Book Notification

Alexia Gordon Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Gethsemane Brown Mysteries Books

Murder in G Major (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death in D Minor (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Killing in C Sharp (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fatality in F (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Execution in E (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Writers Crushing COVID-19(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Malice Domestic: Mystery Most Diabolical(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Alexia Gordon is an American writer who developed a love for writing at a very tender age. While in the 6th grade, Alexia won her very first writing prize. Upon joining, college, Alexia continued writing; however, she had to put aside her writing endeavors so that she could finish family medicine residency and medical school training. When her medical career was well established, Alexia returned to authoring fiction books. Alexia Gordon was born in the Southeast, though she schooled in the northeast. After completing a three-year stint in Alaska, Alexia migrated to the Southwest. While she was in Alaska, Alexia was reminded how much she needed warm weather and sunlight. Later on after completing her three-year stint, Alexia joined the Southern Methodist University, which is located in located in Dallas.

Gordon loves classical music, traveling, art, well-written ghost stories, and embroidery. She is currently a member of Mystery Writers of America, Writers League of Texas and Sisters in Crime.

Gethsemane Brown Series

Murder in G Major is the first book in the Gethsemane Brown book series by Alexia Gordon. Just like Land of Shadows, this installment has so many similarities. Apart from having an African America female protagonist who is not only exceedingly smart but also remarkably competent in her work, the story has fantastic dialogue among the characters. The book also has an excellent cast of support characters who are not cardboard but instead are realistic and also have personality. As the first installment, this book introduces the reader to Gethsemane Brown, a virtuoso violinist who has her life crashed around her. Gethsemane had been promised work as the deputy conductor of the Philharmonic Orchestra. However, it did not take long before the mistress to the music director snatched her new job.

To take her new job, Gethsemane had given up on so many things including her boyfriend, her apartment, and job. This, in turn, meant that she was left with nothing. Because she was from a family of overachievers, chemists, doctors, nuclear physicists and judges, Gethsemane could not go back home after her terrible failure. Thus, she decides to take a job opportunity as a music teacher in one of the teaching academies within a small Irish village. By good luck, the school happens to be the home of one of the world’s most renowned concert pianists and composers, Eamon McCarthy. This is a man who had been supposedly murdered his wife and then killed himself.

However, as Gethsemane comes to learn, that all this was not true but mere fiction. Gethsemane is housed in Eamon McCarthy’s cottage as her teaching contract stipulated. However, what she did not know is that the cottage houses Eamon’s restless ghost. The teaching staff was all aware of this, but they did not tell Gethsemane about it. Nonetheless, as luck would have it, Gethsemane has the ability to communicate with ghosts. What follows after this is an exceedingly fun mystery, as the ghost persuades the protagonist to not only clear his name but also be able to restore his reputation.

With that being said, Gethsemane is an exceedingly great character and an excellent addition to the story. She not only has an irreverent sense of humor but she also knows the type of whiskey she loves and the Negro League baseball. She also is extremely focused and talented. Despite the fact that she reluctantly enters into her amateur investigating, once she was able to get her teeth into that line of work, she refused to back down, even when the different killings began to happen and she became a target herself. Furthermore, this is an exceedingly wonderful book and also a highly addictive reading experience. The mystery, which surrounded the deaths of Orla and Eamon, did draw Gethsemane into a carefully plotted tory which had lots of turns and twist, which you will never know who the next suspect is. The craic and the humor of the inhabitants does the book and the story some justice; hence you will want more books in this series.

Overall, this is an excellent and solid introduction into the Gethsemane book series. All the characters in this book are exceedingly engaging while the storyline is very interesting. If you are a fan of music-themed mystery series, then this might be just what you are looking for. The entire book is well paced. The entire book is well paced and also has more than enough quirky Irish characters who have kept the entire story exceedingly interesting. One of the favorite scenes in this novel is the one, which involves the local Irish pubs. If you are a musician or classical musician, then you are going to enjoy and appreciate the use of musical terms throughout the book as the author brings the protagonist to life. Despite the fact that this book is not overly detail, you still can easily picture the small Irish town with the ghosts and the ever-busy locals. There were instances when the protagonist was just off-putting, especially when trying to solve the mystery.

Nonetheless, this is a fun and lighthearted book. Since this is the first book in the series, it ends with a cliffhanger. As the book’s main character, Gethsemane is a real legend. You are going to love the way she maneuvers into the lives of other people and also the way she pushes the local police to reopen the case. What makes this great, is that she completely has no evidence whatsoever to re-open the case, but still manages to successfully do it. You are going to love her cool, easy and cynical ways of dealing with various situations and people irrespective as to whether they are friendly or pointing a gun right to her face. You will love her interaction with her students. Apart from the protagonist, every paragraph in the story has a deeper meaning; thus, the story keeps on moving forward without pointless dialogues, descriptions, and scenes. Everything does happen for a reason and each moment is a big puzzle, irrespective as to whether the reader or the protagonist can see it.

By setting the story in Ireland, the author was able to provide an exceedingly old world layer. The houses in the story are haunted, especially the one that Gethsemane resides in. The ghost of Eamon does not follow the expected or preconceived notions of how ghosts should behave.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Alexia Gordon

One Response to “Alexia Gordon”

  1. Ray E Harwood: 1 year ago

    am in progress of reading , i enjoy this book and will be looking for a source for all the books


Leave a Reply