire (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Surrender to Seduction (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Forbidden Love (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Too Scandalous to Wed / Surrender to Seduction (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Christmas Murder Game (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret Nobleman (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder on the Christmas Express (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Christmas Jigsaw Murders (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Reports from the Deep End(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Alexandra Benedict is an American author of paranormal romance, historical romance, mystery, and science fiction books. She is the author of the Westmore Brothers series, Hawkins Brothers, Castles in the Sky series, and several standalone novels. Alexandra, also known by her pen name AK Benedict, is a multifaceted artist and writer.

Her career has spanned roles as a composer, singer-songwriter, actor, and crime fiction lecturer. Her debut novel, The Beauty of Murder, received critical praise and was a contender for the eDunnit Award. Benedict’s talent in short story writing is evident from her contributions to various anthologies. Her audio drama skills have been recognized with multiple award nominations, including the BBC Audio Drama Award in 2020 and the Scribe Award, which she won in 2019.

Writing under Alexandra Benedict’s pen, she explores contemporary perspectives on Golden Age crime fiction. One of her notable works, The Christmas Murder Game, was a hit on Amazon. It was also considered for the prestigious CWA Gold Dagger Award.
Benedict is a resident of south coast of England. She lives with her fiancé, their daughter, and a dog.

The Christmas Murder Game is an engaging and suspenseful story set during Christmas in a classic, isolated country house. It combines elements of a traditional snowed-in murder mystery with an exciting treasure hunt. The book is modern in its approach, addressing themes of LGBTQ relationships. It also carries Victorian charm, mainly through the character Lily.

The story revolves around the death of Liliana Armitage, the final member of her family’s older generation. Following her passing, six cousins and two of their partners are called to the family’s large mansion in Yorkshire, named Endgame House. Here, they participate in the Christmas Game, a long-standing family tradition. This time, however, the game carries significant importance: according to Aunt Liliana’s will, the winner of the game will inherit the grand Endgame House.

The mansion’s atmosphere becomes increasingly tense as the cousins and their partners engage in this high-stakes competition. The combination of a locked-room setting, a competitive treasure hunt, and intricate family dynamics creates a thrilling and mysterious backdrop for the story. With its blend of contemporary themes and a nod to classic Victorian elements, The Christmas Murder Game offers a fresh and captivating take on the murder mystery genre, perfect for those who enjoy a blend of suspense, tradition, and modern storytelling.

The story intensifies as the characters gather at Endgame House on Christmas Eve. The weather turns harsh and threatening, setting a dramatic scene. Aunt Liliana’s lawyer explains the rules of the game they are about to play. To make things more challenging, everyone must give up their phones and other means of communication. Additionally, if anyone leaves the mansion’s grounds during the game, they are automatically out of the competition.

The game involves solving a series of twelve mysterious clues, one for each of the twelve days of Christmas. These clues will lead the players to keys hidden around the property. The objective is to collect and use these keys, along with the clues, to discover a hidden room inside Endgame House. This secret room, which they must find by 4:00 pm on Twelfth Night (January 5th), contains the property’s title deeds. The first to find it will win the game and inherit the house.

The story centers on Lily Armitage, a costume designer with a hidden secret, as she returns to Endgame, a place tied to her mother’s death twenty-one years ago on Boxing Day. The family believed her mother, Mariana Armitage, died by suicide. Still, Aunt Liliana hinted to Lily that it was murder and encouraged her to solve the mystery using clues from the Christmas Game. The lure of solving this puzzle is the only reason Lily considers returning to Endgame.

Soon, it becomes clear that someone is dangerously serious about the game and willing to kill for Endgame House. The story unfolds over the twelve days of Christmas, each day bringing a sonnet-riddle clue. The narrative, filled with anagrams, references to literature and music, and wordplay, challenges the reader. Alexandra Benedict cleverly hides anagrams of phrases from the classic carol The Twelve Days of Christmas in the story, aligning them with the corresponding day. Additionally, she weaves the titles of her twelve favorite Christmas murder mysteries into the narrative.

In Murder on the Christmas Express, we meet Retired Detective Inspector Roz Parker as he races against time and snow to catch the last train to Fort William. Her daughter Heather is having a premature birth, and Roz wants to be there for her, hoping to mend their strained relationship. Fortunately, Roz’s train isn’t canceled, and her former colleagues even treated her to a sleeper berth for the overnight journey.

On the train, Roz finds herself in first class with some minor celebrities. Among them is Meg Forth, a singer-turned-influencer who won a singing show, and her reality TV star boyfriend, Grant McVey. Roz quickly notices the tension in their relationship.

Roz, constantly vigilant about abusive situations, tries to stay uninvolved with the various unique characters she meets in first class despite the partying and delays. Her concern grows as she receives worrying updates about Heather’s condition from Ellie, Heather’s partner.
Things take a turn when the train crashes and a dead body is discovered. Roz feels compelled to investigate, knowing that solving the murder is key to reuniting with her daughter. As the body count increases and the complex relationships among the passengers unravel, Roz finds some allies among the train crew, including a steward who cares for Meg.

The story delves into themes of sexual abuse and domestic violence, handling them thoughtfully but intensely. To balance the heavy subject matter, the author includes playful elements like quizzes and anagrams in each chapter and a recipe for a festive treat called Christmas Tablet, which Roz shares with other passengers.

Murder on the Christmas Express is a story about a mother’s guilt and determination to solve a murder mystery during Christmas. It’s not a light read but offers a deep and engaging narrative.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Alexandra Benedict

Leave a Reply