Book Notification

Alexandra Ripley Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Who's That Lady in the President's Bed? (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon
Charleston (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon
On Leaving Charleston (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Time Returns (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
New Orleans Legacy (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scarlett (1991)Description / Buy at Amazon
From Fields of Gold (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Love Divine (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of B.K. Ripley Standalone Novels

Who's That Lady in the President's Bed? (1972)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Sunken Sailor(2004)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Alexandra Ripley

The American author Alexandra Ripley was a hugely talented writer with a lot to offer with her many historical fiction novels. Producing high quality stories, she was known for her high-degree of accuracy, delivering stories that would immediately get to the point. Knowing her audience well, she would make sure to entertain them, while also providing a compelling and genuine portrayal of the period. This approach to storytelling would serve her well over the years, leaving behind a highly respectable body of work.

Pushing the genre forwards in new and exciting directions, she would create a style that would very much be hers and hers alone. With scores of readers from around the world singing her many praises, she would become a hugely influential author of her time. One story she’s particularly well known for was her novel ‘Scarlett,’ which was a sequel to ‘Gone With the Wind,’ and would prove to be commercially successful. Reaching audiences far and wide, she would be a massively popular author worldwide, with her reach being both national and international.

Characters were another pivotal skill of Ripleys, regardless of whether she was creating her own or working with pre-existing personalities. Bringing her protagonists to life upon the page, she really understood how to give each of them their own distinct voice and tone. She would also write under the pen-name of B.K. Ripley as well for a couple of books, writing alongside fellow authors on a few occasions. All of this would work to create a literary legacy quite unlike any other, as her work continues to be well-regarded today, with more and more discovering her work every day.

Early and Personal Life
Born in 1934 on the 8th of January, Alexandra Ripley was born Alexandra Braid, growing up with a keen fascination in reading and writing. Focusing on her craft over the following years, she would develop a voice for herself, making a name for herself as a writer. Raised in Charleston, South Carolina, this would be an area weighing heavily on both her and her work that was soon to come.

Drawing much of her inspiration from the world around her, Ripley would use material from her own life, grounding her stories with a sense of authenticity. Attending Ashley Hall, she would go on to study at Vassar College in 1955, gaining a major in Russian language, marrying three times during her lifetime. Passing away in 2004 on the 10th of January in Richmond, Virginia, she’d leave behind an illustrious literary career that’s still revered to this day.
Writing Career

Publishing her first novel under the pen-name of BK Ripley, Alexandra Ripley would release her historical novel ‘Who’s That Lady in the President’s Bed?’ in 1972. She would later follow this up with ‘Charleston’ in 1981, published almost ten years later under her own name as another stand-alone historical title. She would largely focus on self-contained stories, not writing any series as such, although she would publish ‘Scarlett,’ which was an unofficial sequel to ‘Gone With the Wind.’

Over the course of her writing career she would also write non-fiction, with ‘Caril’ coming out in 1974 under her BK Ripley name again. Writing many of her books alongside other fellow writers, such as Nanette Beaver and Patrick Trese, she would fast become a prolific name. Becoming a household for many worldwide, her work continues to live on with more and more discovering her work every year.

Following on from Margaret Mitchell’s ‘Gone With the Wind’ released in 1936, this unofficial sequel would continue the story of Scarlett O’Hara. Initially published in September 1991, it would come out through ‘Warner Books’ imprint, reaching an international level of success, as it would become a hugely popular bestselling sensation. There would also be a mini-series adaptation for television released in 1994, with Timothy Dalton and Joanne Whalley-Kilmer in the lead-roles.
Once again looking at the all devouring passion between Scarlett O’Hara and Rhett Butler, it sees their love reaching bold new heights. Looking to win back her one true love, Scarlett is destined to be with Rhett, as he has been made a highly lucrative deal that could see her gone for good. Overcoming obstacles in their way, they must deal with yet more heartbreak and difficulties, all while the war continues. Will they be able to find each other finally, are they going to end up together, and what will eventually become of Scarlett?

While this book won’t compete with the original, it was still a highly entertaining addition overall, with plenty of adventure and romance. It’s a straightforward historical romance that’s easy to follow, making for a great casual read, while building upon the first book. Many of the original characters return as well, so it’s definitely best to read ‘Gone With the Wind’ before starting this novel.

Originally brought out through the ‘Grand Central Publishing’ outlet, this would arrive in 1981 as an earlier book of Ripleys. A stand-alone historical novel, it would chart an early period in American history, looking back, providing plenty of authentic detail in the process. It’s a book that can be read on its own, making it extremely easy to pick up, yet highly difficult to put down for readers.

Charting through the end of the war into the Ragtime era, this slice of Americana focuses on the character of Elizabeth Tradd. Living amongst a truly remarkable family, she experiences life, dealing with a number of horrors and obstacles coming her way. With the upper class families of Charleston now dealing with life under military rule, they are struggling to maintain their way of life and their traditions. How will they face all these changes, can Elizabeth find her way in this new world, and what will become of them and their life in Charleston?

The book itself is a straightforward read, transporting the reader back to another time, really bringing it to life in the process. Readers from all backgrounds will find themselves deeply immersed within its world and environment, making it an easy to follow read. Instantly grabbing the audience from the outset, there’s a lot to enjoy here, as it’s also highly compelling and entertaining in equal measure.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Alexandra Ripley

Leave a Reply