Book Notification

Alice Blanchard Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Natalie Lockhart Books

Trace of Evil (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wicked Hour (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Witching Tree (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shadow Girls (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Darkness Peering (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Breathtaker (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Life Sentences (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Breath After Drowning (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Stuntman's Daughter and Other Stories (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon

Alice Blanchard is an American author of fiction. Her writing has won awards, and she is the author of both short stories and full length novels of fiction. She has received many awards, including the Katherine Anne Porter Prize for her collection of short stories, The Stuntman’s Daughter. Her work has been well-received and has continued to sell copies in the sixteen countries in which they are published!

Alice Blanchard first became an author with the publication of her novel Darkness Peering in 1999. It was named a Notable Book by the New York Times. Her followup novel The Breathtaker would be released four years later. The book was popular with audiences as well as critics, and ended up being selected officially by the Book Club on the Today Show (broadcast on NBC), which was presented by Jacquelyn Mitchard, another bestselling author.

She grew up in Connecticut and has been inspired by much of the classic New England imagery and settings, particularly thick mists and intriguing woods. Her entire family have dabbled in various artistic and creative endeavors; her father was a painter and sculptor, Alice’s mother and sister are both poets, and her brother pursues screenwriting. In addition, her own husband is a writer, musician, photographer, and curator.

Darkness Peering is the first novel of fiction written by Alice Blanchard. It starts out with a dead girl that is laying at the pond edge face up. In the hollow of one of her arms, covered partially with mud, a snake is coiled. The case could be a suicide, or even an accident. But the authorities think that it points to murder.

Nalen Storrow is the Police Chief here, and he moved here partially because he thought that he could get away from the violence that was prevalent where they used to live. He wanted to move his family to Flowering Dogwood in the quiet state of Maine so that they could get away from horrible stuff like this. But this dead girl in the pond is just another reminder of it, and it seems that they haven’t gotten away from bad things like casual murder quite so easily.

Storrow investigates the case, and soon starts to look at the things that he’s got in disbelief. It seems that the killer could be Billy– his own son. It’s just a possibility, but it’s possible. Fast forward to the future with a new case.

A new cop is investigating an unsolved case– Rachel Storrow. She is the Police Chief’s grown daughter, and Rachel inherited her father’s talent for taking on cases. She’s reopening the investigation of an unsolved case when what should happen but the sudden disappearance of another young woman.

Now her brother Billy is once again among the list of possible suspects. However, when it comes to the guilty party, anyone could have done it. This town has a lot of secrets, and everyone seems like they have something hidden in their past that makes them shiftier than ever. One thing is for certain; there is at least one killer and possible psychopath or sociopath moving through this area– or possibly living among them all.

Rachel continues to investigate the case, but the deeper she goes, the scarier it all gets. As doubt and fear start to ratchet up to all-time highs for this young woman, she is growing gradually closer to finding the answers she wants. But is she ready for what will happen– or the revelation that threatens to undo everything? You have got to read this thriller novel from Alice Blanchard to find out! Check out Darkness Peering to find out for yourself.

The Breathtaker is Alice Blanchard’s second novel of fiction. This novel is set in Promise, Oklahoma. This town is right in the heart of Tornado Alley, as so much of the southern and central United States is known as. People who live here risk their lives everyday in one of the most active tornado areas in America. People have storm cellars and all types of things installed into their home so that if they have to go below ground because a tornado is coming, they can easily get into a safer space.

Now a deadly tornado has caused millions of damage and left dozens of people injured or dead in its wake. At first, the Pepper family seems to have been four more victims of the tornado and they are about to be added to the list of the dead. But when Charlie Grover, the local police chief, rolls up on the scene, he realizes that the bodies are not true victims of the weather event.

The Police Chief thinks that the four Pepper family members have had their bodies purposefully arranged to appear to be victims of the storm. But instead of a tornado taking them out, it appears that the culprit may be human. The police chief surmises that all of this may have been foul play; and the post-mortem investigation confirms that this was a human act– not one of god.

When another death takes place during a tornado that matches the Pepper family, the police chief thinks that there must be a killer at large. He’s going to need help to prove it, however. Charlie gets some help from university experts on meteorological forces and events. With the help of Dr. Bellman and some other tornado experts along the way, the police chief is doing their best to find out who possibly did this.

The evidence starts to point to one of the tornado chasers, but when more deaths happen, it’s anyone’s guess. As seemingly natural and unnatural murders begin to stack up, no one is safe. Can Charlie Grover find out who the killer is before they strike again? With more tornadoes on the way, the police chief is going to have to work quickly if he’s going to make any progress with the case.

You’ll want to pick up this chilling thriller novel by Alice Blanchard to find out for yourself! Catch every bit of the action by checking out The Breathtaker in libraries, stores, or a device online near you!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Alice Blanchard

One Response to “Alice Blanchard”

  1. Beachgirl: 3 years ago

    I just finished reading the wicked hour. I am a little confused at the ending. What happened to Luke and how in the hell did Hunter get in the middle of all this.


Leave a Reply