Book Notification

Alexandra Rowland Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Conspiracy of Truths Books

A Conspiracy of Truths (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Choir of Lies (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Seven Gods Books

Some by Virtue Fall (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lights of Ystrac's Wood (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Tales of the Chants Books

Over All the Earth (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of A Taste of Gold and Iron Books

A Taste of Gold and Iron (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tadek and the Princess (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Running Close to the Wind (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The King is Dead, Long Live the King (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Finding Faeries (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Alexandra Rowland
Alexandra Rowland grew up on a sailboat in the Bahamas and then in a house in Florida. She went to Truman State University in northern Missouri, having grown sick to death of the tropics, and studied folklore, literature, and mythology.

She’s worked as an occasional bespoke seamstress, game monitor at an escape room company, a Hugo Award nominated podcaster, and writer under the stern supervision of her feline quality control manager.

“A Conspiracy of Truths” is the first novel in the “Conspiracy of Truths” series and was released in 2018. A wrongfully imprisoned storyteller spins stories from inside of his jail cell which may just have the power to save him, as well as take down a corrupt government.

Chant was arrested on accusations of witchcraft and treason, and finds himself trapped in a filthy and cold jails cell in this foreign land. With just his advocate, the uninterested and unhelpful Consanza, he soon finds himself being cast as this bargaining chip in this brewing battle between the five rulers of this tiny, petty, and backwards nation. That’s how he’d tell the story, anyway.

In reality, Chant has got zero clue of what’s actually happening outside the walls of his cell, however he really must begin unraveling the puzzle of his imprisonment before they execute him for these alleged crimes. However Chant is no witch, he’s a member of this obscure and rare order of wandering storytellers. Without any country to call his home, and no people to claim for his own, all that Chant has got are his wits and his apprentice, this lad that is more interested in wooing handsome shepherds than learning the ways of the world.

But he’s got this one great power: his stories in the ears of the rulers determined to prosecute him for betraying the nation that he knows next to nothing about. The stories that he tells are going to topple the Queens of Nuryevet and possibly, even save his own skin.

“A Choir of Lies” is the second novel in the “Conspiracy of Truths” series and was released in 2019. A young storyteller has to embrace his own skills, and the power of stories, in order to save this nation from economic ruin.

Three years prior, Ylfing watched Chant (his master) rip a nation to shreds without anything more than the words on his tongue. Ylfing is now alone in this new realm, grieving and broken hearted, however a Chant in his own right, employed as a translator to Sterre de Waeyer, this wealthy merchant of luxury goods. However Ylfing has struggled to come to grips with what his master did, with the audiences that he has been alienated from, and the stories that he can’t any longer even trust himself to tell.

That is, up until Ylfing’s employer learns what he does, what he is, and what he knows. At Sterre’s command, Ylfing starts telling stories yet again, fanning the city into this mania for just a few shipments of this exotic flower. The prices skyrocket, however when disaster looms, Ylfing has to face up to what he’s done and figure out who he wants to be. A man that walks away and allows the city to be ruined, like his master did. Or is he going to embrace story’s power in order to save 10,000 lives?

“Some by Virtue Fall” is the first novel in the “Seven Gods” series and was released in 2022. By the King’s Edict, men have been banned from performing on stage. Everybody else is still out for blood.

Sabajan Hollant, the co-founder and director of the celebrated Lord Chancellor’s Players, has got one resolution: This time around they are going to do it right. If they want to truly keep their noble patron, if they want to stay in the theater business at all, they are going to need to keep their hands clean. No rising to the other troupes’ taunts and provocations, no accidents, and definitely no more duelling out in the streets.

However their arch-rivals have got different plans, and before long, Saba and her troupe get caught up yet again in this escalating drama of betrayal, revenge, and just outright sabotage. The men might have started this war, however Saba and her remaining players are the ones that are going to end it.

“Over All the Earth” is the first novella in the “Tales of the Chants” series and was released in 2022. High up in the mountains, there is this ravine. And across the ravine, this bridge. Deep at the bottom of the ravine is a god.

Eisl has been living on the ledge between the ravine and the cliffs ever since he was born. He’s only ever crossed this bridge one time, because the terror of the god that lives far under it is way too much for him to even bear. However when this wandering storyteller, called Ylfing and called Chant, shows up in the village, Eisl’s longing to see this world from his stories with his own two eyes gets much too powerful for him to resist.

However the bridge, the ravine, and the god are all still there, and if Eisl wishes to free himself and cross over to the other side, he has to first face up to his greatest fear.

“A Taste of Gold and Iron” is the first stand alone novel and was released in 2022. A false coin could topple an entire empire.

Kadou, the shy prince of Arasht, has got zero intention of wrestling for imperial control with his sister, the queen. But he still remains at odds with one of the most powerful ambassadors at court, the dad of the queen’s new child. Then this hunting party goes horribly awry, and Kadou finds he’s under suspicion of attempted murder.

Kadou takes responsibility for the investigation of this break in at one of their guilds, in order to prove his loyalty to his sister and salvage his own reputation. He enlists the help of his newly appointed bodyguard, Evemer, coldly handsome, a man that appears to tolerate him at best. However what seems to just be a straightforward crime spirals into this complex counterfeiting operation, with this powerful enemy at its core.

In Arasht, where princes are able to touch-taste precious metals with their fingers and myths run side by side with history, counterfeiting is heresy. The conspiracy that they find could simply cripple the kingdom’s financial standing, and even bring about its ruin.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Alexandra Rowland

Leave a Reply